We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely villas with amazing staff”
Review of Teman Desa Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teman Desa Villas
Ranked #172 of 283 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I recently stayed at Teman Desa Villas for a week. I was in villa 4 but my group had booked out all 4 villas. The villas themselves are great with nice pools and lounge areas to hang around in the day. The outdoor bathrooms are great and everything was very clean and well looked after.

The best part about the villas is the staff. All beautiful people who went out of their way to make sure we were all happy. Food was great too and the staff happy to buy any specifics for us from the market each morning.

Only downside is the villa is quite isolated. It is about a 10 minute walk to Echo beach where there are a few nice cafes but apart from that you will need to get a taxi anywhere or use a scooter.

Room Tip: Villa 4 is probably the nicest
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annam285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Teman Desa Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 34 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was my second stay at Chill Out Bali (our first was for a week) and once again the experience was exceptional. Our 4 days, with the assistance of Libby Hunter, was organised with precision and all our experiences were so memorable! On this trip we stayed in the 3 bedroomed Villa Tiga and my room was beautifully decorated with the most comfortable bed! We loved the pool and lounge area which is laid out perfectly to encourage a very social yet relaxed environment and again, it is all very beautifully decorated throughout the villa. There is also a great Spa which offers a range of treatments and I took full advantage - all which were heavenly! The staff at Chill out Bali could not be faulted - they always had a smile and no request was ever handled with less than professional efficiency and friendliness. Nicole, the manager was always on hand to help with any queries and to ensure that all our excursions and events ran smoothly.

We had a wonderful 4 nights staying at Chill Out Bali and would highly recommend it for those looking to unwind plus mix in some great shopping and restaurant experiences in nearby Seminyak!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenG010270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My family including our daughter who has just finished her last year at high school (HSC) in Australia spent a great week at Teman Desa Villas. The villa was perfect for us with teenage kids. It was walking distance to the beach, small bars and good restaurants. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas but still easily accessible by car.

All the staff were wonderful. Our meals were beautifully cooked and a driver was always on hand to take us anywhere we pleased. The layout of the villa is excellent too with the two bedrooms set on one side of the pool and living kitchen area on the other.
A great place to have fun and chill out!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillV53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A group of us came for a girls' weekend and stayed at Villa Empat (I have previously stayed in Villas Satu and Tujuh and would highly recommend these, too) and enjoyed the stay immensely. There were numerous pick up times from the airport, dinners and lunches out, plus shopping trips to coordinate and the drivers and wonderful staff made it all so easy. As usual, we felt utterly spoilt.
The surroundings are beautiful, the beds and rooms are clean and comfortable and the bathrooms are sheer luxury. I could have stayed by the pool for weeks......

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65nicnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family and I were particularly excited about visiting Bali for the first time for a friends' wedding.

Canggu was the area if the wedding location and a number of guests stayed within the Chillout villas. From pickup at the airport by our lovely driver to arrival at the Villa we were greeted with warm, friendly smiles from the staff.

The layout if the villa was a good space which we shared with another family, as we had a large sitting and pool area.

The staff went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable at every request. They even helped look after our babies when sitting for breakfast.

One disappointing area was the food. We were expecting really good quality cultural food that was packed with flavour, which it wasn't. This was a little underwhelming so we tried some external restaurant food as well.

The best meal we enjoyed at our Villa was a fresh whole fish that my husband caught one day and our cook prepared it beautifully with some sides of salad and rice.

We ate many meals at the Villa over the course of seven days and felt well and relaxed even though the family we shared with became sick while staying with us which was unfortunate.

What would I recommend? That there is a filtered water cooler and Nespresso machine upstairs in the main lounge area.

Overall, we thought the Villa space represented good value for money with a warm and friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zmantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Whether it be a group family holiday, a few friends enjoying time away together or a couple seeking time out- Chillout Bali offers something ideal for everyone in the form of luxury villa accomodation.
Having now stayed in a few Chillout Bali villas,this October I was lucky enough to stay at Villa Empat/Teman Desa and the entire experience was not only perfect on every level but highly recommended .
Guaranteed serenity,the villa offers a team of experiences home staff that can prepare meals upon request should one wish to stay at home and relax by the pool coupled with a resident driver for those occasional sightseeing day trips to neighbouring towns or local visits into Seminyak.
The kitchen area ( I surveyed post reading a previous post) was impeccably clean and the standard of hygiene and cleanliness which is paramount to me when travelling was faultless.
Make sure you order the banana pancakes for breakfast ,take a good book...and absorb the delights of what Bali offers-a perfect blend of new and old all wrapped up in the exotic aromatic delights emanating from the garden incense and surrounding garden floral dispalys. Five star rating!

Room Tip: All rooms are in excellent condition with virtually the same amenities ,I opted for the room with th...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed there recently. This villa itself is nice however, there was a fowl smell of sewerage in our room as the plumbing was blocked up. The food was below average and far from restaurant quality. The prices of meals were well above what you pay in a restaurant yet we were only supposed to be charged for produce. The hygiene in the kitchen was poor and all five of us were violently ill including my 3 year old son who was hospitalised and put on a drip. He was treated with antibiotics for E.Coli. Although, I can't say for sure it was from eating at the villa. We have stayed at five different villas in Bali and this one was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pini078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilloutbali, Owner at Teman Desa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. I would like to address your review in some detail as I don't think we are fairly represented here.
Firstly you were part of a large group booking that stayed in all 5 of our villas, you also stayed in a 4 bedroom villa with another family for 8 nights - none of whom got sick except your family. You also only ate in the villa for the first few nights then went out for your meals after that time. As you were ill at the end of your stay this would tend to suggest you most likely caught the bug from eating at another location. All our staff are well trained in safe kitchen and food preparation techniques and we only use bottled water for food prep. We do our utmost to ensure that food is safely prepared, however, in Bali (and many other developing countries) even in 5 star hotels and restaurants it is still possible to pick up a bug.
In terms of cost and quality of food, most people love our menu and eat in options. You can scan through our other reviews to see this feedback. We charge for the cost of groceries ONLY - this is reconciled with receipts from the supermarket so we cant charge any more than that. We promote that this is much cheaper than eating in a hotel or fine dining restaurant - however we are more expensive than eating at a local restaurant or warung where you are MUCH more likely to get a stomach bug. We shop for groceries at reputable supermarkets so we can ensure good food quality especially with meats.
My Operations Manager has advised me that she spoke with you several times and at no time did you bring any of these issues to her attention. In fact, the staff did everything they could to assist you and your family members that were ill. It is a shame that you could not raise these issues at the time and have now represented our accommodation in this way. I hope reviewers will read through the other posts to gain a more balanced opinion.
Regards
Libby Hunter
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#1 of 38 in Canggu
796 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#17 of 38 in Canggu
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Berawa
Villa Berawa
#2 of 38 in Canggu
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0.0 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teman Desa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teman Desa Villas

Address: Pererenan Village, Canggu 0000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 283 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range: $300 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Villas located in peaceful Pererenan Village, 25 minutes to Seminyak, 5 mins to Echo Beach. Perfect for families, groups or couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teman Desa Villas Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing