We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel for backpacker” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Ranked #29 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice hostel for backpacker”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Close to the beach, and nice staff there. I like the swimming pool and the meal.
I went by myself, the people are good and willing to help the tourist, I still thank them so much.
Relaxing style hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waiting617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Front Office Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Greeting Win Han
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel and appreciated the assistance and politeness of our staff as well as our facilities. Your kind words will be passed on to our team

It is always encouraging for us to learn that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for every single day.

Again, I do thank you for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Best personal regards
Yeni

Best personal regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    64
    23
    17
    13
See reviews for
14
43
116
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Robina, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

If your looking for a friendly place with a nice atmosphere, with staff that end up being your mates, this is the place to go to!
Right on the beach and some Yoga classes to mix up your day. Great food and Deus (Restaurant with live music once in a while) just round the corner.
Creative owner, who will build a plastic bottle Christmas tree so that everyone feels just like at home.
Nice pool to cool down in from the extreme Bali heat and even a little library, TV room and comfy common areas to exchange stories with other backpackers/travellers.
All in all a place that I and all the people that I met there kept coming back to inbetween our little adventures on Bali. ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiraGroen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Warmest Greetings

On behalf of Staff and Management Villa Serenity, we are pleased to learn that you so enjoyed your stay with us recently.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our Villa on your next visit to Bali.
Your kind concern and cooperation is greatly appreciated.
Thank you very much

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very clean, easy going, beautiful and relaxed place! The staff is very helpful and friendly. They offer yoga classes, scooters and bicycles are for rent. It's just close to the main village. Their kitchen (warung) is clean, very tasty and fresh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendela79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your holiday.
Your kind concern and cooperation is greatly appreciated.

Have a great day, Your valuable input and comment is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you're traveling on a low budget and you want to feel like you're at a spa, or the closest thing to it that you can afford, this is the place! The pool is the main reason I'd come back. The pool has salt water so you can float. And float I did! My fingers looked like raisins when I got out of the pool. The service is excellent and the people working here are super friendly. I want to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Greeting Susanna

Thank you for taking your time to review our property. We are glad to learn that your stay has been enjoyable, & had a great time with us.We look forward to having you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Yeni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I will keep this sweet and simple:

Pros (Goods):

- The pool is amazing
- The food is great
- The location to the beach is also sweet!

Cons (Bad):

- The villa rooms are high priced, and are not so private. You get to wake up every morning to the sound, and smell of the people in the rooms next door taking there morning poo.
- You can here the next room snooring, even in the private villas
-The staff are o.k, but most don't care to help you
- If it rains, you will get wet in bed
- Open concept bamboo means lots of bugs in the room.

Conclusion:

This place is nice, but WAY over priced. Also the photos on the website make it look much better then it is.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Owner at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi Globe World Wide
Thank you for the compliments on the pool, when I built it I was sure people would enjoy it! Yatna, my wife, who is taking care of all food and beverages, says her thanks. As we are located only 150m Canggu beach, we feel our room rates are justifiable : 400.000IDR (or $40) for double bedroom and 150.000IDR (or $17) for Backpacker ( dormitory/single room). All room rates are breakfast included and I'm sure you enjoyed the home-cooked breakfast!
Villa 1, the bamboo lodge is an eco lodge, we are very proud to have built it of bamboo material, hiring local labor and maximizing on natural ventilation; all in the purpose of reducing our carbon footprint. However, regarding the comment, I will discuss this with our maintenance team, on how to improve it, especially during the rainy season. We do have air-condition rooms on the floor below in that same Villa 1, maybe next time you can stay here?
We are a family based accommodation, our staff are locally hired to provide them with income, I believe that the staff were not unhelpful but more shy, so next time just ask with a smile and they will enthusiastically help!
Finally the website, this is a difficulty for me as my generation is not technology - orientated. Nothing to fear! My son who is studying in Singapore will soon come home and help!
Thank you GlobalWorldWide for the reasonable review, thanks to this we know where to improve!

With Serenity
Daniel Chieppa
(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The minute you walk in Villa Serenity, the relaxing feeling takes over. This, all bamboo, resort makes sure that anybody who stays there, will leave completely relaxed! The breakfast was just great because of choosing between bread and pancakes and the staff was very friendly. Also the owner, who gives yoga and meditation sessions, is very friendly.
And it also was pretty crazy to ran in this guy at an other island (Lombok) a week later! And he recognized us! So concluded, we had a nice and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Like much of Bali the area is swelling with development. As a result "Serenity" is actually situated in between 2 large building sites which hammer, shout and run drills and cutting equipment until the early hours of the morning. Not the slightest bit serene. Owner seems to be completely unaware of the irony. Avoid.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FallOffALog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Owner at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Hi There
As a owner, I'am very aware as we are love Villa Serenity as you like. As a mediator & Yoga Practitioner ( YTT ) also we try to negotiate noise ( no more than 8am - 5pm working hours with unaware new foreigners comer in our peaceful fisher village
If you know ( instead of complain ), if you have any suggestion to reduce noise disturbance please be my guest

With Himalaya of Love
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.5 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
0.6 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tirtarum Villas, Canggu Bali
0.7 mi away
Echoland
Echoland
#18 of 105 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ametis Villa
Ametis Villa
#6 of 250 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga

Property: Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Address: Jalan Nelayan, Canggu | Kuta Utara, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a harmonious surroundings of Canggu and only a five minute stroll away from the beach, Serenity Eco Guesthouse offers a tranquil retreat for everyone. With a wonderful variety of accommodation, featuring private superior rooms to comfortable dormitory rooms. Providing free Wi-Fi, parking and DVD player. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the ambiance by the 14+ meter outdoor pool, join one of the many daily yoga classes or treat yourself to a Balinese healing massage. With an in-house ‘warung’ featuring healthy homemade meals ‘Alkaline Restaurant’ has plenty of variety to choose from. Catering for vegetarian and vegans, using no MSG or chemical taste enhancers. Located only 45 minute drive from Ngurah Rai Airport and 20 minute from popular Kuta/Seminyak areas, come and experience the peace, love, and harmony with Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Eco Guesthouse And Yoga Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing