We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Luxe design, casual vibe and great location a little off the beaten path.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat
Ranked #25 of 149 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I was blown away by the voyager. Stayed for 8 days in December and am already hoping to return in June.

First, why Canggu? It's on a great surf beach but enough west of swanky semiyak and touristy kuta to be relaxing. Rice paddies next door, cows in street, mix of local and western spots for food. Easy to get to the bigger towns by scooter.

Now, the place! Voyager has 5 guest suites and each one is beautifully designed and furnished. Very high thatch ceilings with fans, dark wood floors, bamboo ladders, spacious rooms, outdoor showers and tubs give it a Bali feel while elegant furnishings and linens, contemporary art and one-way mirrored glass walls that let you see out to the property are a nod to don's architectural accomplishments around the globe and justin's impeccable sense of design.

The property is neatly organized around a central, communal outdoor living space that includes a gorgeous contemporary pool, a few different areas for lounging or chatting and an open air kitchen and dining area where you can take breakfast. This would be an awesome place to rent out if you were planning a trip with 5 couples or a larger group of friends and in that case, you'd consider hiring a local cook for some of the meals.

Its a short walk to the beach and a short bike ride to surfing. Great spot for coffee that is also a walk away is Deus ex Machina which is awesome and hard to describe - I can't wait for their opening in Los Angeles / Venice Beach this month. For surfing, hire a local guide / driver or if you prefer more instruction, the chillhouse is nearby and very well organized - they will pick up folks from the voyager in the morning to join their excursions.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jetbikesurfrunhike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Thank-you for your well rounded review! It was wonderful to meet you and have you stay with us. We are flattered by your compliments on the design of the rooms and communal areas - we put a lot of thought into every bit of it and are always pleased when guests appreciated that. We can't wait to have you back (I'll book a table at Deus for sushi night again).

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 210 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2011

we just walked past and had a peek inside as we thought it was a private villa, but no, it is a cute, intimate and relaxed little resort with some five bungalows and a nice garden with pool. creative is not just in the name but is also the spirit of the owners and the cool deco in the rooms (all with outdoor shower and tub). at the moment there was no full day food service, though I heard this will change soon. the bar is open though pretty much all the time. a simple but tasty breafast is served at the pool (eggs, big fruitsalad, drink) and included in the roomrate. very friendly staff and helpful owners. excellent value for money compared to what other options you have in Canggu. Get a bycicle or scooter and you can visit the restaurants around and the beach is only a minute away...
I'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e_flescher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2012

Thank-you for the kind review and we are very happy that you decided to take a peek inside. Sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community really helps exposing travelers to the wonderful area of Canggu - and we're happy that we could provide your with value beyond your expectations. We look forward to having you back!

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My friend was getting married in a super expensive villa in Canguu and other guests were staying in various resports in and around Canggu. I was travelling alone for my 5 day stay in Bali and I wanted to be close to the wedding location but didn't want to pay for the unecessary luxuries. It's in a quiet location but easily accessible. I hired a scooter organised by staff at the voyager which provided the greatest freedom to travel around Canggu, Seminyak and further. Breakfast is simple but always fresh and filling and there's no shortage of other places for lunch and dinner a short ride away. The beach is a 10 minute walk away but the pool is so inviting I never got to the beach. Rooms are simple in layout and furnishing but exotique and totally functional. The glass wall in each room give visual access to the landscaped common area outside and the outdoor showers in each room sum up the privacy and openess that the whole retreat achieves. If you're coming from the airport, ask the voyager staff to arrange a pickup for a fair price and delivery straight to the door. Overall the Voyager is great value for a great place to stay in a great area, even if you don't have a creative bone in your body.

Room Tip: Rooms don't have AC but are well ventilated with a ceiling fan and never really affected the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, General Manager at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Hi Frank

Thanks for the very positive (and humorous!) review. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Just to let you know, we have recently installed airconditioning into the Rinjani Suite and into the Guru Room for those that absolutely must have it.

Till next time.

Cheers,

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the Voyager for an entire month and had a wonderful experience! The place is located in Canggu,which is my favorite area in Bali thus it's green, quiet and not overcrowded with tourists. The place is 10 minutes away from the beach and about 20 minutes drive on a bike from Seminyak if you take the shortcut, which makes it very convenient,you can stay away from the noise and still enjoy all the shops and restaurants in that area. There are also local warungs,restaurants, yoga classes and horse back riding walking distance away .The design of the room is unique and inspiring,first place in Bali that had a spacious desk so we actually managed to do some work during our stay. The pool is amazing and the resort looks charming at night. There is also a comfortable kitchen if you like to cook your meals once in a while. Don and Justin are perfect hosts and we definitely will be coming back to the Voyager creative retreat :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milleria4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustinRBoyd, General Manager at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2011

Hi Albina & Rod,

Thank-you so much for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and were able to get so much out of Canggu. We are excited that National Geographic Traveller has featured the Voyager in the December 2011 issue which looks at 22 Reasons to visit Bali and we are one of them!

Enjoy your travels in South East Asia and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best,

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Lovely accommadation, great owners and an easy place to stay whilst hanging around Canngu. Away from the craziness of Kuta and Seminyak but well located in Canngu.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonVoyager, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Thanks Rebecca. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

As I recording artist, I found this a wonderful breath of fresh air. We recorded our album in Bali and staying at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat was certainly an inspired choice!

It is quiet and tranquil, yet with an undeniable creative energy. I had some down and it was easy to get to the best tourist attractions in Bali with a taxi that arrives at their door.

The venue is mostly used by creative types and is perfect for networking as much as it is a space for creation.

The staff are friendly and knowledgeable of surrounds and available activities.

All together a most enjoyable experience. Highly recommended for anyone looking to escape to a relaxed creative atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDave81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonVoyager, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thanks David.

It was great to have you here, and most of all to spend time with you creatively too. We wish you all the best with the launch of the album and videos!

Since you have been here there have been a number of improvements so we look forward to showing off our new music-writing/pre-production room and the refurbished Guru Room (your old room) to you on your return.

Best,

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

When we arrived in Bali, we hadn't booked a place but did research in the internet. Somehow we found the facebook page of Voyager and knew that this would be the perfect place for us.

We've been in Bali about 6 years ago and things change drastically. This time we even wanted to escape from the hustle in Seminyak, which seems to become more and more like Kuta.

Canggu is (still!) lovely but a slowly developing countryside. You come here to do surfing, yoga and just try the art of doing nothing. Voyager is just next to rice paddies, a Hindu temple and strategically close to the main street and its little shops and restaurants. It is advised to rent a bike. The gravel streets are not very well suited for cars but a bicycle would work just fine, if you don't consider to go to Kuta etc but stay in the area.

Voyager offers one budget room (coconut bale) and designer rooms from superior to imperial. We stayed in both a superior and the budget room. If you go for budget, the room is simple but still stylish. The room has only curtains no blinds and you can only look the door from the inside. However, the area is super safe, we had no doubts leaving our stuff there unlocked. The outdoor bathroom is simple, looks bit used but practical and clean. If you go bit fancier and book the superior one, you get awarded with great design! Lovely decorated room and bathroom (half outdoor - shower & bath), only missing (not really!) a TV. The design rooms special feature are view through one-way glass windows. Very cool!

The owners Justin and Don, as well their staff Wayan, Ida & co are lovely and there for you.

We left for the Gili Island but came back for 2 more nights, because we loved it and it we almost called it home. :D Thanks guys!!

p.s. Duky, the cheeky kitten is one of a kind. We miss her...

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flashpackhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonVoyager, Owner at Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2011

Hey Daniel and Stephanie

It was so nice to have you with us, and thank you for the amazing review! You are welcome back any time and we hope to see you again soon.

Cheers

Don & Justin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.8 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0.3 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
1.7 mi away
United Colors of Bali
United Colors of Bali
#5 of 149 in Canggu
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Calm Tree Bungalow
The Calm Tree Bungalow
#3 of 149 in Canggu
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Daun Bali
The Daun Bali
#23 of 149 in Canggu
45 reviews
1 mi away
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat

Address: 300 Jl. Nelayan, Canggu 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Wayan's World)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: $52 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic island living in the beautiful area of Canggu - Bali's surf mecca. The Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat is situated in the heart of a peaceful fishing village, surrounded by rice padi and close to the ocean. Only 10 minutes to buzzing hotspots of Seminyak and Kuta. Come relax in our charming garden bungalows, swimming pool and friendly atmosphere. The brand new Cafe Voyager now offers a delightful range of health foods to naughty-but-nice flame grilled fare finished off with sumptuous deserts and our own home roasted coffee! Don't hesitate to contact us for any additional information ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voyager Boutique Creative Retreat Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing