We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Seashore Stay”
Review of Golden Sands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Sands
Ranked #34 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Golden Sands Beach Resort is good resort available on Kovalam Beach. I spent four memorable days of my life there, 27-30 November, 2012.
About Hotel:
The hotel is located near to the Light House Beach. The distance is walkable through small walkable Passage, but the sea is not visble from the resort. The Passage is dark in the night time and you may feel scary.
Location:
From TVC railway station, the distance is 20 KM approx. The taxi fare to the resort from TVC station is 650/-. An auto will cost you around 250/- maximum. For those who want to stay near beach, this is a good choice, however there are many other resorts available which is closer. If you think about cost, more or less, all are same. The non-ac room that I stayed in costed me 1100/day including breakfast.
Hotel Staff:
Hotel staffs are helpful. They let you know everything that you want to know about the nearby places and other information.
Food:
I have not ordered food in the resort, therefore no idea about that. The breakfast that we had during our stay was not impressive. The reason may be difference in taste from North India.
Room Service:
Room service was quick.But after 11 PM, it was unavailable.
Advice:
If you are visiting in November, go for AC rooms. You cannot bear the humidity of November. I was really surprised.
Room Tip:
All rooms are good. They face swimming pool availale in the resort. So, it provides a nice view.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amitabh_kishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Golden Sands
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 70 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The staff are really friendly here and the food was good. Plus the pool was clean and refreshing (though surrounded by uncomfy or broken loungers). The rooms were quite old and basic, thin pillows, ugly bathrooms. Nice balcony. The route to get to the beach was easy but a bit grim. The price is very good, though, and the staff and service so nice that it's worth staying here if you can overlook the other stuff.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellingCdnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank JAYAKUMAR M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We are a family with two small kids. We stayed at golden sands for a week. The staff is very helpful and nice. The restaurant is fine. The pool is excellent. It is well located, just a few minutes walk from the beach. The route to the beach is dark at night, but other then that it is fine. We stayed during off season and the price was reasonable. I would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Quiet, clean and cheap with friendly staff, pool and WiFi. What do you need more ? Perhaps having not only pineapple fresh juice at breakfast!
Despite monsoon season, we could safely swim in the waves of Kovalam beach. Malabar Café is definitively the best place for good Indian food on beachfront.

Room Tip: Room at first floor are the best one
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is very near to the Kovalam beach, but it would be quiet tricky to reach the beach. The hotel itself is quiet tricky to reach, you need to walk atleast 600 meters in the narrow lanes before you reach the hotel, but this is not a very hard. The rooms are very good and bathroom was hygienic.The service was very good I would rate is 5 star because even the dinner buffet closes at 10.30pm on my request it was closed at around 11.30 on my request. The food was good and tasty. Even they allowed me to swim in the pool on request in the non-working hours. The staff was very good and friendly. The next time I go to Kovalam this is the place where I am staying.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sai Karthik Red... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

this time when i visit i saw a drastic change,a new restaurant came it is awesome..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_jhons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thushara Hotel
Thushara Hotel
#19 of 52 in Kovalam
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sea View Palace
Hotel Sea View Palace
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park International Kovalam
Park International Kovalam
#35 of 52 in Kovalam
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Flower Beach Resort
Sea Flower Beach Resort
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maharaju Palace
Maharaju Palace
#12 of 52 in Kovalam
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands

Address: Light House Beach | Thiruvananthapuram, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $18 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Sands 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Golden Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing