We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VALUE FOR MONEY HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sagara Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“VALUE FOR MONEY HOTEL”
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Nice Hotel with excellent hospitality and location. Sea Beach is visible from there extended terrace as soon one gets down from reception at grnd floor. Only rooms with 4 digit figures are having real sea view rooms and all the rooms with 3 digit figures donot have any sea view rooms. Spa charges are quite nominal. Swimming pools are also well maintained. Outside Auto stand is there also stationery shops are located for any regular items purchase.

Overall good Hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnimeshRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    198
    116
    45
    55
See reviews for
245
194
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The resort is very nice , calm and nice place to stay. Its very near to Kovalam beach, precisely 2 mins walking from the backside of hotel. Rooms are big , with wardrobes , table, chairs , nice space and big balcony, which is a perfect venue to have morning and evening tea and beach side view .
The resort is as described on the site, cozy and very comfortable. The hotel has 2 Swimming Pools (one was under construction), a very nice restaurant and warm staff. Restaurant have good meal options and a nice breakfast buffet .
All in all we found it nice place to stay and enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanika_Gupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The room was really very spacious,clean & facing sea view.The swimming pool was just outside the room.The food was ok.The management guys was very friendly & helpful especially Mr. Babu ( Manager ) & Mr. James ( Restaurant staff ).
Morning walk at the beach was an unforgetful memory with chilling wind,local boy's playing cricket & the fishermen preparing the boat for go to fishing in the sea.
Will definitely go again to this hotel if go to Kovalam.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KumarSoogomaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We were lucky to be upgraded to the super deluxe room which was nice. The 1st day all went well, the hotel owner roams around the hotel and met us, showed us the hotel, however the same eve we lost our room key on the beach as our bag got stolen. When we inform the hotel management they wanted us to pay Rs1000 which we agreed to, however next day morning they wanted double the money!! I guess we agreed to pay pretty easily therefore the greed kicked in! The food in the restaurant was decent however nothing special with limited variety and average presentation. Overall good for people travelling in budget, I however may not go there again due to my experience with the management!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelhitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

In January, 2010 I went to Kerala in search of a good Ayurvedic treatment. Ayurveda is traditional Indian medicine and Kerala is the home of Ayurveda.
My search took me to Sagara Beach Resort which has an on site Ayurveda Centre. I went with my mother and we had excellent remedial treatment for two weeks during which time we both experienced significant health benefits.
Our suite at Sagara was spacious and extremely clean. We had cable television and our own balcony from which we had a terrific view of Kovalam Beach which is a major tourist destination in Kerala.
The restaurant served fantastic Indian meals, and also meals for foreigners who preferred continental food.
The staff were extremely friendly and anxious to please. Furthermore, they treat their guests like old friends. We were so impressed we came back for more treatments six months later, in August, 2010!
A lot had changed in the interim and the hotel had had a big face lift in those six months. The foyer was much more spiffy and there was a new, very elegant swimming pool.
Everything else was exactly as before.
There was great excitement while we were there as a movie scene was filmed in the hotel foyer during our visit.
As a guest at the hotel the only choice you need to make is whether to come in January/February where being summer, it is extremely hot, or in July/August when it is cooler due to monsoonal weather. However, the beach can only be accessed in summer as monsoonal weather churns it up and makes it impossible to swim in.
Both my mother and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sagara and found it to be extremely good value. If you undertake their Ayurvedic treatment programme you might even return healthier than when you left. We did!
We were also told by British people we met that they travel to Trivandrum, which is the capital of Kerala and only a taxi ride away, for new glasses and dental treatment which is a fraction of the cost in England.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamnagar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Sagara Beach Resort, Kovalam: Situated at sea beach
We booked this hotel for our romantic trip to Kerala in Jan'10. Our tour guide suggested this hotel to stay in Kovalam. We stayed there for 2 days and 03 nights. Stay there was awesome. The hotel is situated on sea beach. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good and the distance to the beach is limited. From our room, we were getting sea facing view. Room was pretty much decorated. Everything was put at right place. Housekeeping of the room was excellent. Everything was neat and clean.

Room service facility for food is bit costly because they charge extra price for it. But you can have food at restaurant itself, which is well furnished and you can have sea facing view while having your food. Food quality was good. Hotel staff was very decent and cooperative.

Ayurvedic massage center is also available in the hotel where you can rejuvenate yourself. Ayurvedic doctors are available for consultation.

Stay in this hotel was value for money. I would recommend it for other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pankaj_meta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Me and my wife went for the first time to Kerala and it was such a wonderful experience starting from our Hotel itself.
The very first sight at the hotel appeared to be a good hotel and as soon as you enter the room, you just say wow with like a hall like room with all basic amenities: AC/TV/FRIDGE and moreover a sofa set.
This is not all, a spacious balcony facing the beach is just what I wanted.
Excellent hospitality and soft spoken staff is a great plus point.
Plenty full of food quantity with a great multicuisine taste is what I could not resist.
A must stay for me,,,whenevr I go to Kerala Again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayDeeIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.1 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
3.3 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagara Beach Resort

Property: Sagara Beach Resort
Address: Light House Road | Vizhinjam P.O., Thrivandrum, Kovalam 695 521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagara Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sagara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagara Beach Hotel Kovalam
Sagara Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing