We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and dreamful experience. High...”
other travelers have booked this property
Mandalay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mandalay
Your Pool Tropical Gardens
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Mandalay
Your Pool
Tropical Gardens
Entrance Coi Pond
Living
Art
Living
Dining
A Terrace with a View
Dining
Dining
View from the the Villa
Breakfast - Included in our rate
Breakfast - Included in our rate
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Breakfast in Bed
Master Bathroom
Complimentary Designer Mandalay Dreams Toiletries
Second Bedroom
Art
Second Bedroom
Art
Third Bedroom
Study
Study
A Terrace with a View
Dining by the Pool
Poolside Gazebo
Poolside Gazebo
Outdoor Tropical Rain Shower
Outdoor Tropical Rain Shower
View from the Villa
Wellness Kamar - Enjoy a complimentary welcome massage on us
Wellness Kamar
Wellness Kamar - Massage
Wellness Kamar - Massage
Wellness Kamar - Mandalay oils
Wellness Kamar - Yoga
Nespresso Coffee
Apple TV
PlayStation
Board Games
Your Car & Chauffeur / Guide - Available 24 hours a day and included in our rate
Your Car & Chauffeur / Guide - Available 24 hours a day and included in our rate
View from the Villa
Villa Floor Plan
Villa Floor Plan
Your Local Beach - Only five minutes from Mandalay
Your Local Beach - Only five minutes from Mandalay
The Local Village
The Local Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Canggu, North Kuta, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PC_expat...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Nice four star property”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The property is very nice but there are some things to consider prior to booking. it is in an isolated area with little that is within walking distance. It is great to have a driver and car available to take you out and about but the island is not easy to traverse due to roads and traffic. The staff keeps the property in good shape and very clean. They wash, dry and iron laundry daily which is a nice service. They prepare breakfast for you daily and will offer to cook other meals off of a menu card in a restaurant like approach. This is nice if you want to have all meals served by the staff but not if you want to keep your own groceries and grab things as you wish since their preference is to lock down the refrigerator although they did keep it open and available for us to store cold drinks. They offer cold drinks (beer, wine, etc), and Nespresso coffee as a minibar type service. The staff is pleasant and will do their utmost to assist you.

This is not a 5* villa but it is a nice comfortable space with a nice pool and view over rice paddies. In terms of value with all of the up-charges it is not the best value for two people but for a family or a few couple, it may offer a better value.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staff
Liked least: Isolation
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and particularly the service of our staff and the condition of the villa. We would like to add some additional information on a couple of points about Mandalay that you raised:

- Location: we do indeed pride ourselves on our “hideaway” location, offering peace and tranquillity in the heart of the real Bali, away from the tourist crowds and traffic. However we are still very much within easy striking distance of Bali’s main attractions, restaurants, bars and boutiques. We are only 25 minutes drive from Seminyak, 40 minutes from Ubud and 45 minutes from the airport. We’re also less than 5 minutes from the ocean and beautiful unspoilt beaches, 7 minutes from Tanah Lot (one of Bali’s foremost cultural attractions), and 10 minutes from two exceptional five star resorts, the Pan Pacific and the Alila Soori, both of whom kindly give special recognition and discounts to Mandalay guests. We aim to make getting around as easy as possible by having our luxury vehicle and chauffeur at guests’ disposal 24/7 at no extra charge. As we mention on our website “You’d like to have lunch in Ubud, a walk along the beach in the afternoon, then sunset cocktails and dinner in Seminyak? Then you’ve picked the ideal place to stay.” More information on the benefits that our location has to offer are available on the dedicated page of our website.?

- Dining: to make things easy for guests and to offer a more boutique hotel like experience, we offer an extensive in-villa menu which is cooked to order by our gourmet chef. However, if guests do prefer the approach of asking the chef to buy ingredients for them, or even cooking for themselves, this is absolutely no problem. While the chef’s fridge and our separate staff building and storage area are not open to guests - as would be the case in any hotel or restaurant - we do provide a dedicated guest fridge within the villa containing cold drinks and snacks and of course guests are very welcome to store any food they buy themselves there.? ?

- Charges: we offer an all-inclusive rate (including tax, service, car, driver, personal chef, butler and concierge, breakfast, tea & coffee, mineral water, laundry, unlimited wi-fi, welcome massage, daily newspaper, VIP airport clearance and complimentary honorary membership of Bali’s foremost private members’ club, the Canggu Club.) This means that the only extras charged to guests are any food, beverages and spa services taken at the villa along with petrol, billed at cost.

- Rates: to ensure that we provide good value, we adjust our rates depending on the number of people staying so that, for example, a party of two can enjoy the villa for only $399 per night, a party of four for $499 per night, and a party of six for $599 per night.

We aim to offer the privacy, dedicated staff and bespoke service of a luxury villa alongside the amenities, standards and attention to detail of a five-star hotel. For example, our concierge, chef, butler and villa attendants ensure that every need is taken care of and special requests are our specialty; an extensive menu and wine list are on offer and guests can enjoy in-villa spa treatments such as Balinese massages on our Jari Menari massage tables; we offer a state of the art entertainment system (HD TVs, PlayStation 3, Apple TV, Blu-Ray player, wi-fi and media library).

But we believe it’s the little things that really make a difference, things like designer Mandalay Dreams toiletries, morning and afternoon “coffee & cookies” service, in-room safes, i-phone speaker docks, a daily turn-down service, and in-villa butler call buttons. We have been honoured to receive recognition for our service by being judged by Chic Retreats, Great Small Hotels of the World, Hip Hotels and Splendia Luxury Hotels as worthy of joining their portfolios of exclusive properties and by being featured in the 2012 Asia Villa Guide as well as in Bali Style Magazine. We have also been rated “Excellent” by TripAdvisor and were the recipient of the 2011 Vacation Rental of the Year award from Flip Key, TripAdvisor’s sister company specialising in private homes and villas.

Once again we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay with us and hope to welcome you at Mandalay again some time in the future.

Best Regards,

Andy ???

Andy Benfield??
Owner & Manager?
Mandalay Hideaway
?andy@mandalayhideaway.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUINGAMP/SHANGHAI
Reviewed April 24, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2012
Many thanks indeed and we're very happy that you enjoyed your stay! Just a note to reassure readers that "hazardous", which means dangerous in English, is here (I assume!) a mis-translation from the French word "hasard" meaning "by chance" - thus they were in fact chance encounters with villagers rather than risky ones :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scott J
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable, and friendly. They work hard to please you.”
Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We stayed there for 10 days in March, and had a wonderful time. When you are a family with teenagers, the convenience and cost far outweighed having to pay for two rooms in a nice hotel. The villa is large and comfortable with a nice pool. The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and there are several patios and poolside sitting areas for relaxing outside. The villa is perched over rice fields with a stunning view. Also, the location of the villa is perfect in that it's 5 minutes from a wonderful beach, and strategically located so that it's not too far from most of the major areas on any tourist agenda in any direction.

But, aside from the very comfortable villa itself, Mandalay goes the extra mile for you with free daily laundry service, free internet, airport pick-up and return, a free driver 24/7(you pay for gas), free breakfast (maybe not for a family of 7!), and very reasonable prices on their many outstanding lunch and dinner items.

But what made Mandalay especially memorable for us were the people working there. There are 7 people working at this villa. They are all wonderful people who go out of their way to make you happy, and very flexible to adjust their style to fit your living rhythms.

You leave Mandalay not saying to yourself "I now need a vacation from my vacation" because living there felt a bit like being at home . . . and we also made several new friends with the staff.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: See description above
Liked least: Personally, I didn't like that PayPal is currently the only option to book the villa. Even though they have a link to pay outside of PayPal on their website, it still uses the PayPal service, which is often a convoluted process.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2015
Many thanks for the feedback. We're pleased to hear that we could offer a better and more competitive alternative to a hotel! And we'd like to confirm that breakfast is always free, no matter how many guests :)

Andy

Andy Benfield
Owner
Mandalay Hideaway
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Reviewed March 27, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2012
Many thanks! It was our pleasure and we hope to welcome you again soon at Mandalay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Western Australia
Reviewed March 20, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2015
Thanks for your comments - we were honoured to host you for the big four zero! We will certainly pass on your feedback to our lovely staff.

Andy

Andy Benfield
Owner
Mandalay Hideaway
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Justin S
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible experience with major maintenance needed...”
Reviewed January 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
9
people found this review helpful

We were greeted by staff on arrival, very nice. We settled in after taking a tour and observing the amenities. The villa looked nice but is in desperate need of major maintenance.

Rodents. The first night we were watching a movie and a large rat fell from the ceiling, just missing my sons head and landed on the coffee table. Then the struggle was on to capture the rodent. After a short chase the rodent was terminated.

Power outages. The second day we noticed that the power in the villa kept shutting off. Not once or twice but several times throughout each day and night. We reported this major problem right away and it was finally fixed as we were leaving, two weeks later. As you can understand inconvenience of not having power in the hot climate and trying to cook dinner, it became a major concern and problem.

Fire. The third day, I noticed smoke coming from outside the front door, between the main entrance and wellness room (which was being used as a bedroom). We investigated the smoke and could not determine where it was coming from. A short time later, I noticed the smoke was getting worse. I walked outside the front entrance and observed that the smoke was coming from a fire that was underneath the deck. Security was called and I tried to find a fire extinguisher. The butler said that the fire extinguisher was broken and security finally arrived. It took security about 20 minutes to put out the fire. The fire started from faulty wiring. At this point I was greatly concerned for the safety of our family. I emailed Andy and he said that the power company would come out to check on the wiring (they showed up a week later).

Insects. Like I said before, the maintenance is really bad. There are no screens on the windows and about an inch opening around all the doors when shut. In turn, there were just as many insects inside as outside. One afternoon, my wife checked on our two year old son that was taking a nap. She saw hundreds of tiny ants crawling all over him in his bed….downstairs it was not uncommon to see a trail of ants entering the villa from one side and exiting on the other side.

Communications. It was very difficult to reach the concierge. The concierge was supposed to be our contact person with questions; however, we found it more convenient to ask the butler, driver, or chief. The concierge returned calls at least a day later.

Food. The food tasted good going down. It just seemed like a task every day. Eat breakfast, then before the chef leaves we have to order lunch and dinner all at the same time. Toward the middle and end of our trip, everyone was sick! Vomiting and diarrhea. The food was contaminated and we all paid the price greatly. The stomach and intestinal contamination lasted a solid two weeks.

Overall. Never again! When I think back on this experience, I get sick to my stomach! I would recommend staying at a five star resort/hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff were nice
Liked least: maintenance on the house, rodents, power outages, insects, and food
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2012
As the Owner and Manager of Mandalay Hideaway, I would like to take the opportunity to respond to this review. Firstly, I was very sorry to hear about the negative experiences and that the guest in question was disappointed with their stay. I have tried to respond to each of the points made below, clarifying certain issues as well as correcting a number of inaccuracies which appear in the original review:

- Communications: the concierge arranges with each guest when they would like her to be in attendance at the villa. Outside of these agreed times she is reachable by the dedicated mobile phone which is provided for the guest's exclusive use during their stay. In addition, the butler, villa attendants, security etc. are present throughout the day, either at the villa or on standby in the staff quarters if the guest requires total privacy. In this case, the concierge was present at the villa at every time requested by the guest. We are however aware of one occasion on which she did not answer nor return a call made by the guest. The call in question was made late at night and was a request for an immediate minibar re-stocking which was unfortunately not logistically possible at that hour. This had already been advised to the guest following two calls a few minutes earlier to the concierge and several enquiries from the guest to the villa staff who were on-site. The minibar was restocked as per the guest’s request the next morning.

- Rodent: a small field mouse had indeed regrettably managed to enter the roof cavity from the surrounding rice fields. The staff immediately dispatched with the mouse when it was discovered. The next day, our maintenance man entered the roof and sealed the hole that had been made by the mouse to gain entry, also putting in place a metal cover to prevent this ever happening again. In addition, we brought in a pest control team to check the property and it was found to be clear. We very much understood the concern of the guest and offered dinner and wine on the house that evening as a small token of our regret. We are pleased to report that there have been no similar such incidents either before or since.

- Power outages: the Bali Power Company carried out unscheduled maintenance on the island's main power plant during the guest's stay, a situation that was unfortunately out of our control. A news article from the Bali Times confirming this is available here: http://www.thebalitimes.com/2009/12/04/pln’s-christmas-gift-to-bali-another-month-of-power-cuts/ This caused three power outages of approximately 15 minutes in the villa, each of which occurred on a separate day. The air conditioners did indeed cut out during these fifteen minute periods and we do understand the discomfort caused. We note however that the villa's cooking equipment is gas powered and so was not affected by the outage. At the guest's request, we brought in an electrician to check that the power cuts had not damaged any of the electrical equipment in the villa as they were concerned that this might cause a safety hazard. Such a check was carried out within 24 hours of each outage and each time the electrician verified that no equipment had been damaged and that no safety hazard existed. We are pleased to report that the Bali Power Company have now completed their maintenance on the island’s main power plant and that no subsequent power cuts have been experienced since these incidents in December 2011.

- Fire: a small fire occurred on the outside pond deck, damaging several square centimetres of it. This was subsequently ascertained to have been started by a cigarette end that was dropped there. It should however be noted that none of the staff are allowed to smoke on the premises. On being advised by the guest, the butler immediately notified the security staff who brought a fire extinguisher and extinguished the fire. This took only a few seconds, though our staff subsequently stayed on for some time to ensure that there was no further smouldering. The butler called to the security officer to assist in this case as he was positioned closest to an extinguisher at the time. The damaged cable which powers the pond fountain was an effect of the fire, not a cause of it. I note that we have three fire extinguishers in the property, all of which are regularly checked for operability, and that all staff are competent in their use, with verification carried out as part of their bi-monthly service refresher training sessions. I also note that no charge was levied as a result of the damage caused to the pond deck and cabling by the dropping of the cigarette.

- Screens: we do not have screens on the windows and doors in the villa as the majority of guests prefer to leave them fully open in the day and enjoy a tropical living experience and unimpeded view. All doors and windows can however be securely shut and locked when required in the evening or when guests prefer to switch on the air conditioning inside during the day. There are no openings around the doors. When doors and windows are open, the occasional insect may naturally pass through, though this has never been raised as an issue by past or subsequent guests and it should be noted that there are no dangerous insects in the area. The villa and grounds are also sprayed regularly with environmentally–friendly products in order to ensure that they are kept insect-free to the greatest extent possible.

- Ants: we note that the incident in question occurred when the child was left by the guest on a large cushion in a shaded area of the garden and that uncovered food was also left by the guest nearby. Our staff had previously advised against both of these practices.

- Sickness: we absolutely refute that any sickness experienced by the guest was caused by food or beverage consumption at Mandalay. Our chef comes from a five-star hotel (http://www.alilahotels.com/soori) and we insist that he and the serving staff maintain the highest standards of hygiene and cleanliness. We have never had someone falling sick due to food or beverages served at the villa. We note that the guest did not report, nor show any sign of, sickness during their stay with us. If sickness was experienced after their stay then we would respectfully suggest that the cause may have been food or beverages consumed subsequent to their departure from the villa.

- Lunch and dinner orders: we do indeed ask our guests to let us know their lunch and dinner orders for the day by noon on the day concerned. As we are not a restaurant, but rather a single luxury villa catering to a maximum of six people, it is simply not possible for us to keep in stock all of the fresh ingredients required in the 60+ dishes that we offer on our menu as well as to service any special requests that guests may have. We therefore buy what is needed each day depending on the guest's orders. This does however ensure that we always use the very freshest of ingredients. Nevertheless, we do appreciate that guests may sometimes not want to plan in advance and therefore we also offer a snacks & light meals menu with a more limited selection of dishes which is cooked to order within 30 minutes of a guest's request. Both our full and snacks & light meal menus are available on our website at http://www.mandalayhideaway.com We also note that we do advise all guests of the meal ordering procedure prior to confirming their booking with us as part of the Welcome Portfolio which we send them detailing what they can expect from us.

- Maintenance: I would like to state unequivocally that the villa is in absolutely pristine condition. This is something we take a large amount of pride in and a fact that is frequently remarked upon by our guests. The property and all furniture, equipment and physical infrastructure are checked by staff before and after every guest stay. We have a dedicated staff member to do this who also ensures that any maintenance issues that do come up are immediately attended to.

Finally, I note that I discussed the above issues with the guest personally during their stay and that the version of events described in this review does not correspond to those discussions. It is with regret that I also note that we are still awaiting the payment of a significant final bill for food and beverages more than two months after the stay.


Andy


Andy Benfield

Owner & Manager
Mandalay Hideaway
andy@mandalayhideaway.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barossa Valley South Australia
Reviewed September 29, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2015
Many thanks indeed for your kind remarks, and well done for getting the Daphne Du Maurier reference :)

Andy

Andy Benfield
Owner
Mandalay Hideaway
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$199
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing