We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little paradise in Paradise Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Ranked #25 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Certificate of Excellence
Philly
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little paradise in Paradise Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I just returned to the U.S. from a remarkable vacation in Bali. I spent ten days in Canggu walking the beach and hanging out with the locals. Villa Serenity is a great inexpensive to moderately priced place to stay. They make you feel like family , and the accommodations range from funky(I stayed in a rattan room with fan and mosquito netting) to little Villas. I was very comfortable and cozy. By the way I am a retired teacher; no longer a backpacker! The crowd ranged from Yoga practitioners to dedicated surfers all blended into a family of adventuresome and curious and friendly folk. By staying here you get to know a little bit of the lives of this fishing community and the food is delicious and carefully prepared by the Serenity's cook and staff. Kuta and the energy of the discos is an inexpensive half hour taxi ride away, but you will be glad to get back to your 'home away from home'.I can't wait ti go back. rick

Room Tip: Families will want to opt for the 'villas' with air con and clustered around the lush and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    66
    23
    17
    13
See reviews for
14
44
122
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Finding myself at Villa Serenity proved a true blessing. My room was one of the best "backpacker" prices on the entire island, yet Villa Serenity maintains an atmosphere of "backpacker luxury.". Literally a two minute barefoot trek to the beach, the location is ideal for those looking for a little seclusion & peace; you can easily rent a bicycle and ride to town in 10-20 minutes if you so choose. The yoga Shala is available 24 hours for practice & classes are offered daily. You can schedule a great massage at the resort almost any time, only about 9 USD for an hour. Grounds are lovely and well kept, staff is extremely friendly & accommodating. I stayed for over a month and would be happy to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadada5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place is very relaxing and a super price for the facilities they have.
The Yoga studio was lovely and a wonderful way to start the day, only 50K IDR for a 1.5 hour session which is around 5 USD!
The room I had was "Freedom" which had a big double bed, nice size bathroom and a terrace and was just upstairs from the pool It's all quite open and so you hear the wildlife and some mozzies etc can get in but there is a net over the bed so it's fine, just don't leave the light on close to bed time!
The pool is lovely and a nice cool down in the Balinese heat!
There are lots of masseuse on site as well who do a good massage for a good price. It's a very short walk to the beach as well, around 150M, it's big for surfers so take care when swimming!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms too close to the reception if you're an early bird, some of the youn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JowilkieSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

The villa serenity in Canggu Bali is a great get away for people who want to get out of the busy Kuta area. It is a very relaxing resort aimed at the yoga and meditation loves amoungts us. Besides that it is minutes away from one of the better surf spots on Bali (Canggu and Echo beach). Backpackers as well as the villa guests get great value for they money with low prices per night and breakfast included! Overall great place, amazing surroundings and value for your money

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

My bf & I spent 6 nights here during the new year's eve. At first we stayed at one of the poolside bungalows but there was construction happening and it was too loud. We asked the staff if there was another room we could move into and they moved us to their ocean blue suite which is a HUGE room on the top floor with views of the surrounding fields, at no additional cost!
The place is a bit run down but the amazing breakfast & the wonderful staff make up for it!
They had the best Banana Pancakes! YUM!
The staff was extremely helpful and kind.
The location is right by Canggu beach but far from anything else. In fact, there are no other guesthouses/hotels nearby but it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatzRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
443 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

The food was very good and reasonable. The staff was super friendly and wonderful! The place was 150m from the beach, they had an AWESOME pool in the back where you could relax and just enjoy. It was so peaceful. The rooms could have been better if you stay in the cheapest hostel room. Mainly because the walls were very thin and the bathroom was upstairs. Overall it was great! Just a great place to relax and have no one bother you!

Room Tip: Get a villa or get a double room with a bathroom the extra 5 bucks or so night makes it worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PresPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at villa serenity for 3 nights. Although I had booked 5 I didn't want to stay that long.
It's not close enough to any town, no shops, restaraunts or even an ATM without hiring a bike. And you must hire for a full day no half or hourly rates.
The pool is great.
I was in the japan room with my daughter, a very small hut with just a matress bed on floor, looks cute but very small, the fan is not very good.
In all my emails prior to arriving no one informed me of the contstuction that would be going on 2 feet from my hut. Noise all day and no serenity at all. The hut backs onto owners house so you can hear their noise at night.
The beach is close and is nice.
The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. The wifi was good. The food was good. The tv area is great. If it was quiet and the room had more facilitys I would have the stayed the 5 nights but after being woken by builders banging nails into my hut at 8am and being so far out of town I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Advisor27666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielfromBali, Manager at Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Hi Tripadvisor member,
It is true that most our guest stay in Villa Serenity to escape the popular party streets of Bali, relax and chill on our day beds, surf and restore themselves-among other things.
So i completely understand your disappointment in not finding that during your stay; that is because we are undergoing our biggest renovation project to date, a 2-storey building-made all out of bamboo trunks! we are hoping to complete the project on the 30th of December 2011.
That being said, we try to keep noise to a minimum for the comfort of our guests but our priority at the moment is the completion of our jumbo project.

For the request of motorbikes rented hourly, it is not only us who only rent per day but all rental places in Bali. The job of keeping track of each motorbike by the hour would just be too much work it would be inefficient.

After you checked-out we realized that "yes, that room is not rentable during the construction period"; we should have then insisted that you move to another room available. We now do not rent that room or give high discounts to the new guest.

Finally thank you for the compliments, especially that previous reviews that complained on the WiFi connection-proves that we have fixed the problem!

all in all, hope to see you again after we have finished our renovations and finally get the relaxation you were looking for in the first place!

with Serenity,
Krishna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.4 mi away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.2 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.5 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villas Canggu
Villas Canggu
#127 of 255 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
808 Residence
808 Residence
#56 of 255 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tirtarum Villas, Canggu Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga

Property: Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga
Address: Jalan Nelayan, Canggu | Kuta Utara, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 255 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a harmonious surroundings of Canggu and only a five minute stroll away from the beach, Serenity Eco Guesthouse offers a tranquil retreat for everyone. With a wonderful variety of accommodation, featuring private superior rooms to comfortable dormitory rooms. Providing free Wi-Fi, parking and DVD player. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the ambiance by the 14+ meter outdoor pool, join one of the many daily yoga classes or treat yourself to a Balinese healing massage. With an in-house ‘warung’ featuring healthy homemade meals ‘Alkaline Restaurant’ has plenty of variety to choose from. Catering for vegetarian and vegans, using no MSG or chemical taste enhancers. Located only 45 minute drive from Ngurah Rai Airport and 20 minute from popular Kuta/Seminyak areas, come and experience the peace, love, and harmony with Serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Serenity Eco Guesthouse and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Eco Guesthouse And Yoga Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing