We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3rd class,shady hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sagara Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3rd class,shady hotel!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

12 of us family members stayed at this resort from 26-28 Dec 2012.It was the worst kind of nightmare for us.Everything was bad from service , ambiance,hygiene levels,the staff behavior was at its worst.
1)my mom in law ordered tea at 7.15 27th morng and was told no room service can be done as buffet breakfast has started.on 28th morng she ordered tea at 6.30 am but was told the guy has not reached so no room service.The reception guy said it was not his problem.we had to reach reception in our night suits to order morning tea.After tempers went loud,tea finally arrived at 8 am.
2)the room werent cleaned properly.we went to the beach on 26th eveng so the bed had some beach sand .even after the room was cleaned the next day the bed was full of sand and just neatly covered with a blanket.
3)there were spiders in the bathroom.
4)the topping on the cake was when we were leaving because we complained of bad service and demanded to meet the GM,one of the staff tried to show us some MUSCLE POWER and pick a physical fight.On finally speakg to the GM (who was on leave that day) he said it was not his problem and offered us a discount.
MORAL OF THE STORY:ITS A SHABBY,FILTHY, SICK PLACE and please book another hotel if you have a choice.TRIPADVISOR:pls delist the hotel

Room Tip: just dont choose this resort..its not a resort its a third class shady hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gul1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    197
    116
    45
    54
See reviews for
243
192
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We got Sea View A/C room of Sagara Beach Resort by Paradise holidays. We had a wonderful stay here. The resort was real cool and rooms were great. The bathroom was sparkling clean and our room faced the sea and there is a sit in balcony which is also quite spacious. Loved the place with the sea roaring away at night. lovely stay. very near to kovalam beach.

Room Tip: Try to Get room with Beach Facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bajajhiteshster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have been to Sagara Beach Resort on the 19th Dec & 20th Dec 2012 and our experience was horrible. The rooms are not maintained properly, staff do not understand what is meant by hospitality. Rooms are of low grades, I do not understand how still they call them self as a 3 Star category hotels. However the food prices are too high for the standard currently maintained. I stayed in many star hotels, however have never experienced such a worst service. I would strongly recommend never stay in this hotel, there are other better hotels in Kovalam.

Room Tip: Never book a room in Sagara Beach Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilip1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Noida, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

i went here in November if you don't get a room with the sea view other rooms specially those in basement are pathetic ,room service is pathetic food is although good breakfast menu is exhaustive.
same goes for lunch and dinner.
beach is quite near by.
light house too.
Swimming pool is fine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Big Name, Low Quality.
heard much about it.. but the resort is poorely maintained and not well managed.
I celebrated Christmas eve this year 2012 in the resort, The staff were confused and were not able to handle the guests in the hotel. The rooms were dirty, and NOT well maintained.
The only good thing in Hotel is Sight, view is good. Thats It...!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniket v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is good hotel overall. Rooms are basic with balcony attached. But overall service is very good. Clean place and near to lighthouse beach. The food and ambiance are good. We also had a candle light dinner here. Good Experience. The restaurant is good. Only one tip to hotel is that dont keep the candle light dinner balcony as due to air the candle lights off.

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony and balcony facing the swimming pool. The view in the night will be good fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiteshY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent location & pathetic, horrible, terrible, very poor is the service. If you order for food then be ready to wait for 1 hour & by chance if you order cold drink with the food then wait for another hour.

Would never ever recommend anyone to stay. The staff doesn't know what hospitality is, worst service.

Please contact me if anyone thinks of booking this hotel. NEVER EVER STAY HERE

Room Tip: If you dont want to order food or avail any service then can stay but otherwise its nightmare. BEWAR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gauravanandgurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagara Beach Resort

Property: Sagara Beach Resort
Address: Light House Road | Vizhinjam P.O., Thrivandrum, Kovalam 695 521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagara Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sagara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagara Beach Hotel Kovalam
Sagara Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing