We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thapovan Heritage Home
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Thapovan was our first stop for our 18 day trip to Kerala. We had 3 days here and it was just what the (Ayurvedic) doctor ordered. Set in a stunningly natural location at the end of a beach the coconut grove is a shady paradise close to the busy beach town of Kovalam but well enough away from the centre to be perfectly relaxing. We had Ayurvedic massage and treatments every day which put us on the Indian pace of life immediately. If you haven't had this type of massage before then this is the place to try it.
We booked rather last minute and being over Christmas and Boxing Day we didn't get the best rate possible but we still felt it was good value. The food was good overall (though not nearly as good as we found elsewhere) and the staff were very pleasant, helpful and good natured. The icing on the cake was the free violin concert by some amazing classical Indian musicians on Christmas Day. We weren't sure what to expect but we were totally blown away! At 90 minutes it was a full on concert and the standard was extremely high, this was no hotel band.....I just need to find out what their names are!
Great memories, we will be back.

Room Tip: Thapovan has 2 locations, a few minutes apart, make sure you stay at the beach resort.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spencer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Thapovan Heritage Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 113 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this resort in December 2012 for two days. This resort is divided into the hillside property and the beach facing cottages. We stayed in a beach facing cottage which was overlooking the sea and could see the beach from the bed inside our room. This resort is predominantly meant for ayurvedic massage treatments and hence lacks the basic entertainment facilities like a TV and even a swimming pool. The restaurant is decent and the staff courteous. We even tried the general body massage here which I felt was a little overrated. The rooms were nice but the bathroom fitting could have been better.
Overall a nice resort and a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderer1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

A beautiful heritage hotel, set by the beach among coconut palms. A very relaxing and peaceful place to recharge the batteries. The massages and treatments are a must. The staff are professional and very friendly. We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed in Thapovan Heritage Home for 2 nights in Dec 2012. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation on the beach away from the crowds, this might just be the place for you. The staff is very cordial. They have two sets of properties - one on the hillside and one by the beach. Both have great views. The rooms are adequate, not very luxurious but that is made up for by the views. The beach is very isolated and private. Apart from this, you would also find Ayurvedic services as this is essentially and Ayurveda resort, although they are a little pricey. The food is reasonably priced and you can find a wide variety - from vegetarian to sea food. All in all, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose "Eagle's Nest" as it is right by the beach
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akshay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A lovely resort, with a well-kept property. The property is filled with trees and is just on the beach. The greenery of the property is a feast to the eye. The beach in front of the resort is almost like a private beach. Since it is far from the Kovalam beach, it is free from the hustle bustle of Kovalam. We had been there in the month of November. We spent hours lazing on the sun deck just watching the majestic waves lash by on the sea shore. There were a lot of exotic birds on the property also. The restaurant has a few option of sea food. All the things on menu were not be available with them. You will have to order them in advance so that they can get the fresh items from the market.
They have two properties. One is the Beach property and the other Hill property. The beach property is the better one. The hill property is situated a little distance from the beach but you can always ask them to give you a lift to the beach property. We had to go to the hill property for the check-in formalities. We were warmly greeted by the manger there. A refreshing fresh tender coconut was served to us as the welcome drink. After completing the check-in procedure we were escorted to their beach property in a car.
All the rooms in the beach property are non A/C rooms. So if you are looking for a AC room you will have to choose one from the hill property. But to be frank we never felt the need of AC since the rooms had high wooden ceiling and were totally surrounded by green trees. The rooms were huge with lovely decors.
The gates to the beach remain open till 11 at night. There is also a night guard who keeps an eye so that no unwanted incidents take place.
I have only one suggestion to the management. It would be really nice if you could clean the beach in front of the resort.

Room Tip: Try staying at the beach property
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prynkray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed with my russian friends from siberia for 3 nights. We stayed on the hill side cottages for 2 nights and 1 night at beach side. The rooms are small but we hardly stayed in them except to sleep. Food was really good. We didn't take the ayurvedic treatment so couldn't comment on that. The best part was the morning yoga. An excellent yoga master Mr Satish. Had a great time. Also Mr Sreekant of Thapovan was always there whenever we needed. Beach is really wonderful. Although it is a public beach, the public doesn't have access to it !!!! so it is like a private beach. You cannot get to see a clean beach in kovalam so this place is the BEST place if you want to have the beach as well as quite holiday. Thanks thapovan and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: I personally preferred the hill side cottages. You can always go to the beach side whenever you wan...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TRAVEL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent two delightful days in Tapovan during September 2011 in the sea side cottage. As it was off season, the other two rooms in our cottage were empty and gave us full control over the grounds and hammock which means a lot if you don't want to go down to the beach during the day. One can say that the private beach is the trump card for this property as you can spend all your day down there without much disturbance. The restaurant provides very good food; our dinner at the hilltop restaurant was the cherry on the cake. I still dream of going back....and yes, never, ever miss the sunset...it will stay with you forever...

Room Tip: Sea side cottages give the best view; but, the floor tend to be damp throughout the day. The seaside...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nayanarenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
2.2 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
968 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
347 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
3.0 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thapovan Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thapovan Heritage Home

Address: Nellikunnu, Mulloor P.O | Thiruvananthapuram District, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $34 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thapovan Heritage Home 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thapovan Heritage Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thapovan Heritage Home Hotel Kovalam
Thapovan Heritage Home Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing