We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunshine and serenity”
Review of Teman Desa Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canggu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teman Desa Villas
Ranked #184 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My family and I were particularly excited about visiting Bali for the first time for a friends' wedding.

Canggu was the area if the wedding location and a number of guests stayed within the Chillout villas. From pickup at the airport by our lovely driver to arrival at the Villa we were greeted with warm, friendly smiles from the staff.

The layout if the villa was a good space which we shared with another family, as we had a large sitting and pool area.

The staff went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable at every request. They even helped look after our babies when sitting for breakfast.

One disappointing area was the food. We were expecting really good quality cultural food that was packed with flavour, which it wasn't. This was a little underwhelming so we tried some external restaurant food as well.

The best meal we enjoyed at our Villa was a fresh whole fish that my husband caught one day and our cook prepared it beautifully with some sides of salad and rice.

We ate many meals at the Villa over the course of seven days and felt well and relaxed even though the family we shared with became sick while staying with us which was unfortunate.

What would I recommend? That there is a filtered water cooler and Nespresso machine upstairs in the main lounge area.

Overall, we thought the Villa space represented good value for money with a warm and friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zmantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 34 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Whether it be a group family holiday, a few friends enjoying time away together or a couple seeking time out- Chillout Bali offers something ideal for everyone in the form of luxury villa accomodation.
Having now stayed in a few Chillout Bali villas,this October I was lucky enough to stay at Villa Empat/Teman Desa and the entire experience was not only perfect on every level but highly recommended .
Guaranteed serenity,the villa offers a team of experiences home staff that can prepare meals upon request should one wish to stay at home and relax by the pool coupled with a resident driver for those occasional sightseeing day trips to neighbouring towns or local visits into Seminyak.
The kitchen area ( I surveyed post reading a previous post) was impeccably clean and the standard of hygiene and cleanliness which is paramount to me when travelling was faultless.
Make sure you order the banana pancakes for breakfast ,take a good book...and absorb the delights of what Bali offers-a perfect blend of new and old all wrapped up in the exotic aromatic delights emanating from the garden incense and surrounding garden floral dispalys. Five star rating!

Room Tip: All rooms are in excellent condition with virtually the same amenities ,I opted for the room with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed there recently. This villa itself is nice however, there was a fowl smell of sewerage in our room as the plumbing was blocked up. The food was below average and far from restaurant quality. The prices of meals were well above what you pay in a restaurant yet we were only supposed to be charged for produce. The hygiene in the kitchen was poor and all five of us were violently ill including my 3 year old son who was hospitalised and put on a drip. He was treated with antibiotics for E.Coli. Although, I can't say for sure it was from eating at the villa. We have stayed at five different villas in Bali and this one was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pini078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilloutbali, Owner at Teman Desa Villas, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. I would like to address your review in some detail as I don't think we are fairly represented here.
Firstly you were part of a large group booking that stayed in all 5 of our villas, you also stayed in a 4 bedroom villa with another family for 8 nights - none of whom got sick except your family. You also only ate in the villa for the first few nights then went out for your meals after that time. As you were ill at the end of your stay this would tend to suggest you most likely caught the bug from eating at another location. All our staff are well trained in safe kitchen and food preparation techniques and we only use bottled water for food prep. We do our utmost to ensure that food is safely prepared, however, in Bali (and many other developing countries) even in 5 star hotels and restaurants it is still possible to pick up a bug.
In terms of cost and quality of food, most people love our menu and eat in options. You can scan through our other reviews to see this feedback. We charge for the cost of groceries ONLY - this is reconciled with receipts from the supermarket so we cant charge any more than that. We promote that this is much cheaper than eating in a hotel or fine dining restaurant - however we are more expensive than eating at a local restaurant or warung where you are MUCH more likely to get a stomach bug. We shop for groceries at reputable supermarkets so we can ensure good food quality especially with meats.
My Operations Manager has advised me that she spoke with you several times and at no time did you bring any of these issues to her attention. In fact, the staff did everything they could to assist you and your family members that were ill. It is a shame that you could not raise these issues at the time and have now represented our accommodation in this way. I hope reviewers will read through the other posts to gain a more balanced opinion.
Regards
Libby Hunter
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our stay at Villa Satu in July was wonderful. I wasn't sure what to expect, having never traveled to Bali before but stepping into the beautiful gardens, seeing the pool and being greeted with cool towels and fresh juice was just wonderful and set the tone for our two week stay.
The staff could not have been friendlier or more accommodating. They did everything they could to make our stay special-thinking of everything before we needed it and always with a big smile.
The villa is within a good day trip of many beautiful natural attractions and some wonderful restaurants. I have already recommended Villa Satu to my friends and they will be honeymooning there in October.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had a relaxing and restful holiday in Villa Satu in early July. The villa is very private and floating in the pool watching Balinese kites hovering in the distance was a highlight. Located on the edge of a village it is away from the crowds of Kuta and Seminyak but within short walking distance of some good cafes and the coast. The staff in Villa Satu are friendly and helpful. Excellent base for day trips to the sights and to the more touristy areas in southern Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family of 11 had a fantastic 4 days in Teman Desa. We booked the 4 bedroom villa which is beautifully kept and I must say the cleanliness is beyond words. The space is huge for the kids to run around and the pool is a real charm. Adults can just relax by the pool side while children can have their fun in the pool.
But for us, it was the staff, from the drivers during airport pick up to the service staff within the villa, that made the trip so memorable. They are really friendly, attentive and offered us countless suggestions and idea of activities we can do. My children were so happy with them that they kept on looking for "uncle" (Ary and Kodek) during the day.
Thank you Libby and Nicole, for organizing the trip for us. Our highest compliment to your staff for making this trip a unforgettable vacation for us.
A return trip in the near future? Definitely a yes!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Thank you Libby for putting together the fantastic long weekend package for us. My 3 friends and I had the 4 bedroom villa which is just so gorgeous & tranquil. The fantastic rooms with their own bathrooms and the beautiful pool and surroundings are divine. She organized for us to go to some fabulous restaurants, a great day of shopping and their lovely and very competent massage girl Sri is on hand at the villas so you dont need to venture out at all if you so wish. Their own cars & drivers are there to transport you & met us halfway thru our shopping day so we could offload our many purchases & start again (after a great lunch)!! We all had the most wonderful, fun time and are keen to get back there as soon as possible to do it all again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDYLOVESCHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 40 in Canggu
841 reviews
0 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Canggu
275 reviews
0 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Villa Berawa
Villa Berawa
#4 of 40 in Canggu
329 reviews
0 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teman Desa Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teman Desa Villas

Address: Pererenan Village, Canggu 0000, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #184 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Price Range: $300 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Villas located in peaceful Pererenan Village, 25 minutes to Seminyak, 5 mins to Echo Beach. Perfect for families, groups or couples. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teman Desa Villas Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing