We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent,helpful surf guides and very good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats
Ranked #1 of 163 Canggu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2011

quality helpful and fun surf guides ...very skilled ,very committed and better than anywhere else in bali..great food and there has always been a great vibe amongst the guests..every guest has always enjoyed their time at the chillhouse..and i,ve been back a lot to work on my surf skills..i learn more in a week at the chillhouse than a year trying to learn in australia.and always in good company of the staff and the guests..who make it a special time.the best bar none...most worthwhile and most pleasant...highly reccomended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Owner at The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

I am so happy that we could make you blossom! hahaha, more in one week with us than in a year in Australia! all the best to you and your wonderful surfing life in Perth, maybe see you around Margrets in summer! ride on, Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 379 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2011

very, very nice little paradise guest house! all the staff will constantly make you feel at home and welcome. nice fresh and organic food, lovely rooms and all the luxury you need without this posh feeling to it. very chillout indeed!
the main attraction is for sure the WORLDCLASS surfing lessons they offer!
but there's a spa zone as well and some worldclass shopping near...

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speckelfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I still dream about Chillhouse every day. Owners, Alex and Sabrina, and their staff were so helpful and sweet. I was traveling alone and the Chillhouse did a great job of paring me up with the perfect bunkmate. Their rental boards were pretty decent and their surf guides are awesome. Seriously the best vacation I have ever booked.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
Thank moniqueeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I just read those comments on the single room at The Chillhouse, complaining that it was noisy and hot. I have to say I slept like a baby. Initially I wanted to stay for two weeks and learn to surf, but then extended to two months and surfed all over Bali. That room is really good value for money. Sure, bathroom and toilet are shared, but who cares if it's way cheaper than the other options? All the rest is just as the other comments describe: excellent. Food, surfcoaching, massage treatments, and the super friendly vibe of the team including the owners Alex and Sabina. I'll be back next year for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slimjim12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We booked two months ahead after having browsed the internet and I must admit it didn't really live up to expectations upon first arrival. We were given a room in the main Chillhouse - under the roof, no windows - which meant it was very loud and very hot! We were partly disappointed because the descriptions on the website are not clear. We were happy to have booked the surf only package because we learned from other guests that they had problems fitting in their massages etc in the busy schedule. We were also not given the video coaching that was promised.

Nevertheless we quickly adapted to the situation and there are enough positive things to be said about the Chillhouse to make up for this: the food and the surf lessons are really fantastic, the overall vibe at the place is also great and the local staff is very friendly.

Price/quality ratio is definitely good. We would come again but would make sure we would have a bungalow. And don't forget those earplugs!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasteis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The Chillhouse has been an unreal experience - been here many times and will be coming back many times in the future - for sure. Owners, staff and location are outstanding. Never before have we felt so welcome and sought after. The surfing is super - heaps of waves within minutes. Also the food is delicious - price/quality ratio unreal. Good times guaranteed!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schwarzlnator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The Chillhouse is indeed a very chill place, located about 2km from the beach. I came here to surf, and there were definitely lots of opportunity for that. I'm staying in a single room in the main Chillhouse, which is very cozy - but very noisy - i hear music from downstairs, voices from staff meetings, the massage therapists chatting outdoors, and i have to share a shower on same level but run down to the downstairs bathroom. If you're squeamish about walking into a public toilet in your barefoot, definitely don't book the main chillhouse! I've checked out the bungalows and they are great (big with private verandahs, outdoor bathrooms, mini bar), as well as the rooms in the Surfer's House. It was just tough to figure out exactly what was what by the website (a clearer description - as in here's the room type, and here's the photo of said room) would go a long way in setting the proper expectations.

Overall, I would come here again, but I would definitely book ahead (it was last minute as I did not discover the Chillhouse until I was in Bali) and to make sure I got a room not in the main house (where the massage rooms, dining area, etc. are).

Also - you pay for your stay in Euros - which always provides the unhappy realization that everything is 30% more expensive in US dollars (+3% credit card transaction fee)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurfChica10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
1.6 mi away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
1.3 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 41 in Canggu
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
0.9 mi away
United Colors of Bali
United Colors of Bali
#4 of 163 in Canggu
202 reviews
1 mi away
The Calm Tree Bungalow
The Calm Tree Bungalow
#2 of 163 in Canggu
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats

Address: Jl. Kubu Manyar 22, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range: $86 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chillhouse is a surf and yoga retreat situated in Canggu amongst the rice fields on the southern shores of Bali. Our Bali Surf & yoga Retreats offer guest's quality accommodation and delicious organic meals, along with surf guiding, massage treatments, and yoga sessions. It is a place where you can indulge in an unforgettable surfing holiday, filled with endless waves and maximum comfort. The emphasis, of course, is on surfing but our retreats aren't just about chasing waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Chillhouse - Bali Surf and Bike Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chillhouse Hotel Canggu
The Chillhouse - Bali Surf And Bike Retreats Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing