We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect oasis to explore the bustling city...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
133 reviews
Master bedroom ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom dressing room
Master bedroom dressing room
Poolside retreat bedroom
Poolside retreat ensuite bathroom
Poolside retreat ensuite bathroom
Upstairs retreat bedroom
Upstairs retreat bedroom
Upstairs retreat dressing room
Upstairs retreat ensuite bathroom
Upstairs retreat relaxation area with ricefield and sunset view
Garden pavilion for reading, games and dinners
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Canggu, North Kuta, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 133 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Indonesian first
Any
English first
Ben C
Monterey, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect oasis to explore the bustling city areas”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Villa Salju was a perfect experience for my family and I (2 adults--2 kids).

PROPERTY: Excellent layout with large outdoor seating pavilion and deck. (I got the recommended massage and Pedicure right there in the pavilion while the family quietly hung out at sunset on the lanai. It was great.) Lovely furnishings, strong A/C in all bedrooms with good light-block curtains, I liked that there was one bedroom upstairs because that's where I put my 4 year old and locked the door to the pool at night (with a key that I kept) so I had NO fears that he would up and decide to swim before I woke. The boys loved the coy pond steps to the other bedroom, even getting to feed them some mornings.

STAFF: Putri greeted us and set us up and took care of us. Our welcome dinner was amazing made by the chef! We had breakfast cooked at whatever time we liked and the staff was wonderful. Ivory and Adi cooked a wonderful breakfast with fruit, mushrooms/tomatos, eggs, toast, banana pancakes with palm syrup--or traditional Indonesian, whatever we asked and it was GOOD. Ivory was so kind and sweet to my boys! They present you with the receipts to sign every morning. They are very meticulous. The clothes were washed and beds were made like magic and the staff were present when you needed them and unobtrusive when you didn't. You had the villa to yourself after they left for the afternoon. (depending on when you started them for breakfast in the morning) Security was there overnight keeping an aye out too. Though there were no problems.

GOOD LOCATION:While here we explored a lot of Canggu (very close 10 min drive with waterpark, trampoline jump, Milk and Madu restaurant) Seminyak (bit further--another 10-15 minutes), and Ubud (day trip) as well as Kuta with the help of the Villa recommended driver Putu. He was GREAT. Fabulous driver, excellent with kids, very good English, and so fun. He took us to restaurants that were good at local food and some in Ubud that had such great views and service. Just tell him what you are looking for--we wanted less commercial more local. He obliged and even took us to an amazing take out place to grab and eat in the villa. Just book him as your driver for the week, so worth the relaxing and safety without having to worry about finding things! The villa has a rice field in front of it. It was amazing to watch them harvest it. (That's something you won't get in Seminyak--too crowded!)

Final note on location:--any CROSSFITERS??? The Gym is literally at the end of the gang (lane) so my husband walked and got in a great WOD every morning before breakfast. He needed it the way we ate in Bali thanks to the staff!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shar0n15
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great family stay at Villa Salju”
Reviewed March 10, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Making arrangements prior to our stay was a breeze - Susan was really helpful and arranged everything - also provided us with lots of tips and advice. From arrival we (a family of 6) were welcomed by the team and then spoilt with all our needs attended to - relaxing massages, Amazing feasts for breakfast each morning cooked by Ivory, who always happy and smiling! Being driven around each day by Gede, who was helpful and patient and took us where ever we wanted to go - he was spot on with his suggestions for places to eat ! Only problem was - I wish we had been able to stay for longer so we could have spent more time relaxing by the pool at the villa!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoezM M
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average stay at Villa salju”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've been staying at Villa Salju last week (two families, seven in total, with kids). We've been a bit disappointed by the place. We're currently staying at Villa Margarita (same owner - review to follow next week), but Salju is a lower standard than Margarita.
More specifically, things that we didn't like and need to be improved:
- At our arrival, the cookware was not properly cleaned up. My wife spent the whole evening washing and cleaning up all cookware and silverware. Some of the drawers in the kitchen looked like they haven’t been opened (and cleaned) for a while.
- Our biggest concern is the stove. It is actually quite dangerous as it gets very hot when the oven is in use, even the temperature/position turn-buttons. One needs to use a heat resistant towel/glove when turning buttons and opening/closing the oven. There was no warning about this and the staff didn’t mention it. This has to be fixed quickly for the sake of safety.
- We had several issues with clogged sinks and had to ask for the maintenance to drop by twice.
- Given the the surroundings, it is almost impossible to stay outside evening-time because of the mosquitos (we obviously know this is not under the control of the owner).
- The living room is really tiny and can't fit a large family/group.

The good notes: the Canggu area is nice, with some nice beaches nearby (Berawa), few restaurants (La Finca is a good place to have drinks or diner), Canggu club for kids, Seminyak area not too far, etc. And obviously the staff: Putu (the driver) always available, smiling and helpful, and Putri the Guests Manager.

We will return to Canggu as we love the area, but definitely not to Villa Salju.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimmyvero
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Service, Peacefulness, Tranquility very Relaxing an experience our family or 4 kids & 2 adults abundantly enjoyed.”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We can not begin to thank Susan enough to express our gratitude for offering our family an opportunity to get away on our family holiday with the use of her beautifully designed and well looked after property Villa Salju. From our initial contact with Susan accommodating our every request was not a problem in the slightest with Susan even assisting in making her Villa fit our tight holiday budget, with not a single service or accommodation detail removed having done so. We arrived extremely early in the morning at 2am regardless a smiling and jovial driver named Darna greeted us with such a warm welcome which we soon found to realise over our entire stay this true gentleman was what made our holiday, without his fantastic guidance, helpful manner, brilliant child minding expertise and overall calm inviting energy he very kindly gave us our holiday wouldn't have been 5 star like it was. We arrived to our Villa and Putri our Villa Manager had generously prepared a meal for our family's arrival, Putri also arranged entertainment for my Birthday and made our stay very comfortable and well taken care of. Erma and Honny efficiently took care of our Villa daily without fuss and ironed our clothes and when required even took care of the kids to give us some minutes to ourselves. The whole experience we couldn't recommend more highly to friends and family since being back home, the holiday in Bali at Villa Salju was truly a trip we will remember mainly for the relationships we formed with such warm generous people such as Darma, Putri, Erma & Honny. Thanks Susan we will be coming back, both myself & my wife and our kids just loved everything about our holiday thanks to your team.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakersRoc...
Newport Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Paradise with very personal attention - Best Villa Experience Yet”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My family of four stayed at Villa Salju for five nights and had the most glorious time. The Villa is absolutely gorgeous with 3 full European king suites with super cold a/c, 2 with outdoor showers and toilets and a wonderful pool. Everything was as if you were at a 5 star hotel. However, what made the Villa most spectacular were the people! At the end of the day the people are what really make Bali special and Susan the manger has noticeably worked overtime to find quality caring people to represent her. Tari was our butler. (I hate this word as it does not describe someone with a lovely caring personality that spoiled my family rotten) She was spectacular. She arrived every morning at our requested time to cook us breakfast; rather she prepared an unbelievable spread of only fresh fruits, bacon, eggs and we opted for traditional Balinese breakfasts as well which was fried rice and noodles. We love exploring so I requested a different fruit from her every day and each day we were surprised with an unusual native fruit we had never seen or had before. Delicious. Tari could not do enough to accommodate my family. The laundry was done, the facility cleaned and massages organized. We opted for massages every night before retiring since they were $15 an hour. The girls were punctual and very good, best of all right there in your own suite. Rama the driver picked up at the airport right on time and took great care of us during the stay. The villa is a short 15 minute walk to a surfing beach with lots of hustle and bustle. Here are your choices, traditional US mega resort hotels, lots of people, wide walkways, everything exactly as you want it at home, little personality ... go to Nusa Dua but if you would rather have a 5 star safely “adventurous” Balinese experience, then Villa Salju is for you as it is for my family. No one wanted to leave and everyone is up for another long flight back to return to this Balinese paradise. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Excellent accomodations with even better people taking unbelievable care of you. Security deposit was returned upon leaving which covered incidentals. Bonus.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krisnjack...
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
“OMG can't thank you all enough!!! AMAZING”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Amazing staff who assisted with our holiday from beginning to end. All so helpful and willing to go that extra step to help us. So kind and always smiling. A massive THANKS to Rama and Oka for assisting us everyday and making our holiday so amazing. Khloe misses you and will definitely be back to stay again. Highly recommended to families or couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff were so friendly.
Liked least: Absolutely NOTHING.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
l0vinglif...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very very nice stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We had a great stay at Villa Salju. We have never stayed at a villa before (use hotels instead) so it took us a bit of coordinating on the front end but it was worth it. We had a lovely time and would stay there again in a heartbeat. Awesome location and nothing was out of the way, especially because we had our own driver. Gusti was great and knew exactly where everything was and knew lots of restaurants to take us too. Tari our housekeeper did a lovely job keeping us fed and the villa nice and clean. The only reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 is that I think some chairs around the pool area would be really nice. We had people over and there were no chairs around the pool to sit in. There were 2 loungers though. And also 2 more chairs by the outdoor seating area just to make conversation easier. There was plenty of seating but a lot of it along a very long couch which made it hard to see everyone to talk to them. But..this is all very minor. It was a gorgeous place. Also, the upstairs sitting area was beautiful and I had the best massage ever there!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing