We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms - family service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenshore Apartments
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Kovalam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great rooms - family service.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for friendly, clean accommodation near to the beaches and restaurants and were not disappointed in any respect. The Greenshore staff made our stay a very happy one.

We were greeted at the airport by Sumi, a friendly driver arranged by the owners Ian and Lynne, and from the moment of our arrival we were made to feel at home by the staff and friendly atmosphere at Greenshore.

The apartment was kept immaculately clean, with bedding and towels changed daily, and the whole room smelt clean and fresh. The staff Noushad, Naz and Sindhu are very helpful, polite and friendly and go out of their way to assist usefully, from getting an Indian sim card, to making coffee or breakfast on the roof terrace, where you can sit in the open and enjoy views of the lighthouse and beach.

Ian and Lynne went out of their way to offer helpful assistance and advice when needed, or stopped for a friendly chat to share their local knowledge.

Would we go there again? Yes, we certainly would. We had a wonderfully relaxing time, and felt part of the family. We're missing it already - especially Missy the friendly dog!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    48
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
35
106
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at this great property last year , returning with our friends in February for a week.
There are four rooms , two on the first floor and two on the second with sea views . The second floor rooms are a must with great views .

The rooms are big and airy with a lovely sea breeze keeping down the temperatures in the evening . The rooms our cleaned daily , sheets and towels also daily .

The big plus about the Greenshore is the friendliness and helpfulness of staff , who are always available with a smile .

Would definitely return again

Only minor niggle is the very slow intermittent connection to wifi . The single is stronger on the first floor where the router is based . Not a big problem as most cafés have free access

Room Tip: 2nd floor have sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxwellanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at this excellent little guesthouse for three weeks in January 2014. It's quiet and well located, just minutes walk away from two beaches. Our room was clean, spacious, bright and airy with a sunny balcony and a view of palm trees and the beach. The room was cleaned every day and bed linen and towels changed daily. Breakfast is additional and is taken on the roof terrace with the view of the beach. Perhaps the nicest thing was the three Indian staff, Noshan, Naz and Sindhu. They were smiley and friendly and seemed to pop up whenever we wanted them to make us a cup of tea or arrange for some laundry to be done. If we ever go back to Kerala we will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a balcony with a view of the beach and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMK24, Owner at Greenshore Apartments, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello maxwellanderson

Many thanks for your positive review, I can only apologies for the internet connection which is beyond our control.

We have along with other users customers of Asianet experienced internet connection issues and have been in contact with the ISP on a virtually daily basis to resolve this matter even taking on a more expensive package promising better download speeds to no avail.

Unfortunately Asianet broadband has the monopoly on cable operators within Kovalam but fail to provide the service.


Regards

Ian Knox

Owner Greenshore apartments Kovalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at Greenshore Apartments in early January 2014. We had the 2 rooms on the top floor. Both rooms were quite large, with spacious, sea-view balconies, good A/C, very clean, and the only beds in India we found that were long enough for my 6' 4" husband. The mini-fridges were a great addition. We also enjoyed breakfasts on the roof terrace drinking coffee and taking in the views over Lighthouse Beach and the palm trees. The location is a 5-minute walk up the hill from Lighthouse beach and it was actually great to be a little removed from the noise of all the beachfront activity. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I think the rooms on the top floor are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank kefriebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A warm and friendly welcome from the moment i arrived at the airport from Sumi the Greenshore taxi man.

Nas, Nosha and Sindhu all did there upmost to make my stay as comfortable as possible and extremely helpful when it came to exchanging monies or buying and topping up my Indian sim card.

Also it was good to know Missy was on hand to guard the appartments....when she wasn't asleep sunbathing !!

And a big thank you to Lynne & Ian who bent over backwards (which was quite a feat !) to welcome me into their home and assist me in every way, including the lemon drizzle cake.

Thank you all very much. 5 stars !!

Hopefully see you all again soon.

Steve O'Halloran

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at Greenshore and were so impressed by the hospitality of ALL the staff who were always happy to talk with us to give us tips or make us laugh!! The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and it was only a few minutes walk to the beach. We loved the breakfast and views on the rooftop each morning.

Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Petraaeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It was my first visit to Kovalam and stay at Greenshore Apartments but I will surely come back and stay here again. The apartments are extremely clean, spacious, hot water available at all times, good wifi in the room, books available to borrow (very handy when want to chill out on a balcony or beach). Staff are extremely friendly and attentive and would help you to organise anything that may be needed e.g. recommend a restaurant or a spa, arrange a taxi (secure one in my case, as a solo traveller). At arrival I was welcomed by both a member of staff and one of the owners and it was very welcoming indeed. It may be a bit quiet place for those who come to Kovalam partying but for me it was an ideal place to stay. Thank you, Greenshore Apartments, once again and I am looking forward to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sashenka2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Kovalam
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Hotel Searock
Hotel Searock
#24 of 52 in Kovalam
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenshore Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenshore Apartments

Property: Greenshore Apartments
Address: Lighthouse Road, Kovalam 695521, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kovalam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family-run hotel near to two of India's world-renowned beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Greenshore Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenshore Apartments Kovalam, Kerala
Greenshore Apartments Hotel Kovalam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing