We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel staff”
Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sands
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed April 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Golden Sands Beach Resort in Decemeber
last year and we had a fantastic time. The hotel itself has fairly basic room's that are clean and tidy with good a/c if you choose to have it. There is a very convenient Ayurvedic centre on the top floor
of the hotel at very reasonable prices, we had 5 or 6 different massages/treatments in the 2 weeks we stayed there. The best part of our stay in this hotel was the staff, they were great. We ended up booking a couple of trips through the hotel which were fantastic and less than half the price of Thomas Cook !!! There is a very nice restaurant which is a taxi/tuktuk trip away called The Lobster Pot which we highly recommend. I recommed this hotel. It's a short walk to the beach through shaded walkways and it's a lovely quiet resort.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank sfking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2006

The Golden Sands, Kovalam.
Set back from the beach away from any roads and shaded by palm trees, this was the perfect place to relax and enjoy warm Indian hospitality.
My daughter and I found the accommodation, while fairly simple, to be clean and comfortable, and the standard of cooking was superb. The sparkling pool was always inviting.
The friendly staff went out of their way to be helpful and were very resourceful in providing taxis and advice about the best places to visit.
This was my fourth trip to Kovalam (so I am a bit biased) but the chilled atmosphere around the beach during the day and evening is balm to the soul. Try walking through the local villages, take a boat trip along the backwaters, or if you are missing city life grab a rickshaw and head for Trivandrum.
Further afield Cochin is worth visiting for a couple of days to catch a Kathakali performance and some live music. Catch the train there to experience rail travel, you won't be disappointed.
I can't wait to get back there.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
24  Thank ipy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, traveled with friends
Thank namaste888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anta07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz93059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Flower Beach Resort
Sea Flower Beach Resort
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 52 in Kovalam
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
94 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#36 of 52 in Kovalam
47 reviews
1.3 mi away
White House Beach Resort
White House Beach Resort
#32 of 52 in Kovalam
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Address: Light House Beach | Thiruvananthapuram, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $15 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing