We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended our trip by 5 days when we found this place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
Ranked #23 of 139 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were meant to just go for dinner and see Echo Beach on our last night in Bali. We ended up staying 4 nights at the voyager which was a highlight for our trip. The bungalows have a romantic feel with outside bath tubs in your private garden. It is located near the beach where the surf is awesome and the restaurants/bars are great with a chilled vibe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maverick-Lamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear David,

Thank you so much for your review and we're so happy that the Voyager was the highlight of your trip to Bali! Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Justin & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed 7 nights at Voyager. It was a wonderful little oasis, with warm friendly staff and yummy breakfast. It was close to surf spots and bike hire was easily arranged by the staff. I really like a small retreat like this as you meet interesting people over breakfast and by the pool - (hi Vanessa!). It is also private as well.

Absolutely loved the outdoor showers, reading by the pool, and getting out and about.

Staff were very helpful arranging transport and suggestions to other surf spots. A day at Medewi was a real treat.

Unfortunately the road adjacent to the resort is now paved, so stay on the the rooms away from the rice paddy road, as it gets a lot of scouter traffic..

Room Tip: The rooms next to the road through the rice paddies have scooter noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Jenny, Thank-you for your kind review of the Voyager. We're happy to hear that you made some good friends during your stay with us (many guests have had the same experience, and even some relationships have formed from the meetings that have occurred at the Voyager). We're currently in discussions with the Banjar (town hall) about putting in speed bumps on the road to reduce traffic noise, and we have also upgraded the roadside rooms with additional sound proofing under the eves. It's getting better! Hopefully when you come back you will notice a huge improvement. Kind Regards, Justin & Don.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Walking into Voyager you automatically feel peaceful and de-stressed. The grounds, pools and bungalows are all beautifully maintained and stylishly decorated. Surprises like outdoor whirlpool spas and natural stone elements add to the whole feel, but it is the lovely staff that really make your stay special. Nothing is too much trouble, from the kind of fruit you would like for breakfast to organizing trips or bike rental. Close to beautiful beaches, small shops and restaurants, and a short drive into the larger towns, this is the ideal spot for basing your holiday if you want a more intimate, personal feel to your Bali vacation. They have some wonderful offers throughout the year for weekend breaks, so keep checking their website for information. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, but ask for one with an outdoor whirlpool tub! The quieter rooms are a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Vanessa, We are truly happy that you found the Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat a peaceful and de-stressing place to stay for your Bali holiday. We would love to have you back in the future as you were such a wonderful guest to have staying with us. Kind Regards, Justin & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent 10 days at this wonderful retreat and it was heaven. From the beautiful décor, stunning pool and gardens to the fabulous hosts Don and Justin to the awe-inspiring paddy fields that surrounded us plus the close proximity of the lovely beaches, it was one of the best holidays ever for us.

Don and Justin are superb hosts. Totally entertaining and great listeners. We wish them all the success they deserve. We will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oribisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear OribiSA, Thank you for your great review - we loved having you and we are ecstatic that we could make your holiday one of your best! We look forward to having you back in the future. Until then keep well and keep an eye on our Facebook page for special offers. Kind Regards, Justin & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wow what an amazing time we had here. The minute you walk into the Voyager you feel like you are transported to a special place. The pool, the unique and modern rooms with art and ornaments that you never see in Bali rooms, the fact that it is so close to echo beach and deus. The staff are super friendly, always smiling and willing to help with your every need. Don and Justin the owners are great hosts and looked after us beyond ever imaginable. The breakfast was great and a joy to have around the pool each morning. Cannot wait to go back here.

Room Tip: I loved the first room on right
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozlem577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Ozlem,

Thank-you for your wonderful review of The Voyager, we loved having you here and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Justin & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for a month, spent nights in all 5 bungalows and generally loved it. This is a small retreat for those who especially appreciate interior decoration, design and architecture. Don and Justin have designed the beautiful grounds themselves and it really does apart from other accommodation styles, down to the wonderful outdoor shower, bathtubs and a small communal plunge pool. The beds are especially comfortable.

The staff is excellent (not always the case in Bali), the breakfast is basic but good, the vibe easygoing. And the location is great for access to Canggu, both Berawa/Batu Belig and nearby Batu Bolong and Echo Beach, just a few minutes on a scooter in either direction. Overall very good value, at least in low season.

A few things travelers should know to manage expectations:

1) Noise. Voyager is right next to a shortcut road that is heavily used and right where scooters speed up. Especially if you're staying in the Agung or Mahameru, the morning rush hour from 6 to 8 sounds like you're next to a highway, and I had to sleep with ear plugs in these units.

2) A/C. The bungalows are not designed to be cooled by A/C, so while they do alleviate some of the worst stickiness, if you need your room to be 20 degrees, you won't like it -- some nights you won't get it below 25. It also works less well in the two noisier suites, Agung and Mahameru.

3) Closet space. There is none. Major functional design flaw. A small ladder is provided where you can hang a few items but you basically have to live out of your suitcase. Also note the bathroom is separated by only a small curtain, if you're sharing the bungalow with someone.

4) Pre-payment / PayPal. The owners want all payment up front and they only accept cash or PayPal transfer. I had issues with my PayPal account after my first payment to their Singapore-based account was flagged by PayPal as suspicious, and while the matter did get sorted out eventually, their general handling of money matters -- there were more minor incidents and strange comments -- is far from smooth and worthy of 'boutique' level service. Overall, they are professional and easygoing but appear rather disinterested.

(As a writer and the only guest staying at this 'creative retreat' who was actually working on a creative project, I never once got a single question about what I was doing there, which perhaps suggests the 'creative' moniker is mostly an image thing.)

But these are, on the whole, minor points. The Voyager is a very special place and I would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: The best bungalow is the Merapi -- quieter and cooler with all the trappings. The Rinjani is the sam...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Bjorn

Thank you for your detailed review. We are glad that you would return to the Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat.

As a further explanation to your comments about Voyager being a creative retreat only in name, well that is quite hurtful and is simply not true. We are sorry that nobody asked you in detail what your book is about, but as you know we as the owners were heavily occupied by the design and opening of our new restaurant (amongst other creative projects), and besides, your being a doctor, we presumed the book to be of a medical nature and since you didn't tell us anything more, we left it at that, for medicine is not our area of expertise. Had you said you were writing a novel, well, then at least that might have prompted further discussion.

Many, many of our guests at Voyager have written travel guides, recorded music, filmed music videos, sourced and done fashion design, shoe design, photography, modeling, graphic design, surf films, novels and so forth, but we do not get involved in the details of their projects unless they ask for advice, or the co-ordination of local services to their ends, or invite actual critique. This obviously was not the case in your case, and frankly, we never intrude on our guests' reasons for being with us and are generally discrete for this is a retreat. Most creatives we host value being left to their own devices to get on with it. We will however start a showcase of past projects, for this kind of network effect to be felt and acknowledged by people like yourself who are looking for a buzz. We understand that to be important too, and thank you for highlighting that.

We think in general your review should be read through the lens of someone who had arrived without a prior booking, hence your money issues with PayPal, and further frustrations with the amount of times that we had to move you around to fit you in to an otherwise fully-booked retreat, which we did graciously to accommodate you. Yours was a very unusual stay at Voyager, and while we are glad that you found it special, we can assure future potential guests that:

1- there is no 'rush hour' between 6-8am. There is a silver jewelry factory near us that opens at 8am which generates most of that traffic, and there is obviously the surf break at Canggu and Echo beach which attracts early morning surfers, and this does constitute noise from motorbikes, but generally it is not an issue before 7:00am and is over by 8am, and most guests are out busy with surfing, yoga or jogging by then anyway. To compare this with a freeway is total hyperbole.

2- the A/C in the rooms is matched in terms of the BTU to the volume, however we admit that our units have been designed to allow more fresh air in to them, compared with a standard hotel room. Most people see this as a plus.

3- regarding the storage solution - most people are perfectly happy to live with the Balinese ladder solution - and there is ample space to put clothes on sundry tables (which includes a shelf within it), chairs and the main desk. The coconut Bale has a very large shelving unit (which you neglected to mention), and guests who need long-term stay can make arrangements with us to have this kind of unit in their rooms. Unfortunately without a prior booking, we were not able to accommodate you with the same in all rooms.

4- We accept pre-payment via PayPal or cash on the premises - you had the choice to pay us either with PayPal, or cash. Your financial issues then became ours, and this is not fair on us. As a small boutique hotel, we only accept pre-payment due to the scale of our operation, but more importantly as this is the safest and most assured way we can be guaranteed of payment in Bali. Our internet marketing material makes that very clear.

We look forward to welcoming you again, and wish you all the best with your book.

Kind regards

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here back October last year (2012) and it was a truly wonderful place to relax and unwind. This review is a little late in coming as i was so preoccupied with things after our stay in Bali that i never got around to reviewing but after talking recently about our favourite places in Bali, Voyager, Don and Justin popped right into the conversation.
As we arrived, we were instantly welcomed, the atmosphere of Voyager is very conducive to chilling. The rooms were wonderful, the outdoor shower was refreshing and private and the small pool was just right to cool off in after a day of exploring. The breakfast was just right and Don, Justin and the rest of staff were very helpful, gave directions and organised motorbike hire etc.
A very memorable stay, even 5 months after!!!! Thanks Don and Justin....sorry for late review.
Rich and Suriyat

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank bigus808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thanks so much for your review, beter late than never, and we really do appreciate it. It's wonderful to hear that we have had a long lasting impression on you and that we were a part of making your trip to Bali a memorable and enjoyable one. Keep well and hope to welcome you back some time in the future. Kindrest Regards, Justin & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.4 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.7 mi away
United Colors of Bali
United Colors of Bali
#4 of 139 in Canggu
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Calm Tree Bungalow
The Calm Tree Bungalow
#5 of 139 in Canggu
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
0.4 mi away
Canggu Bona Kubu
Canggu Bona Kubu
#14 of 139 in Canggu
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Daun Bali
The Daun Bali
#19 of 139 in Canggu
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat

Address: 300 Jl. Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Wayan's World)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: $49 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic island living in the beautiful area of Canggu - Bali's surf mecca. The Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat is situated in the heart of a peaceful fishing village, surrounded by rice padi and close to the ocean. Only 10 minutes to buzzing hotspots of Seminyak and Kuta. Come relax in our charming garden bungalows, swimming pool and friendly atmosphere. The brand new Cafe Voyager now offers a delightful range of health foods to naughty-but-nice flame grilled fare finished off with sumptuous deserts and our own home roasted coffee! Don't hesitate to contact us for any additional information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing