We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and welcoming place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
Ranked #17 of 105 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and welcoming place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed three weeks at the Voyager and really enjoyed it. The rooms are beautifully designed, spacious, spotless and have an outdoor shower. Every room has a sitting area next to the pool and the dining place / kitchen are also outdoors. It is small and you meet the other guests, but you still have enough privacy. Justin is absolutely welcoming and helpful. He arranged a scooter and later push bike for me to get around (walking is not an option, but that applies to anywhere in Bali). It is in a quiet and laid back area with lots of villas. Two great places (Betelnut Café and Deus ex machina) are around the corner and you're close to Echo beach. It is a perfect place to stay if you want to spend quality time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mme_chauchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank-you for the wonderful review. We're happy to hear that your time with us was nothing less than fantastic, and are glad that we helped to make your Bali trip a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    38
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
91
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Well there has to be a good reason reviewing for the first time at Tripadvisor. And my stay at the Voyager was:

Don & Justin did a great job making the Voyager a unique place in Bali. I think there's no other place in Bali comparable with the style & design of the boutique villa's. Modern interior and exterior architecture of the place but within and authentic setting. The bungalows are clean with a romantic open air bathroom and comfortable king size bed.The relaxed vibe and atmosphere is wat u experienced entering the property and what I daily experienced during my 2 months stay.

Boutique villa's have a lot of benefits such as above mentioned and the fact there's more interaction with other guests and that the place is in a traditional environment. But there are also disadvantages such as many mosquitoes and noice from roosters, dogs and people praying every day at 5 a.m. Well that's the mistique and authenticity of Bali but is something you have to be aware of.

Voyager is perfect located in Canggu, just within a couple of minutes of scooter ride to all surfspots and nearby great restaurants as Betlenut Cafe and Canteen. Its a great location out of the hustle and bustle of Seminyak en Kuta but nearby to go with the scooter.

The staff is particular friendly and always willing to help you in all possible ways. Staying for a longer period bonds with the staff and owners. It was interesting sharing information and getting involved by the work of Don & Justin, especially with our different backgrounds. Staying in the lowseason for a longer period I had a great value for money. We we're both flexibel with the accomendation and changing bookings and staying couples days in between in Ubud.
One minor thing is the handeling with the payments. I understand one have to be cautious but I also believe, staying there for a while, in knowledge of human nature. And having a verbal conformation for a extension means a agreement. Its not chique letting a better offer prevail.

Well still and Bali and I would return every moment. For a vacation in a modern but traditional setting I can recomment the Voyager for a great getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raoul-Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
It was great having you stay with us long term, and we're happy to hear that you really "got" what Voyager is all about. An authentic island experience. Comfortable and clean yet avoiding the dreaded "white box hotel room" feel. You're welcome back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a really nice place to stay. It is a chilly little retreat with friendly hosts, very good breakfast and clean and chic rooms. Perfect to calm down, if you want to go out, having party, no problem, the Voyager is pretty close to the beach and nice cafes, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gudrun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for the review. We're happy to hear that you loved the room and the location of the hotel. Canggu main eat street just a short 200m walk away - and with great options like Betelnut Café, Deus, Canteen and the plethora of other great restaurants on the beach there really are endless options for dining close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

It was a pleasure spending time at Voyager Retreat.
Don and Justine were great hosts, and extremely accommodating with any requests.

The accommodation was perfect:
Very clean, with all necessary amenities, and close enough to the beach, Deus and Betelnut Cafe to confirm that you're in the heart of Canggu.

Thank you for the wonderful stay!

M

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Voyager and the charming village of Canggu, which is growing daily with lots of exciting café's, restaurants and things to do (not to mention the great beaches). We're proud to know that we made your trip all that much more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great time at Voyager. It was clean, peaceful and the owners, Don and Justin, were always very helpful. Would definitely reccomend and will for sure go back when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John0922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank-you for your review. It was our pleasure having you and we enjoy helping out our guests to get the best possible experience they can from Bali. Looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were meant to just go for dinner and see Echo Beach on our last night in Bali. We ended up staying 4 nights at the voyager which was a highlight for our trip. The bungalows have a romantic feel with outside bath tubs in your private garden. It is located near the beach where the surf is awesome and the restaurants/bars are great with a chilled vibe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverick-Lamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you so much for your review and we're so happy that the Voyager was the highlight of your trip to Bali! Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Justin & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed 7 nights at Voyager. It was a wonderful little oasis, with warm friendly staff and yummy breakfast. It was close to surf spots and bike hire was easily arranged by the staff. I really like a small retreat like this as you meet interesting people over breakfast and by the pool - (hi Vanessa!). It is also private as well.

Absolutely loved the outdoor showers, reading by the pool, and getting out and about.

Staff were very helpful arranging transport and suggestions to other surf spots. A day at Medewi was a real treat.

Unfortunately the road adjacent to the resort is now paved, so stay on the the rooms away from the rice paddy road, as it gets a lot of scouter traffic..

Room Tip: The rooms next to the road through the rice paddies have scooter noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Jenny, Thank-you for your kind review of the Voyager. We're happy to hear that you made some good friends during your stay with us (many guests have had the same experience, and even some relationships have formed from the meetings that have occurred at the Voyager). We're currently in discussions with the Banjar (town hall) about putting in speed bumps on the road to reduce traffic noise, and we have also upgraded the roadside rooms with additional sound proofing under the eves. It's getting better! Hopefully when you come back you will notice a huge improvement. Kind Regards, Justin & Don.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.4 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.0 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 33 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0.1 mi away
The Calm Tree Bungalow
The Calm Tree Bungalow
#8 of 105 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat

Property: Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
Address: 300 Jl. Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Wayan's World)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic island living in the beautiful area of Canggu - Bali's surf mecca. The Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat is situated in the heart of a peaceful fishing village, surrounded by rice padi and close to the ocean. Only 10 minutes to buzzing hotspots of Seminyak and Kuta. Come relax in our charming garden bungalows, swimming pool and friendly atmosphere. The brand new Cafe Voyager now offers a delightful range of health foods to naughty-but-nice flame grilled fare finished off with sumptuous deserts and our own home roasted coffee! Don't hesitate to contact us for any additional information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing