We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just a hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
Ranked #17 of 109 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wuxi
1 review
“Not just a hotel...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

My husband and I thought this place was beautifully done; really well thought-out layout, everything of the highest quality and huge attention to detail. It's not just somewhere to sleep and eat; it's a place just worth being at. It has a really Zen-life feel to it, and is more like a luxury spa.

Everything is beautiful and natural. Free breakfast (which is nice) is also included. I really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub that was part of our room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Hi Michelle,

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you and Rob at the Voyager! Some people feel having an outdoor tub in Bali is insane - but we enjoy it and glad to hear that our guests do too! Nothing beats a warm bath in the rain, or a cool bath in the sun (especially when it's in your own private garden space).

Kindest Regards,
Justin & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    40
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
24
92
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this serene and stylish mini-resort. We loved it's beautiful architecture blending traditional Balinese style with contemporary styling; understated elegant decor with all modern comforts; gorgeous garden and pool setting and the wonderful breakfasts served under a magnificent mango tree prepared by the gracious and smiling staff. We loved stepping outside and being surrounded by the Bali we remembered of years gone by. Beautiful rural vistas, smiling locals, great food and beaches and a traditional fishing village at the bottom of the road. Everything we could possible need was a short step away from surfing to yoga! Justin and Don were wonderful hosts always available to assist us with any requests or questions.
Highly recommended.
.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimiB-16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Dear Rena & Family,

Thank-you for your kind words, and we're happy to hear that you enjoy the same part of Bali that we do, and that's exactly why we chose Canggu for the Voyager!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Don & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Probably most telling is the fact that I doubled the length of my planned stay shortly after I'd settled into the Voyager vibe.
I was in Canggu for the first time and after a hectic year I needed a few days of doing nothing and promoting the sort of blissful boredom that allows one to really sink into a proper holiday. Voyager turned out to be the perfect spot to do just that, and Don, Justin, Wayan, Dwi, Ida and Dukie looked after me and left me alone just enough to give me the feeling that I owned the place. Ice cold beers to wash off my flight in, excellent coffee and fresh fruit salad in the mornings, and they even let me play DJ in the courtyard whenever appropriate for the other guests.
"Doing nothing" at Voyager, in between morning surf trips (various renowned spots at Echo beach, Canggu and Pererenan are 5 mins down the road), visits to a great selection of local bars and restaurants and other short local excursions, meant frequent plunges into the fantastic pool, lounging around the comfortable sun lounges and ultra-comfortable, shady day beds thoughtfully spaced around the courtyard, snacking in the common area kitchen and gazing out on the neighbouring rice paddies, homesteads and temples.
The courtyard setting is intimate yet private, and as you see from the photos, stunning. I felt welcome to move about and make myself comfortable wherever and however I pleased, and my room was spacious, light, airy and lovely enough to relax in for long stretches throughout the day. Voyager is perhaps the antithesis of the often colsosal and sometimes rowdy resorts of the nearby Jimbaran-Seminyak stretch. In fact if you were tossing up between staying in a hotel or renting a private villa, Voyager would be a great compromise.
I hope I get to stay here again sometime and will certainly be recommending Voyager to anyone planning a visit to Bali. Enjoy.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Coconut Bale which is priced as the cheaper option, and I wasn't too envious of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollyonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank-you for your review, it's good to hear that you enjoyed your (extended) stay at the Voyager. It was an absolute pleasure having you. You're always welcome back to play DJ and there will be more ice cold Bintang and a spot on the day bed awaiting you.

Justin & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

I was blown away by the voyager. Stayed for 8 days in December and am already hoping to return in June.

First, why Canggu? It's on a great surf beach but enough west of swanky semiyak and touristy kuta to be relaxing. Rice paddies next door, cows in street, mix of local and western spots for food. Easy to get to the bigger towns by scooter.

Now, the place! Voyager has 5 guest suites and each one is beautifully designed and furnished. Very high thatch ceilings with fans, dark wood floors, bamboo ladders, spacious rooms, outdoor showers and tubs give it a Bali feel while elegant furnishings and linens, contemporary art and one-way mirrored glass walls that let you see out to the property are a nod to don's architectural accomplishments around the globe and justin's impeccable sense of design.

The property is neatly organized around a central, communal outdoor living space that includes a gorgeous contemporary pool, a few different areas for lounging or chatting and an open air kitchen and dining area where you can take breakfast. This would be an awesome place to rent out if you were planning a trip with 5 couples or a larger group of friends and in that case, you'd consider hiring a local cook for some of the meals.

Its a short walk to the beach and a short bike ride to surfing. Great spot for coffee that is also a walk away is Deus ex Machina which is awesome and hard to describe - I can't wait for their opening in Los Angeles / Venice Beach this month. For surfing, hire a local guide / driver or if you prefer more instruction, the chillhouse is nearby and very well organized - they will pick up folks from the voyager in the morning to join their excursions.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetbikesurfrunhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank-you for your well rounded review! It was wonderful to meet you and have you stay with us. We are flattered by your compliments on the design of the rooms and communal areas - we put a lot of thought into every bit of it and are always pleased when guests appreciated that. We can't wait to have you back (I'll book a table at Deus for sushi night again).

Don & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

we just walked past and had a peek inside as we thought it was a private villa, but no, it is a cute, intimate and relaxed little resort with some five bungalows and a nice garden with pool. creative is not just in the name but is also the spirit of the owners and the cool deco in the rooms (all with outdoor shower and tub). at the moment there was no full day food service, though I heard this will change soon. the bar is open though pretty much all the time. a simple but tasty breafast is served at the pool (eggs, big fruitsalad, drink) and included in the roomrate. very friendly staff and helpful owners. excellent value for money compared to what other options you have in Canggu. Get a bycicle or scooter and you can visit the restaurants around and the beach is only a minute away...
I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e_flescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Thank-you for the kind review and we are very happy that you decided to take a peek inside. Sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community really helps exposing travelers to the wonderful area of Canggu - and we're happy that we could provide your with value beyond your expectations. We look forward to having you back!

Don & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

My friend was getting married in a super expensive villa in Canguu and other guests were staying in various resports in and around Canggu. I was travelling alone for my 5 day stay in Bali and I wanted to be close to the wedding location but didn't want to pay for the unecessary luxuries. It's in a quiet location but easily accessible. I hired a scooter organised by staff at the voyager which provided the greatest freedom to travel around Canggu, Seminyak and further. Breakfast is simple but always fresh and filling and there's no shortage of other places for lunch and dinner a short ride away. The beach is a 10 minute walk away but the pool is so inviting I never got to the beach. Rooms are simple in layout and furnishing but exotique and totally functional. The glass wall in each room give visual access to the landscaped common area outside and the outdoor showers in each room sum up the privacy and openess that the whole retreat achieves. If you're coming from the airport, ask the voyager staff to arrange a pickup for a fair price and delivery straight to the door. Overall the Voyager is great value for a great place to stay in a great area, even if you don't have a creative bone in your body.

Room Tip: Rooms don't have AC but are well ventilated with a ceiling fan and never really affected the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, General Manager at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Hi Frank

Thanks for the very positive (and humorous!) review. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Just to let you know, we have recently installed airconditioning into the Rinjani Suite and into the Guru Room for those that absolutely must have it.

Till next time.

Cheers,

Don & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the Voyager for an entire month and had a wonderful experience! The place is located in Canggu,which is my favorite area in Bali thus it's green, quiet and not overcrowded with tourists. The place is 10 minutes away from the beach and about 20 minutes drive on a bike from Seminyak if you take the shortcut, which makes it very convenient,you can stay away from the noise and still enjoy all the shops and restaurants in that area. There are also local warungs,restaurants, yoga classes and horse back riding walking distance away .The design of the room is unique and inspiring,first place in Bali that had a spacious desk so we actually managed to do some work during our stay. The pool is amazing and the resort looks charming at night. There is also a comfortable kitchen if you like to cook your meals once in a while. Don and Justin are perfect hosts and we definitely will be coming back to the Voyager creative retreat :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milleria4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, General Manager at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Hi Albina & Rod,

Thank-you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to get so much out of Canggu. We are excited that National Geographic Traveller has featured the Voyager in the December 2011 issue which looks at 22 Reasons to visit Bali and we are one of them!

Enjoy your travels in South East Asia and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best,

Don & Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.3 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.6 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.4 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 35 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat

Property: Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
Address: 300 Jl. Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Wayan's World)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic island living in the beautiful area of Canggu - Bali's surf mecca. The Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat is situated in the heart of a peaceful fishing village, surrounded by rice padi and close to the ocean. Only 10 minutes to buzzing hotspots of Seminyak and Kuta. Come relax in our charming garden bungalows, swimming pool and friendly atmosphere. The brand new Cafe Voyager now offers a delightful range of health foods to naughty-but-nice flame grilled fare finished off with sumptuous deserts and our own home roasted coffee! Don't hesitate to contact us for any additional information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing