We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nightmare experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Ranked #28 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Humble, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nightmare experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I arrived at 1:05am on March 31, 2014. No registration or paper work filled out, no English speaking personnel. I was part of group, paid over 300.00 dollars extra, on top of 1,900.00, to have ac and I did not have ac., no ice or cold water available. Receptionist demanded to leave my passport with him and of course I said no, still he made a copy. After trying to make ac work, employee had to wake up manager so we could communicate and finally I got a fan. Manager was not very happy and replied it is them middle of the night(what a response!). Went to room to take a shower and shower head came out flying, filthy bathroom that I was afraid to not wear flip flops. On top of no air and bad shower, no soap or shampoo was provided and the sheets were stained with ink. I was ready to leave right there but was unable to get a taxi until 4/1/14. breakfast was very poor and dinner was not served. Fruit flies and mosquitoes everywhere. Instant coffee from a very dirty thermo bottle. I just had to go to bed and wait till next morning to leave and I was ready and sunrise. Most of the participant left and the one that stayed regretted as expressed when I met at airport. One person even called it a hostile compound. I would not recommend this facility or the retreat organizer, Lotus Oasis from Durango CO, even to my worst enemy. I don't mind rustic but I can NOT stand filth and neglect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Owner at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi Martha,
Firstly i would like to apologise for your not so nice experience at Serenity however please understand that 31 March 2014 is Nyepi Day, it is what Balinese people call "Silence Day", it is the one day where no one is allowed to go outside their house, people usually practice meditation and no lights are allowed to be on for that full 24 hours.
What this means is that, no staff are allowed to come to work or leave their home (by Balinese law).

We have discussed this with the managers and strict action has been taken to rectify the problems mentioned.

We would be happy to offer you one free night stay, please contact us at the reception for further details

with Serenity
Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    64
    23
    17
    13
See reviews for
14
43
116
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canggu, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Good things about this guest house. Atmosphere is quite good. The only negative aspects in my experience was music in common areas that are often too loud, and noise of construction work most of the time don't allow you to rest and stay "serene". Two last things, common showers of small rooms gave only a trickle of cold water, and prices for bicycles, motor bikes and taxis are high. But location is good next to the beach and the service is friendly in general.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank luckysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Hi Lucky

Thank you for your review, yes we are realize that the noisy of the construction are sometimes being noisy, but from March 1st '14 there will be no more construction anymore! now it becomes more quite, calm, serene and tranquility
For the noisy of the sound of the music, we do apologies for it. Perhaps all the Front office staff didn't realize was being noisy, for sure I will get a small meeting and get shorten this out! (of course to resize the volume of the music, and keep the normal one)
For the uncomfortable common showers, will tell our maintenance to fixed it asap!!
The prices for bicycles, motor bikes and taxis are high, not sure you can getting cheaper than that! cause for sure we are in a good priced of them ( especially for monthly renting)
For all and all, thank you for being such a honest guest for us, your feed back is truly appreciate
Have a wonderful day

Serenity Crew
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The good thing about this guesthouse is that the property is very nice looking. The bad things are numerous. There was constant construction with a nail gun going off almost all day. I imagine the whole expansion is made of nails. No matter where you lie on the property of if your doing yoga upstairs you hear the construction. Obviously they need to build but as a traveler, if the sound of construction bothers you then skip for now.
They rented us bad bicycles. The bicycles had no brakes and were rusted and failed to work properly.
Everyone and I do mean every single guest came down with Bali Belly. The one uniform experience for each guest (some in country for weeks, some just a few days) was eating at Serenity. After speaking with the management it turned out that many guests have been sick for the past couple of weeks. Traveling makes people sick sometimes but what made me angry was that they had medicine they did not share with the guests! Once the secret was out they charged guests for the medicine. I think if all your guests are sick and from a few weeks ago to the present I would think they would take care of them by providing them medicine especially since they provided the illness :)
Very uncaring and money grubbing. Not very Yoga.
I don't think it's a safe place to stay. Imagine how the place smelled with all those upset bellies!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeCageBeijng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Owner at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hi Luke,
Thank you so much for your review, feedback is very important to us and we took it very seriously

In regards to the Bali Belly's, although previously we have had such a case, we did have a general cleaning of the kitchen and ensured that food (especially meats) are not kept longer than 4 days in the fridge. For hygiene reasons, it is now protocol for crews to always clean their hands with soap prior to food preparation. Nonetheless we will look further into the case.

Our maintenance team are supposed to keep our bicycles properly running so i will look into the case. Also, since we found the bicycles to no longer be in pristine condition, we have reduced our bicycle rental rate.

Finally, in regards to the construction, the Serenity Crew and myself are terribly sorry your stay was disturbed. We are building better facilities for both our crew and guest. However we assure you that loud hammering will not start before 9am and will stop before 5pm

Thank you again for your review and hopefully once the construction is all nicely finished, you will visit us again!

With Serenity,
Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

location of Serenity Eco Guest House is the most Positive advantage . It is just 6 minutes leisure walk from the Beach which is almost Surfer Paradise & very popular with serious Surfers . Another Good advantage is guided Yoga Events & quiet & serene Meditation Hall used only for Meditation
The Guest House has about 10 Single Rooms & about 13 double Rooms . Most of the Single Rooms are located on First Floor with Common Toilets on Second Floor,. However because of the economic tariiff , it is suitable for single back packers .Most of the Double / Family Rooms are located on the Ground Floor around a well maintained Swimming Pool. It is fairly Calm & quiet except day time renovation going on .

Wi Fi is provided all the times on all the Floors Free of cost . Restaurant caters to the orders placed on it with a well managed Menu .

Staff , particularly on Front Office and the Managing Staff , is extremely polite & takes care of any requests. I had booked Non refundable Single Room , finding it difficult to climb stairs( being older with Knee Problem) , My request to upgarade to a better Room on Ground Floor was accepted without any hesitation , of course with higher Tariff .

Anyone staying in this Guest House should not expect luxuries ( at this cost) but all basic facilities are well provided .

Room Tip: Younger & Single travellers can select Single Rooms but any one with physical disability should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musafirhoonyaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Greeting Musafir

Thank you for taking the time to write review - we are thrilled to read your review and to know that you enjoyed yourself so much.
Yes, our location is very close to the beach and the quite serene of meditation hall are really what serenity is all about. As a Front Office manager, I always try to make our team work accordance with our rules! to be one as a family . We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Terima Kasih !

Serenity Crew
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Serenity eco resort is far from serene. The owners stay live on the property and are quite loud with music and loud conversation. I was really wanting a peaceful environment to relax and I felt like I was in someones backyard. Coco room and Japan room are right on the pool, but everyone walks by and the walls are very thin. The place doesn't feel clean and not laid out well. The private bungalows are defiantly not worth the $ and the single rooms are right next to the kitchen and entrance. They are more like an upscale shack.
I ordered a lemon/mint juice. It tasted like a little watery lime and some blended mint. The worst drink I've had in asia. :(

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hello Lynn,
We are actually a bit surprised when we read this because when you left Serenity you thanked us with a smile!

Anyhow we do apologize and are always open to an honest opinion.

About the noise,yes, the owner was having his yearly dinner with friends. I have discussed with the owner and we agreed that next year they will make less noise.

As we are in the middle of renovation, we apologize that our place is not as clean as it can be. It should be finished soon!

Our lemon mint juice, is simply fresh lime,mint leaves,sugar and some ice. It is a very simple recipe so we are not sure how we could go wrong, if you have any tips we would love to hear them.

In the end thank you for your review and hopefully see you soon

Serenity Crew
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

An amazingly peaceful place! Wonderfully run. Staff are very obliging. Yoga and meditation are offered. Restaurant food was delicious. The presence of the family is encompassing. The environment felt like one big family. True essence of serenity. Thank you for providing a memorable experience to our seven family members.

Room Tip: Peace and Harmony around the pool area were big
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Randa

We are so glad that you and your seven family members enjoyed our peaceful & serene place.

The staffs really feels like a family, and we hope to always be one and we are so glad that you enjoyed the restaurant, i will tell the chef Wayan and Made immediately.
Thank you so much for your review, it really mean a lot to us

With Serenity
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The hygiene of the villa gravely concerned me. On arrival we where told by another guest that a few people had been I'll. Within a couple of nights the majority of us where voilently I'll. I dont know if the weather can be blamed when the guests sicknesses where bad enough to warrant daily doctor visits, with several of our group requiring injections. In the end we cut our stay short and left for a nearby hotel. I am not trying to defame the place, just trying to warn others that there is a really nasty bug affecting guests at present.
At night and at times throughout the day and night septic smells would come up through the toilets, so maybe the system can't cope with the heavy rain and maybe this is why people are getting sick. Based on our collective experience I could never reccommend this place at present.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexpye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi Alex

Thank you for your review, first of all we like to apologies that you are stay was not as serene as you expected.
We are sorry that you and your friend been ill and that you may have smelled something unpleasant.
We had a meeting with all the coordinators to find a solution to make sure that your bad experience will not be repeated

With Serenity
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.2 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.5 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Canggu
Villas Canggu
#125 of 250 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
808 Residence
808 Residence
#54 of 250 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tirtarum Villas, Canggu Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga

Property: Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Address: Jalan Nelayan, Canggu | Kuta Utara, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a harmonious surroundings of Canggu and only a five minute stroll away from the beach, Serenity Eco Guesthouse offers a tranquil retreat for everyone. With a wonderful variety of accommodation, featuring private superior rooms to comfortable dormitory rooms. Providing free Wi-Fi, parking and DVD player. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the ambiance by the 14+ meter outdoor pool, join one of the many daily yoga classes or treat yourself to a Balinese healing massage. With an in-house ‘warung’ featuring healthy homemade meals ‘Alkaline Restaurant’ has plenty of variety to choose from. Catering for vegetarian and vegans, using no MSG or chemical taste enhancers. Located only 45 minute drive from Ngurah Rai Airport and 20 minute from popular Kuta/Seminyak areas, come and experience the peace, love, and harmony with Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Eco Guesthouse And Yoga Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing