We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so average, what's so unique about it?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
Ranked #22 of 144 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were there for a short weekend during an off-peak season. While I do not have any complaints per se, after having stayed there I don't understand where all the rave reviews are coming from. Maybe it's because we had been to so many places in Bali that this place just seemed like another Bali boutique place except without a restaurant, room service and spa. I get that it's not meant to be a spa type resort and a "creative" resort but I didn't see anything particularly creative or inspiring about the place. But overall, it is a cute place but not a place I would go back to if I visited Canggu again - we'd probably go to a place closer to Echo beach.

Pros: quite place (minus some scooter traffice noise which isn't that bad), friendly/nice enough staff and owners, cute decor, and loved the big private tub/jacuzzi outside the room. Canggu is a cute, off the beaten path type area in Bali and def not as touristy; good for surfing

Cons: ants, so many ants (but I think that's mainly bc there are so many greens at this place which is a good thing I suppose), no food - only breakfast which is really really basic (but there are a few yummy places to eat within a short scooter ride/10-15 minutes walk), no spa (you can go to massage places nearby but there is none within the retreat).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Washingtonienne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Hi Tamara

Thank you for your review of the Voyager.

We go to great lengths to make sure your stay at Voyager is anything but average, so we do take your comments very seriously, and will certainly continue making improvements, but we also need to put prospective guests' minds at ease about some of your comments.

First of all, for the excellent reviews we have had, these are because people have genuinely found their experience here to be unique, enriching and whatever other superlatives they have used in their reviews. A guest who checked into the same room that you stayed in (yesterday) could not contain her excitement and appreciation of the interior and was almost in tears, but the 'style' of the resort (which is being published in an international eco-resort coffee table book coming out soon), is actually not the point.

As a lawyer, perhaps the creative angle of Voyager is somewhat obscure to you, but when we positioned the resort as a "creative retreat" what we mean is that its a place for creative people to come and further their art' in Bali. We are using the word 'creative' as a verb, as opposed to a noun. The creativity is what you as the guest bring, and what we as the hosts facilitate.

We have deliberately created the spaces, infrastructure and social networks to facilitate a genuinely creative environment in the doing, as opposed to merely in the consuming. A look at our website www.voyager-retreats.com will explain further.

For that reason we have hosted and assisted many, many, (professional and amateur) fashion designers, fine artists, recording artists (who are using our very own music and video production facilities on the property - hardly 'average' facilities at an hotel, anywhere), surfboard shapers, architects, photographers, stylists, authors, music producers, film makers and so on, who have relied on us on some of their projects, and been connected to other creatives/suppliers/distributors and retailers here in Bali, and beyond, by way of Voyager's very existence. Our recording facilities now include a brand new vocal booth (since your visit) and the other building we have built adjacent to Voyager includes an art gallery and further music studio, also opening in the New Year.

So apart from the décor, the outdoor baths/jacuzzi, the substantial gardens, and the high staff-to-guest ratio, (some of which you have praised but none of which are average for a resort of this price bracket) we are actually offering creative support, which again is hardly average for any hotel, let alone Bali.

Regarding the ants, yes a tropical island like Bali has an awful lot of ants, but since we are trying to be as green as possible, what can you do? They are totally harmless.

Regarding spa treatments, the welcome literature in your room explains that we do in fact offer spa treatments in-house, either in your room or in your own private garden. We are sorry that you missed that as many guests have enjoyed that.

Regarding the food service, many guests again have HIGHLY PRAISED the quality and quantity of our included breakfasts so your comments really puzzle us. However, we will be opening our own Voyager Café within days now, and will soon be able to provide food and room service throughout the day.

Once again, we urge you to consider the price bracket the hotel is in, and then compare what you are getting for your money. You cannot disagree that not only is it tremendous value for money but a service and setting that is unparalleled.

We hope that these added features will augment the Voyager substantially, and be every reason for your return. We would love to host you again.

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 210 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

This is a very cute boutique Bali resort run by two guys- Justin and Don (both speak fluent English). The small bungalows are beautifully decorated Balinese style and had gorgeous private hot tubs and outdoor showers in the back. There was no indoor shower or bath, however. The room has air conditioning, a tv but that only plays pre-loaded movies, and pretty consistent internet.

The grounds are also beautiful and filled with flowers and an infinity pool, which is nice and cool to lay around in. Friendly staff (who don't speak much English) make strong coffee and a nice breakfast of fruit, eggs and/or pancakes.

At the time we were here, there was no restaurant, so we were limited to the few items in our mini-fridge if we wanted anything after breakfast. I believe a restaurant would be coming soon- which really would have made this resort a 5-star review, since it really needed something after hours- even just for a margarita while sitting at the pool. At the time we were there, they just had beer. Also, it was too quiet at night and we didn't want to go to the back area to find Justin or Don. Having staff on hand at a bar/restaurant at night would definitely help.

One thing to note at this resort (and Canggu in general) you really need a motorbike to get around. Walking around that area is pretty dangerous (as is biking with a bicycle) because of all of the narrow streets and motorbike traffic. We failed to rent a motorbike one night and we found ourselves completely isolated and trapped in the resort. Dining was about a 10 minute walk- but at night there are wild dogs that roam and it is a pretty creepy walk. Also we found that it was sooo hard to have places deliver in because no one knows where this resort is (and not many places speak English).

The beach during the day is a pretty long walk away too, but a short ride on a motorbike. The beach nearby- Echo Beach and Old Mans have nice surf breaks and there is a nice restaurant on Echo beach. The best restaurant we found nearby though was Green Ginger. A must eat at if staying at the Voyager.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RescueDogSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review and compliments on the Voyager. We are glad that you appreciated the grounds, the room, and the breakfast, and had a good time exploring Canggu and all it has to offer.

Indeed we do recommend to guests that they hire a scooter to get around with, from day one. Being on a scooter is one of the freedoms that visitor's enjoy most about Bali, and Canggu is fortunately still uncrowded, so it makes learning to ride relatively safe and easy. Canggu is still really a "frontier" for Bali tourism and it appeals to the more adventurous spirits. We aim to offer "authentic island experiences" and Canggu is one of the few places in Bali where you can simultaneously be within a traditional fishing village, a thriving rice-farming community and a world famous cosmopolitan/creative surf destination - so this means being very close to the real Bali, dogs and all.

Regarding dining options in Canggu, on arrival all guests receive a map showing our recommended local eateries (at least 10) which are all within walking distance, and who do make regular deliveries to Voyager too, so it is not fair to say that "no-one" knows where there resort it. We have regular deliveries from many local restaurants including Sticky Fingers, Betelnut, Deus, Canteen and Pis Bolong, and this is something we happily arrange for guests. It is unfortunate that you chose to order food from a restaurant three villages away (on your way back from Ubud in a taxi) and that they did not know where Voyager is, but this is hardly surprising, since there are hundreds of hotels in South Bali, plus they were 3 villages away, and in any event way-finding is not a Balinese strong point. For westerners used to megalopolises like Los Angeles or San Francisco, the distances from place to place around Bali seem small, but for the Balinese, who have a very traditional "village" mentality, a trip to another village is a major event.

Fortunately our own on-site Voyager Café is now two weeks away, and we will be providing guests a very unique menu of Indian Ocean themed food, inspired by the spice trade of the 18th Century, including Portuguese, Goanese, and South East Asian specialities. We hope to offer guests a superlative alternative to dining out, and that the Café will add to the ambience of our cosy little resort, and that you come back soon to experience what will be a completely unique culinary experience in Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had an awesome time at the Voyager. This was our first time in Bali, and the first place where we stayed. We travelled with our 2,5 years old daughter and had planned to stay more than a week there. The people were really nice and helpful and so kind with our little one - thank you Ida, Justin and your people. The place is beautiful and we loved how it was built, the rooms we stayed in were very comfortable and hyper clean. Pool was very much appreciated, especially by our daughter! You can just sit there and watch around for hours. While we got any advice we wanted when needed, we also appreciated a lot to have our privacy. After a few days we rented a motorbike - with kid helmet :) and that made it. There are a ot of nice places to eat around, and the area is not too crowded, something we were looking for. There is some traffic at 'peak' hours but most of the day and night are quiet. We then left for Ubud, but missed the place (and the ocean) so returned earlier to the Voyager - almost home :) This is definitely a place we would recommend and where we'd like to return. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Thank-you for your stellar review - and as always it was an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us, and are delighted to hear that the service and amenities we were able to provide you with with nothing short than spectacular! Safe travels and hope to see you again in the future. Kindest Regards, Justin & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The guys who run The Voyager are very sweet and made us feel at home, but I think in the end there is a little left wanting in the their creative vision for the place.

The rooms are VERY dark - black glass, low lighting, dark walls. All meant to fit within their theme of space travel etc., but not what I came to Bali for.
Also, there is a lot of furniture in the rooms, but nowhere to put our clothes (something I have noticed elsewhere as well), but it gets to be difficult traveling for awhile and not feeling like you can put your stuff away when you get to your destination.

Our room had an outdoor bath and deck which was great, and the place was quiet and peaceful, but not somewhere I really wanted to spend a day by the pool. my husband surfs, so he was more interested in the beach at Canggu, which The Voyager is close to, (the beach and surrounding area is kind of full of trash due to all the construction going on) so if you are not a surfer, The Voyager might now be the place for you.

Breakfast was good and generous: fruit salad and yogurt and eggs with toast and coffee, but there is not much after that - our room had no mini bar (confusing cause we had a mini bar menu) and short of beer and soda, there was no food service at the hotel during the day. But, if you rent a motorbike you can easily get around, and I was easily able to walk to a few places (Betelenut Cafe is great and close and GoldDust Spa), but I think this lace is best if you expect to surf all day and return at night. Rent a villa if you want to hang out where you are staying during the day.

A quick note about the motorbikes - they rent them from someone else so make sure you check them thoroughly. we had a flat on ours the first time we took it out (almost skidding out because of it), the next time we ran out of gas because we realized the gas meter was broken - even though it said it was full, it was empty. This was actually kind of dangerous, but did not seem to concern the owners very much when I told them. I understand these are not their bikes, so they don't take responsibility, but just beware and check so you don't have a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juls11238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi Julia

Thanks for your review. We are sorry that the Voyager and its tropical-space theming was not to your taste, or first choice as you put it. You are the first out of 100 reviewers to dis it, indeed most reviewers are raving about it. Anyway, you certainly can't please everyone. Incidentally we have two standing lamps, and two high power task lamps that guests do sometimes ask for, if they need to do creative tasks in the room. All you needed do was ask. We also have occasional shelving units if you needed storage. Considering the average length of stay, which yours was, this is usually not required.

Regarding the motorbikes, we are sorry you ended up with bad ones, but indeed the point is that YOU rent them from an independent supplier (not us, we don't rent them at all). Nevertheless we have taken that matter up with the bike hire lady, and she apologises profusely, and I can guarantee you that if it happens again she will no longer supply Voyager. Incidentally the lady you rented from is one of three suppliers. Unfortunately being a small boutique hotel, we do not have the manpower to check each and every bike delivered to guests, and especially when the bike hire costs the same as on the street, i.e. with no delivery charges or markup from us.

Regarding the lack of food service beyond breakfast (thank you for your compliments on the breakfast) and your other general expectations, we would like to take this opportunity to point guests to the relevant descriptions of what in fact we do and do not offer on the many online booking channels, before making reservations.

We pride ourselves in the value and ambience we provide at Voyager, and are constantly upgrading the facilities and rooms to offer even more. We will be launching a lunch and dinner menu over the festive season, and we hope that you come back to Bali to experience our food offering which is going to be even more reason to stay at the Voyager.

All the best

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this stilish little B&B with just 5 rooms. The place is well kept and has a nice garden with a beautiful little pool. The rooms are well equipped but do not offer much privacy - very thin walls, with two walls made of glass. Try to book one of the rooms on the right side, which offer more privacy and have a nicer jacuzzi / rear garden. Compared to other places we stayed at in Bali, the hotel seems a bit overpriced. Canggu is very pleasant and much less crowded than neighbouring Seminyak and Legian. There are a couple of very nice restaurants and the beaches offer great surf spots (not so ideal for swimming). Since the beaches and restaurants are not very close, it is recommended to rent a scooter to get around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinu007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your review of Voyager and Canggu, which is mostly very positive. We do take guest satisfaction (and feedback) seriously. As can be seen from our approval rating (96%) we are almost at 100% but not quite there yet. We are aiming to get there soon, and indeed keep innovating so that guest perception of value is congruent with perception of cost. We are in the process of upgrading the acoustic treatment within all rooms (your room has had further screening added to one wall, and the sliding doors replaced completely) and adding even more facilities to Voyager to improve overall guest experience.

We know that we might not be able to compete on cost as much as other much larger places in Bali where economies of scale weigh in guest favour, [or with small locally-run 'home-stays' where the cost of land is zero, as it is inherited family land], but with an exclusive 5-room boutique hotel where guests are afforded so much, competing against home-stays and larger hotels was never a viable model. Satisfied customers who appreciate the points of difference that we offer (some of which you have highlighted) is our first priority, and we are happy that most guests appreciate this, and our trip advisor scores reflect this too [just compare our scores with top hotels in most cities].

We are a creative-focussed boutique hotel and most guests come to escape, recharge and possibly do some inspired creative work as a consequence. We do hope to welcome you again in the future so that you can experience a continuously improving, authentic island experience with Voyager.

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for the second half of our time in Bali. While located a little too close to a noisy road, once you step inside the gates, you are right where you want to be. The small but refreshing infinity pool in the center of the countyard is a great ceterpiece and hangout. The individual bungalows are creatively designed and full of quirky art. While there are no closets in the rooms, you can drape your swimsuits over the bamboo ladders they provide. The daily breakfast was served outside and very delicious. Justin was also a great help to us, recommending restaurants, giving directions to the beach and calling taxis for us. We had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwallsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful time and found respite in the oasis of the Voyager!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Spent 3 very tranquil days at Voyager, lazing by the pool and exploring Canggu by scooter. Justin and his staff were really helpful, and we enjoyed the slower pace of life and took time to relax and zone out poolside. Great location for chilling out, but less than ten minute scooter ride into the heart of Seminyak. Canggu is a very cool little surfing spot, hidden gem warungs, and boutique shops. Recommend Beetlenut Cafe, Canteen and Deus within walking distance. Rooms are compact but quirky, comfortable and pristine. Would recommend Voyager if you are looking for a hideaway which still has the option of getting involved in Seminyak, and a refreshing change from most Bali resorts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstiefreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We're happy to hear that you found Voyager a refreshing change from the norms of other resorts and would love to have you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
1.7 mi away
United Colors of Bali
United Colors of Bali
#5 of 144 in Canggu
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Calm Tree Bungalow
The Calm Tree Bungalow
#3 of 144 in Canggu
136 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Brother Surf Inn
Big Brother Surf Inn
#18 of 144 in Canggu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas
Lautan Kupu - Kupu Villas
#12 of 144 in Canggu
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canggu Bona Kubu
Canggu Bona Kubu
#15 of 144 in Canggu
43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#6 of 144 in Canggu
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat

Address: 300 Jl. Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Wayan's World)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: $49 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic island living in the beautiful area of Canggu - Bali's surf mecca. The Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat is situated in the heart of a peaceful fishing village, surrounded by rice padi and close to the ocean. Only 10 minutes to buzzing hotspots of Seminyak and Kuta. Come relax in our charming garden bungalows, swimming pool and friendly atmosphere. The brand new Cafe Voyager now offers a delightful range of health foods to naughty-but-nice flame grilled fare finished off with sumptuous deserts and our own home roasted coffee! Don't hesitate to contact us for any additional information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing