We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sagara Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Noida, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“its very average”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

i went here in November if you don't get a room with the sea view other rooms specially those in basement are pathetic ,room service is pathetic food is although good breakfast menu is exhaustive.
same goes for lunch and dinner.
beach is quite near by.
light house too.
Swimming pool is fine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    198
    116
    45
    55
See reviews for
245
194
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Big Name, Low Quality.
heard much about it.. but the resort is poorely maintained and not well managed.
I celebrated Christmas eve this year 2012 in the resort, The staff were confused and were not able to handle the guests in the hotel. The rooms were dirty, and NOT well maintained.
The only good thing in Hotel is Sight, view is good. Thats It...!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniket v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kovalam hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is good hotel overall. Rooms are basic with balcony attached. But overall service is very good. Clean place and near to lighthouse beach. The food and ambiance are good. We also had a candle light dinner here. Good Experience. The restaurant is good. Only one tip to hotel is that dont keep the candle light dinner balcony as due to air the candle lights off.

Room Tip: Take a room with balcony and balcony facing the swimming pool. The view in the night will be good fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiteshY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Excellent location & pathetic, horrible, terrible, very poor is the service. If you order for food then be ready to wait for 1 hour & by chance if you order cold drink with the food then wait for another hour.

Would never ever recommend anyone to stay. The staff doesn't know what hospitality is, worst service.

Please contact me if anyone thinks of booking this hotel. NEVER EVER STAY HERE

Room Tip: If you dont want to order food or avail any service then can stay but otherwise its nightmare. BEWAR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gauravanandgurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location. Deluxe rooms are ok type. Breakfast was horrible and definitely the worst, we found in our 10 days trip to Kerala. I was surprised to see a rat in my room. Terrace provided with room was big and useful. Facilities provided in the room was not up to the mark. Locational advantage is the only plus point with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rajeevtiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
460 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel is located a block from the actual beach but it is only a 3 minute walk. They have two pools and provide pool / beach towles for their guests. The pools were full of kids so we headed to the beach. AC only fair and is off from 7-10pm. Staff is friendly but won't fix anything. The maid failed to relock our door after cleaning, but we did not have any problems. Breakfast is fair at best. If you are insistent and paitent, you can get a plain omlett for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel in my total 10 days trip to "God's Own Country" left a black spot for ever.The Travel agent,Taxi,Driver,Road discipline,Cleanliness,Nature all you think was wow,but this hotel....
First time I found the hotel reception who filled up my form was without uniform & looking like a contract labour.
Restaurant is on contract & many contractors stand starring at the lady guests & plates of customers.They do not have a toaster & pour tawa toasted breads in volume as if you feed a herd of cattle.
Catering staffs are hand picked from street side to meet two times food.
Food is such that every dish is redefined in Tamil.

If you call reception or room service they will attack you with a sharp "Hellow"

We stayed in a good sea view room for 3 miserable days from 24th to 26th & returned with a horrible experience.
Even the house keeping is sub let to a shabby group of ladies & they express their mercy by cleaning your room. Nothing you find in your bath room other than two towels & a shampoo.

You shall have to clean your own commode if you stay long.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDHAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.1 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
3.3 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagara Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagara Beach Resort

Property: Sagara Beach Resort
Address: Light House Road | Vizhinjam P.O., Thrivandrum, Kovalam 695 521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagara Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sagara Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagara Beach Hotel Kovalam
Sagara Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing