We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Refreshing, Wonderful Take on Bali Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
Ranked #25 of 149 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved this place! Being Bali junkies, we always seek out something 'a little different' but still with that authentic Bali feel - hating the generic hotel chains and the ultra modern, souless properties that seem to be taking over Bali. This is neither of those.
Don and Justin have done themselves proud with this little gem. It has rooms that welcome, surprise and delight and the people that seem drawn to this place are friendly but 'privacy respecting'. As are Justin and Don!
We loved the 15 minute walk to Echo/Chengu beach, where there are plenty of fabulous eateries, and of course 'that surf'! And if you don't want to walk that far, there are a couple of warungs very close by.
Heartily recommended for relaxation, surf, great food and fun!

Room Tip: Our room had no A/C which was no problem for us, but for those who need it, double check first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Hi Laura,

It was such a pleasure to have you and Brett stay with us and we are happy to hear that your stay was a good one and that we could spark some surprise and excitement in you with what we have created here at The Voyager! Looking forward to having you back when you're next in Paradise.

Kind Regards,
Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 210 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at Voyager for 4 days with our 2 young daughters. Canggu is a charming place and Voyager was the perfect place for us to stay. It is beautiully designed and furnished and is a welcome oasis in the tropical surroundings. Justin, Wayam, Ida and cats were awesome hosts and we will definitely return to stay here next time we visit. Kind regards Alan and Jessica Cape Town South Africa

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Hi Jessica,

Thank you for your stella review of The Voyager! We look forward to having you back when you're next in Bali. From all of us here, a very big thank you!

Kindest Regards,
Justin & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Voyager is a great place to stay if you want to experience the best of Bali, while still feeling as if you were at home.
The owner and the staff do everything to make you feel comfortable and even the cats on the property are the most welcoming animals I've ever seen.
The location is perfect, since everything your heart desires is only some footsteps away (you can do yoga, learn how to surf, have a great massage or watch how Deuz Ex Machina produces quality-motorbikes), but you're still away from the confusion of Kuta and Seminyak.
We enjoyed the familiar atmosphere. It is absolutely wonderful to get to know people from all around the world and share unique experiences like a cooking class in a warung that Justin so kindly organized for all of us.
Speaking of food, there are some great restaurants nearby. Check out Betlenut and Ulu. The food is delicious and the price is great.
We hope we'll be back at the Voyager someday soon. It was an amazing experience. We have been home for 5 days now and are already missing Bali and the Voyager like crazy.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miriam_agostinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Miriam,

Thank you for your kind review. We loved having you at the Voyager and enjoyed spending time with you. I'm glad to hear that your holiday was made that much more special by The Voyager and we look forward to having you back next time you visit beautiful Bali!

Kindest Regards,
Justin & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We would definitely choose to stay at Canggu again and would be delighted to stay at the Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat on future visits to Bali. The accommodation is very nicely designed and furnished and is very comfortable and we loved the outdoor shower and bathtub. The pool is very nice too and, as there are only five rooms, there were never crowds around. Our host, Justin, made us so welcome and provided great recommendations for meals at nearby restaurants and gave us interesting local information and a helpful map of the area. Delicious tropical fruit and yoghurt, followed by pancakes for breakfast, or we could have had eggs. We enjoyed strolling the area and meeting locals, watching farming activities and even helping Balinese ladies mix concrete on a nearby road which was under repair. Canggu and this retreat are highly recommended if you don't crave too much nightlife and enjoy seeing the daily life of the Balinese. A great area for walking as the retreat is in a good central location. Ask Jason for his restaurant tips, we really liked Betlenut which is a short walk and great value. Tugu is considerably more expensive but it's worth dining there for to see the great building the restaurant is housed in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueandRobertOurimbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thank you for the review Sue!

We are happy that everything was to your satisfaction and are thrilled that you found the Voyager's location to be so central in laid-back Canggu. There are indeed many new and exciting eateries around us now and we look forward to welcoming you 'home' to sample new delights and local Balinese experiences soon.

Best regards

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

apologies for the length of this review.
I booked & paid a deposit for accomodation & transfer after reading reviews on TA. After travelling for 24hrs & arriving in Bali at 2200 I was very keen to find our driver to take my wife & 3yr old son to Voyager. After much hunting we realised the driver had not turned up; fortunately i had printed out Voyagers brochure so rang the number repeatedly, not connected. thought it was my phone so harranged various taxi drivers & even a policeman to call. all to no avail. not a good start in a sultry evening in Bali after a very long & tiring journey with my wife & child. the brochure had a map on it, so after much discussion with a whole crowd of taxi drivers as to its location we were charged 250000 IDR to take us. after stopping a multitude of times to ask directions we eventually found Voyager after midnight in complete darkness. I woke Justin up who was in obvious shock at my less than happy appearance in the middle of the night. He said he wasnt aware of any booking but then found it on the computer, 'some mix up'. Justin was very apologetic & I said we'd best talk in the morning as i was very tired & more than a bit irritatable.
we were put in the $100 room, an upgrade on our booking, but there werent any other rooms available either; i was just pleased to be able to go to sleep; it was extremely fortunate they had a room available, as Voyager is fairly remote & didnt bode well finding other accomodation after midnight.
In the morning Justin was again very apologetic, Don was away, apparently they have had problems with the booking system.
The accomodation are lovely bungalow constructions, small & personal in nature with nice outdoor garden showers; the rooms a bit small compared to most of the accomodation we stayed in our month in Bali. the kitchen/dining area is very pleasant & so were all the staff. the location is quiet amongst the rice paddy fields ( except for the roosters as a previous poster mentioned, but they are everywhere in Bali); 20mins walk to Echo beach.
My only criticism would be that the pool was very cloudy, you couldnt see the bottom, which is a safety issue with a small child.
We did enjoy our stay at Voyager despite our inauspicious start & to be fair to Don & Justin, they did give us a bunch of flowers, a letter of apology from Don as he was out of the country & didnt charge us for the upgrade.
My review may seem harsh, but i believe it was a genuine oversight & wish them all the best with their endeavours.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guysurfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Dear Charles

Once again we are very sorry about the mistake with your booking. It was a once-off error due to the booking engine being open on two machines at the same time and the old version being saved over the updated one that Don had put your entry into. This naturally meant that no transport was arranged as we used the same software for that purpose too.

Of course this does not mitigate the unpleasantness and confusion of your arrival, for which we are very embarrassed but I can assure you that this was most uncommon and of course we have already taken further administrative steps to avoid this kind of mistake in the future.

We are glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards

Justin & Don

p/s A note to all prospective guests, please do email us your flight itineraries if you book via Agoda - especially for late night arrivals. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Thanks Justin!!
I had a great 4 nights recently at Voyager! Perfect location in Canggu away from the madness of Seminyak / Kuta etc....but for how long :).
Very good staff, quiet surrounds, excellent host, nice accommodations....what more can you ask for??
I'll be back one day and highly recommend a stay at Voyager.
Justin, sorry I didn't get to say thanks and goodbye.....I fell asleep late afternoon and woke after 9pm, that surf lesson killed me.
Cheers Mate - Steve (NZ)

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toosdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Hi Steve,

Thank you kindly for your review of the Voyager. It was a pleasure having you and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. It was good to hear your feedback about having the best nights sleep in your 6 months travels in Asia and that you enjoyed the peacefulness that Canggu offers.

Kind Regards,
Justin & Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We can't say enough nice things about our time at Voyager. The property is extremely well-put together, showing an impressive attention to detail and keen sense of style that gets more impressive when you learn the owners/managers Don and Justin designed everything themselves (down to the art on the walls). We stayed in one of the mid-level rooms ($75/night for double occupancy, reduced to $56 by the "stay 3 nights, get 1 free" offer in May). The room and bed were cool and comfortable, and we loved the outdoor shower. Justin and his staff were very hospitable hosts and helped us out with several different arrangements. The location is great for enjoying the beaches, restaurants, countryside and mellow vibe of Canggu. Bottom line: stay here if you're looking for a cool, small boutique that's off the beaten track and has an intimate feel and good service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Thanks Mick!

We are thrilled that you had a great time in Canggu and that you appreciated the extra effort we have put into making a special experience for our guests at the Voyager. We look forward to having you back in the future.

Best regards,
Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0.3 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
1.7 mi away
United Colors of Bali
United Colors of Bali
#5 of 149 in Canggu
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Calm Tree Bungalow
The Calm Tree Bungalow
#3 of 149 in Canggu
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Daun Bali
The Daun Bali
#23 of 149 in Canggu
45 reviews
1 mi away
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat

Address: 300 Jl. Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Wayan's World)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: $52 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic island living in the beautiful area of Canggu - Bali's surf mecca. The Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat is situated in the heart of a peaceful fishing village, surrounded by rice padi and close to the ocean. Only 10 minutes to buzzing hotspots of Seminyak and Kuta. Come relax in our charming garden bungalows, swimming pool and friendly atmosphere. The brand new Cafe Voyager now offers a delightful range of health foods to naughty-but-nice flame grilled fare finished off with sumptuous deserts and our own home roasted coffee! Don't hesitate to contact us for any additional information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing