We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss, the perfect name” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bliss Sanctuary for Women

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bliss Sanctuary for Women
Ranked #1 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Nhulunbuy, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bliss, the perfect name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have just returned from a trip to Bliss Sanctuary for women, where I stayed with my Mum. Shar (hostess) and the team couldn't do enough for us. Able to advise us on things to see and do, restuarants and day trips. Giving space to relax and find yourself. The food was amazing, it was hard to choose what to have. It was all soooo good. The daily massage amazing as well. This is the perfect place to unwind.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacque K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeWatson, Owner at Bliss Sanctuary for Women, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dearest vivwithey isn't it amazing that at the same time you were there we had another 19 YO living in the UK at the same time!!!! We call this Bliss Synchronicity and it seems to happen all the time :) So glad you loved the Volcano Walk and really connected with Shar. We love her. We feel so blessed that you chose us for your first trip traveling overseas alone and hope this is the first of many amazing solo travel experiences. Bliss Love Zoe, Shar and our gorgeous bliss team xxx PS we'd love you to come back with your mum :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
Couples
0
253
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Bliss is the best thing that has happened to me this year. Taking a week out to relax, be pampered and just have some me-time was perfect. From the minute I stepped into Bliss, I felt like part of the family. Being younger than the other guests, I thought I might struggle to fit in, but everybody was so welcoming and I had a wonderful time. The rooms were incredible- I felt like a princess climbing into bed every night! The food was DELICIOUS! I tried so many things I would never be brave enough to try usually, and loved them! The staff were so lovely, and made me feel so special every time I saw them. I can honestly say that Shar, the hostess, is what made my stay so superb! She made me feel right at home, was always willing to have a chat and a giggle, and was crazy enough to get up at 1am to climb a volcano with me. Where else would you find someone who is ready to do that? I absolutely loved Bliss, and my only regret is that I was only there for one week!! (Oh, and that I didn't squeeze Bruce into my suitcase to bring home with me!)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivwithey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeWatson, Owner at Bliss Sanctuary for Women, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Vivwithey, we feel so blessed you came so far to find your bliss with us. What an amazing thing to do for yourself for your first big trip overseas. We're so glad you had an amazing time and although we can't promise our lovely hostesses will climb a volcano for everyone, we're so glad you loved the experience :) Bliss Love Zoe and the beautiful Bliss Staff xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

After spending a week at Bliss by myself I feel like a new person, before this trip I was really lost,without direction and disappointed about myself, but after being at Bliss is like everything fell into place, now I am healthy and more confident about myself and my life.
The environment is perfect to relax, have fun, meet people or just being alone with your thoughts and the staff is amazing, as soon as you arrive Shar receives you as if you were old friends, the girls are so nice preparing the best food,giving the best massages, they just make you feel loved, Ketut is not only a driver he is your personal guide and a professional photographer.Everyday I had the chance to meet new people, not only learn but live the culture, I just can say that my week at Bliss has been the best time in my life and I am so grateful for this experience that showed me how good my life is, now I wake up everyday with a smile in my face because I finally learned to live in the present
Thank you, Thank you for everything

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMI4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeWatson, Owner at Bliss Sanctuary for Women, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear SM14, WOW thank you for your heartfelt Tripadvisor Review and sharing your personal experience with others. We are so happy you chose us and received everything you needed. You followed your bliss, so it all came from you :) Bliss Love Zoe and the amazing Bliss Team xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was looking for a place to start healing after the death of both my Mother and Husband within a 12 month period. Bliss was my light at the end of a very dark tunnel. The light was wonderful!
I had spend 3 years caring for others and to experience being totally cared for was a wonderful reversal of roles. To be greeted each day with hugs and smiles and being asked what I wanted to do the next day by Shar the hostess who can arrange anything (well almost) was amazing. The Balinese food cooked with fresh ingredients and love was beautiful and the nightly communal dinners a delight. My large room was a cool retreat during the heat of the early afternoon and I spend at least an hour a day just bobbing around in gorgeous blue pools.
The daily "treatments" were a treat, can highly recommend the combination of the hair treatment with head shoulder and arm massage combined with a facial and mini foot massage will the facial mask dries as being truly blissful. The aged groups of the women I met there varied from 19-75 years and we all gained from watching each other enjoy their individual bliss experience. The bliss sort by the individual guests included fitness, adventure, healing and rest and at the end of each day we would share out experiences. The staff were caring, loving and kind and made you feel right at home. Ketut the main driver knows Bali like the back of his hand and a trip to Ubud through the back roads, beautiful valleys and scenic rice paddies is a treat in itself. I can highly recommend:
-a trip to the cleansing temple north of Ubud
-a visit to the artist cooperative in Ubud
-a visit to the elephant safari park.....well cared for elephants and beautiful gardens
-a visit to Tanah Lot either early in the morning when it is quiet or for sunset
-cocktails at the Potato Head Beach Bar and restaurant...1 is not enough
-some indulgent shopping in nearby Seminyak
Thank you Zoe for setting up Bliss, Shar for being always ready to help, and the staff for the loving care that was given to me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cherie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeWatson, Owner at Bliss Sanctuary for Women, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Cherie,
Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to be a light at the end of your tunnel and we truly hope things stay light for you for quite some time.
I had to laugh when I looked at the week you were at Bliss, i think we had both our oldest and youngest guests there all at the same time! It's amazing how a unique blissful experience can bridge those generation gaps and makes for very interesting dinner time conversations. Most women who stay with us are 20's - 50's so it's quite amazing we had such a vast array :)
We hope you can come and visit again very soon.
Bliss Love, Zoe, Shar and our amazing Bali team Zxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Bliss Sanctuary's website popped up at me late one night while I was going through a particularly hard time in my life and when I just wanted to run away from all my problems. I was planning on travelling solo for the first time and I was extremely nervous about being by myself. I kept going back to Bliss's website and decided I would just do it!

From the moment I stepped through the timber doors into a quaint tropical paradise I realised I had made the right decision! I was given a hug by Shar (Shar is a hostess at Bliss) and I instantly felt relaxed and like I had a new friend and would be well looked after. I also had the privilege of meeting Zoe as well. As I being driven from the airport on my way to Bliss I couldn't help thinking what an incredible and amazing woman Zoe must be to have created something so amazing in the middle of Bali!

My room was part of a larger villa (that housed two private rooms) and was large, bright and beautiful - complete with an outdoor bathroom. Across the way was another villa that had two more private rooms and the kitchen/lounge room area. The grounds of Bliss are paradise - frangipani trees, water features, a large outdoor dining area in a massive Bali hut and the extremely inviting pool.

The kitchen/lounge room area was where breakfast was served daily and where guests can help themselves to water, soft drinks, fruit and chocolate in the fridge. There is also a lounge to watch DVDs or read. This is also where the beautiful Bruce hangs. Bruce is a golden retriever cross poodle and the size of a small pony but he is just gorgeous and it adds a nice homely feel.

The lovely kitchen/housekeeping ladies - Kadek, Yanti and Riska prepare all the dishes in the kitchen. There is no set time for breakfast or lunch, when you are ready to eat they will happily prepare you something from the menu. On a few occasions my spa treatments occurred over lunch time - Kadek went out of her way to see me before my treatment and organise my lunch for when I was finished. The ladies will also prepare lunch for you and leave it in the fridge if your returning later in the day. Nothing is too much trouble.

I have to admit I was nervous about the communal dinners. I wasn't sure if I would fit in or who the other ladies were. However dinner actually became one of my favourite times of the day. Dinner is set for 7.30pm (I think!) and the ladies prepare at least 7 different traditional Balinese dishes which are shared amongst everyone. The food was a highlight and I enjoyed every dish - it was fresh, traditional and cooked with love. Make sure you have the coconut crepes with palm sugar filling – absolutely beautiful!

I quickly discovered that all the women staying at Bliss were in the same boat as me - travelling solo - so dinner became a nice time to meet everyone, discuss our days, recommend places to visit and generally relax and enjoy some company. After dinner with the guidance of Shar we all worked out the next days' schedule - who would have their treatments when, who was heading to Ubud, who was spending the day shopping! Shar would then organise everything - ensure drivers where ready, book tours, and make appointments. Shar does a fantastic job and its these things that made my holiday so much more enjoyable. I was enjoying exploring Bali on my own, at my own pace and within my own timeframes but I knew there would be someone waiting for me when I was finished or that an appointment would be booked on my behalf. Its just a brilliant system and it works!

Speaking of drivers - Ketut the head driver drove me into town many times. He was always extremely safe and very informative. The vehicles at Bliss are also well maintained. Johnie was also another fantastic driver.

Komang, is a real character - he cares for the gardens and sleeps in the bali hut at night time as our security officer.

The daily treatments are heavenly! Miss Wayan and Miss Viva are incredible at their jobs and both love nothing more then a chat and a hug.

During my week I went to many classes at the yoga resort about ten minutes drive from Bliss as part of my package. The resort is exceptional - fantastic yoga teachers in a blissful setting.

Bliss isn't located in the touristy areas of Seminyak or Kuta (thank god!) but its easy to jump in a car and drive in to do some shopping. The beach is a relaxing ten minute walk, however coming from Australia I did find the beach to be dirty. If you walk further to Echo Beach the beach is a lot nicer - there are also some nice places to eat along Echo Beach too. Close by to Bliss is a few quaint little cafes and shops...I personally think Canngu is a fantastic area - it shows a different side to Bali.

I have to make a special mention to Shar - she is just incredible in her role as hostess. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble. Personally Shar is just a lovely and friendly person to be around and I really enjoyed her company.

I truly felt like I was staying with friends and family and take many special memories from Bliss.

Room Tip: One of the rooms is located in the kitchen/lounge room area. If your seeking a little bit more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PurpleZoe21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeWatson, Owner at Bliss Sanctuary for Women, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dearest PurpleZoe21 ... thank you so much for such a thorough beautiful review. I am so thankful and pleased you connected with the essence of Bliss and what we're all about. And how amazing is Shar! It's a blessing for me to have such amazing staff who really embody everything about Bliss helping you to have the space you need to create your own bliss in such a beautiful environment. Our whole philosophy is to make things as easy as possible for you so you can relax and fully enjoy everything you would like to . It's interesting you say about the communal dinners. These come from my own experience traveling on my own. Sometimes what we think we want and what we actually want or need are 2 different things. So in our case at Bliss you can choose at any time to have any meals on your own in your room or wherever you would like, but as you experienced, the fantastic option of a communal dinner really takes the loneliness out of traveling on our own. For me when traveling, mealtimes are the worst with people always staring, I can almost hear the stories they make up in their head. And although I'm pretty resilient and carefree and don't care too much what others think, when I'm feeling vulnerable or a bit lonely these times can be almost too much and I find myself getting room service. At Bliss you have the choice, and by having dinner together we can serve an array of amazing food which is also another way to experience the Balinese culture as well as receiving nurturing, joy and happiness and finding out what the other ladies did that they loved :) Thankyou for all your kind lovely words and we can't wait to have you back again soon. Bliss Love, Zoe, Shar and the team Zxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

After spending a week at Bliss with my Mother in March I have come back feeling calm, happy and stronger than ever. The last couple of years have been pretty tumultuous and it was amazing to be in such a nurturing, supportive and non judgemental environment to relax, indulge and heal. All of the staff are caring and really want you to have a wonderful time. The food is fantastic. The spa treatments are wonderful.

I love the area Canggu as well it is so quiet and the perfect place to unwind and immerse yourself in beautiful Bali, the people and the culture! I have wanted to go to Bliss for over two years and finally made it!

My highlights were the food, the massages by Vera, yoga at Desi Seni, Sammi the healer, going to the markets with Kadek, Komang's beautiful smiles, the gorgeous kids who live across the road, Potato Head and a crazy night at Bali Joe's - although I would recommended it the night before flying out like we did ;) the gorgeous Shar and Alana who were just wonderful to be around, all of the laughter and fun/gin cocktails we shared at the banquet dinners and meeting some truly beautiful people who I will remember and be grateful for forever...

Room Tip: A must do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeWatson, Owner at Bliss Sanctuary for Women, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Mrs M, The sentence you wrote here just made my heart sing ... 'it was amazing to be in such a nurturing, supportive and non judgemental environment to relax, indulge and heal. All of the staff are caring and really want you to have a wonderful time. The food is fantastic. The spa treatments are wonderful.' As the owner of Bliss and not able to be there myself I feel so blessed that my vision is being realised not only by my wonderful staff but also the type of guests we attract who are ready to receive their own bliss in the beautiful, simple environment we have created. Thankyou so much for sharing your own experience to help others choose an amazing Blissful experience for themselves. Bliss Love, Zoe, Shar and our amazing Staff Zx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

This time last week I was at Bliss having my last massage. This Saturday I am doing 4 loads of washing, going to the supermarket, de-stressing after the work week, and dealing with the work emails that didn't get done yesterday …. but I'm still feeling joyful :-). It was nice to get that feeling back!!

My week at Bliss was the best week off I have had for many years. It was a time of reflection and processing stuff that has happened over the last decade …. time to just chill out, think about things and dream about what I would like to achieve in the last third of my allocation of three score years and ten:-).

If there was anything I would do differently, it would be more yoga (I can't believe that I only went to one class!!!!) and less food!! (hard to resist though because the food is so yummy!!). And I wish I hadn't gone shopping or gone to Potato-Head ……. as much as it was fun at the time, it sort of was a different vibe from the one I really needed and was enjoying.

But thank you to all the wonderful staff at Bliss - it really did feel so very inclusive and welcoming, and I really liked the fact that when I just wanted to spend time on my own-some it was easy to do.

I plan to be back, and it feels like something I would like to take time out to do every year. Next year I want to be there for Nyepi!!

Room Tip: I really liked being in Menara 1 …….. just two of us, very quiet and away from the main action. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalux1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZoeWatson, Owner at Bliss Sanctuary for Women, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear rosalux1, WOW! What a masterful feat to get home to the washing, food shopping and other chores and to still feel joyful! It shows how open your heart was not only in following your bliss, but in receiving it. Even if Bliss to you means more chilling out and eating and less yoga than you thought LOL. Thats the joy of Bliss, you can choose to do as much or as little as you like, in the moment. And now you've written this for all the world to see we'll just have to have you back to take advantage of the unlimited yoga we provide :) Just think you can go twice a day or 3 x a day if you like!!! Or not. And next time if more deep rest is what you need we can certainly urge you to stay at the villa minus the shopping or sundowner cocktails ... it is completely up to you :) Maybe we can arrange an extra long pamper session for you while the others are drinking cocktails! Bliss Love, Zoe share and our amazing team Zx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canggu
0.6 mi away
Luna2 Studiotel
Luna2 Studiotel
#11 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.5 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bliss Sanctuary for Women? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bliss Sanctuary for Women

Property: Bliss Sanctuary for Women
Address: Berawa, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bliss Sanctuary for Women, welcomes women traveling on their own without being alone or with a friend. Come and stay with us in beautiful Bali Villa Accommodation where you will be nurtured to your heart's content. No kids, no couples, and only a handful of women at any one time. This is pure holiday bliss, a sanctuary for women traveling who want the ultimate relaxation hassle free travel experience in Bali. 5-7 Day Packages ALL inclusive: All Meals, unlimited massage & spa treatments everyday, unlimited yoga, meditation, personal driver, free sightseeing onsite western hostess, Itinerary consultation... Hassle Free Bliss! Spa treatments include: Balinese Massage, Hot Stone Massage, Thai Massage, Facial, Body Scrub, Creme Bath (head & shoulders), Manicure & Pedicure, Reflexology ... All Included 90 minutes or more everyday with unlimited treatments in your package. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bliss Sanctuary For Women Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing