We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Kerala”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sagara Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went here from Poovar Island and we were given a very warm welcome. Their hospitality was unbeatable, so was the food. The best thing we loved was the room and it's view of the beach. The swimming pool was very relaxing. The reception people was very very helpful in guiding us on various activities.. And on the whole must say - it is really "God's own country"..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SusmitS_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Sagara Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 561 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We came here from a Allapy house boat. This was our last destination in Kerala.The resort is situated at very narrow streets but as we entered in the resort lobby was very big and the view from the lobby was spectacular. Our room was at Ground floor room was spacious and it was a pool view room. Beach was near to the resort. Food was OK not so tasty. Staff was very helpful and courteous. I will recommend this resort to my friend also.

Room Tip: Room with Sea facing
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MANISH_GAYATRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

had to book into the hotel as he place we were meant to be staying at had cancelled at last minute and recommended Sagara. Was shown to a room and asked if it was ok. Room was quite big, had a small balcony, AC, tv, fridge. Staff all seemed nice. Later found out tv didn't work & despite reporting it to reception it wasn't fixed.

Outside areas if hotel are completely run down, pool beds looked like they may collapse if you sat on them. It's a bit of a maze to get to the beach & not even worth it when you get there - Worse than any other beach I've ever been to, black & polluted, dogs scavenging around and eating all sorts of crap. Plenty of locals playing in the water, little shops & loads of restaurants.

The hotel Bar was cheap but boiling hot so you couldn't sit in there as it was unbearable.

Breakfast was horrendous. Buffet style, not sure how long everything had been left out for, warm juice, Toast that was like chewing gum & a selection if Indian dishes. Didn't want to risk getting ill so We left straight away.

Only good thing about the hotel is that you can watch sunset from the balcony.

Wouldn't recommend this hotel or anywhere else on lighthouse beach. Worst experience of our lives.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second visit to the Sagara Beach Resort, this time was as good as last year if not better, the staff are really friendly and genuinely warm, from the managing director to the cleaners the managing director interacts with the guests and makes time to chat and ask if you are enjoying your holiday and if you need anything. the restaurant staff are very attentive without being intrusive so thank you sabu and your team are a credit to you, the food is delicious and we did not have one complaint about any of it and no upset stomachs which is a big bonus.
they have an spa which is run by a husband and wife team they are lovely people and are very good at what they do, very impressed will def be back next year for more treatments.
the bedrooms are very comfortable and they are cleaned daily you have tea and coffee making facilities which is a rarity in india most of the rooms have a pool view and sea view
well not much else I can say really but ask the question will I return a third time.?....... try and stop us
thank you sagara for a lovely holiday again and we will see you all very soon
Gillian and Trevor room 3006

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the hotel look on to the pool and have a sea and lighthouse view
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillys O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights recently and found it as an excellent location. Staff are polite and helpful. Make sure to carry your pool costumes. Massage center staff is really good. They do a very good job for reasonable rates. Abhyanganam (full body massage) & steam bath is recommended. Restaurant is good for buffet breakfast & buffet dinner, but only reasonable on a la carte menu. You will not find lot many options. When you want to pay by card, make sure your card is accepted at the time of check-in itself. You may face surprizes at checkout time otherwise. Be very clear about your checkout time especially if you need some extra time after checkout standard time (12 noon). They messed up my checkout time, but did offer another room for few extra hours.

Room Tip: Look for rooms on ground floor 1004-1007. They are really big, two rooms interconnected, open back d...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel was booked by me through a travel service provider via.com for me elderly parents. We were promised a room on the 2nd floor with the sea view however, the room that was given to my parents was on the ground floor without any sea view.

Room Tip: Please be very aware of the room you choose.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Sagara Beach resort is located at a very strategic location giving you a beautiful view of Kovalam beach from the rooms. The dining is also well placed. My friends who has fish dishes there said they were value for money.

all in all value for money and worth checking out.

PS As I understood this hotel has been built from 8 rooms to multi-stoery resort by the owner who hails from a small family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UnmeshGurjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Searock Beach Resort
Searock Beach Resort
#27 of 52 in Kovalam
98 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagara Beach Resort

Address: Light House Road | Vizhinjam P.O., Thrivandrum, Kovalam 695 521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $46 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagara Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sagara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagara Beach Hotel Kovalam
Sagara Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing