We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Echo Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Bali Kubu Rama
Ranked #241 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Our family of five adults stayed at the villa for 10 nights, including Christmas. We were thrilled with our entire stay. The restaurants and cafes 100m away at Echo Beach saw us eating there most days. Sol was excellent, with Sticky Fingers offering a great rooftop view. The Beach House was always fun and we enjoyed Christmas lunch there. Very quickly you felt like this was our 'local' .

The staff (especially Manager Cinta) at the villa were always friendly, announcing themselves everytime they came into the compound to clean and assist. The villa was huge, and yes there were no televisions in the bedrooms which meant good quality family time around the pool and in the main pavillion. Wireless internet was available. Mozzies and bugs were not an issue at this time of year.

The villa is located in a quiet area, a fair way from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and Seminyak, but once our day of exploring was over it was great to come back to the peace and quiet. We hired motorbikes locally for A$8 per day which gave us a lot of freedom and fun.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Forestdale40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 37 of 37 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2008

Much could be said for staying in Changgu when you holiday in Bali, not many tourists, no touts, less hassle, cheaper prices and no terrorism concerns. On the other hand, its very quiet, no cab drivers know where to go unless you tell them 'The Beach House at Echo Beach' which is 2 minutes away, and the only thing to do nearby.
The villa is stunning, 3 x 4 bed villas (plus 1 x 1 bedroom) with separate lounge pavillions, and each with their own pools. It's hard to fault them, the downstairs rooms have outdoor bathrooms which are a turnoff for the girls, but the upstairs bathrooms are enclosed.
Rooms all lack furniture including TV's, dvd players, something to to leave your personals on. But you cant fault the TV/Dining room, which has a kitchen and is bigger than my flat! Fully equiped with pots and pans, kettle and cutlery.
Wireless internet, which they advertise as a bonus doesnt work, and like the previous comment, I spent my stay walking down to the Beach house with laptop in hand to send emails, ridiculous.
I got the same useless responses from the staff when I asked if the internet was working as my SG friend before me. But strangely the internet works fine at the Beach House even when it rains!
Outrageous $12 USD price per person to be collected by the villa staff, from the airport, we paid 130,000 all up by cab, less than $20AUD
Overall the staff are nice, but they do tend to wander into the villa when they feel like it, so dont be surprised if you are lying by the pool at 8am and the next thing the staff arrive to clean it!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2008

Have chosen to book the one bedroom villa for 4 nights because it was really cheap - had also wanted somewhere quiet to spend some quality time with my loved one. The villa offers airport transfer at USD12 per person per one way - we thought this was a little steep as you could easily get a taxi to bring you and your family there for Rp 100,000 (provided the driver knows the way).

The villa is situated in a secluded area in Canggu, which is about 45min drive from the airport and 30-40mins taxi ride (approx Rp 80,000 one way) away from Kuta Square. And because of the way off location, will suggest that you spend just one or two nights here. There are no nearby convenient stores - though, you can get the hotel staff to go get your necessities for you. There are a couple of affordable drinking places and restaurants along echo beach, which is a 5 mins walk from the villa.

Despite its slightly inconvenient location, kubu rama gives you a cozy feel. Was really happy with the condition of the villa - 3 years old but was pretty well maintained. One big drawback though - plenty of insects and bugs, even when we kept the air conditioning on and doors closed at all times. The insect repellent provided by the villa staff did not seem to work and the number of mosquitoes at night is just overwhelming (the bugs stay away in the day).

Another area of disappointment was the lack of wireless internet service. Had dropped the villa an email a couple of days before arrival to confirm the availability of wireless internet connection and the latter confirmed that they had wireless at the villa. Had then brought my laptop with me but had not once in the 5 days there, been able to connect to the internet. When I informed the front desk, they simply said the the internet was down due to the rain and suggested that if we needed internet connection, we can head down to the restaurants at echo beach. This completely did not make sense - the internet connection works fine 50 metres away but not at the villa? Anyhows, since it gets dark early in Bali, it would be nice to have connection within the villa.

Would only recommend this place for a one day stay and if you don't mind the bugs.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ydujgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We stayed at the Bali Kubu Rama at I believe was villa 3. Stayed from July 7-July 11 2008. The villa was very beautiful and very cheap when traveling in a group to split the cost. Our villa had 4 bedrooms each with en suit bathrooms and each having a king size bed. The villa had everything a villa should have, pool, day bed (quite a few actually), living room with tv, dining area, kitchen (w/ microwave, water dispencer, silverwear, pots/pans/plates, etc..).

The total cost for 4 nights and a chef to cook for us for 3 days was 1,350 USD. The only thing that kept my rating for this villa to an 'Above average' (and not and Excellent) was the water. There wasn't any hot water at all. The closest to hot the water could get was between cool and warm. Although you really don't need to take a shower in hot water in Bali, it would be nice to shower in hot water early in the morning or late in the evening.

Overall, the place was beautiful and the staff were great. Contact me if you want more info, pictures and contact numbers. I posted more pictures on derillnlailane.com/BaliHoneymoon/index.html.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dlegoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidetos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00000000000123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 40 in Canggu
841 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lv8 Resort Hotel
Lv8 Resort Hotel
#16 of 40 in Canggu
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Villa Berawa
Villa Berawa
#4 of 40 in Canggu
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
1.2 mi away
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bali Kubu Rama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bali Kubu Rama

Address: Jl. Pura Batu Mejan, Echo Beach, Canggu, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 302 Specialty Lodging in Canggu
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Bali Kubu Rama 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Bali Kubu Rama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bali Kubu Rama Hotel Canggu
Villa Bali Kubu Rama Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing