We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Heard of Mount Kelud - Now Glad That I have”
Review of Kelud Volcano

Kelud Volcano
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Kediri
Attraction details
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
454 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,111 helpful votes
“Never Heard of Mount Kelud - Now Glad That I have”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Touring Eastern Indonesia most people go to the more famous Mount Bromo, the Kelud Volcano hardly get's a mention and not many non-Indoesia visitors who are missing out!
You can drive there from Kediri in about 90 minutes, some of the views as you drive to Mount Kelud are spectacular. Once at the top you approach a large car park surrounded by shops which is not easy on the eye. Once you disembark there is a short walk to the caldera which is steaming and growing at a terrific rate every year. To obtain a better view you can climb approx 250 steep steps - we climbed half way and decided it was enough, the view were great from there. If you have the time the Kelud volcano is really worth seeing.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    40
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice walking opportunity”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Mt Kelud near the city of Kediri is a nice opportunity to enjoy nature and having a walk in the crowded island of Java. The area provides good insights into vulcanic activities. Especially since an eruption kicked up a black hill inside the caldera of Mt Kelud.
I once tried to walk completeley around the crater rim, but failed, as there are extremely steep steps that cannot be climed up and down, due to loose stones and vegatation. However, Mt Kelud offers good climbing opportunites for professionals. The track is at the wall to the right, when you enter the caldera.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Reinhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lava, hot water, view...love them all”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Mt Kelud can be reached by car from Kediri city of East Java for about 1,5hrs. Good view is welcoming us along the way up. When we get there, it's just amazing.

An ex craters now turn into a lava dome that we can approach it after passing a tunnel. If you like hiking, climb a steep steps for a better view from the top. I think it's 100-200 meters up. Before entering the tunnel, there is a steps down to the natural hot spring. Took a long way down and up again, but the environment make me easily to forget hustle. However, this might not suitable for elderly people.

Around the parking area I love to taste the traditional canapes of Mendoan whis freshly cook from the pan. May - September is the best time to visit I think. It's dry season and more chances to enjoy the great view.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank TW121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Strange hill of lava”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

It is a beautiful ride to this volcano. It is a short walk from the parking area over a road to the tunnel. On the other side of the tunnel you can see the hill of steaming lava. A path down brings you closer to the lava but not to the edge of it. The path to the edge is closed.
The best view is higher up. There goes a steep stairway up. Halfway to the top you can see the small crater lake.
Admission 10000rp pp plus 2000rp for the car.
The ride from Kediri to the volcano did take a little more than one hour. Gps -7.939794, 112.29913
The ride from this volcano via Batu to Cemoro Lawang (Bromo) did take over 8 hours including time for lunch and short photo stops.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing view of volcano...”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Views of the mountains are incredibly beautiful. you will find Children Kelud (locals call it), It is a dry lava at the crater of Mount Kelud had not erupted, forming a new hill. There are also a hot water bath.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank johnbudi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelud Volcano also viewed

 

Been to Kelud Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing