We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Curry Leaf a super find in Kovalam”
Review of Curry leaf

Curry leaf
Ranked #4 of 64 Restaurants in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Curry Leaf a super find in Kovalam”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Curry Leaf is more of a café then a restaurant in our view. We found this place quite by accident whilst walking/ exploring the stretch of beach by the Samudra hotel. Our first visit was their Keralan evening. When booking we were promised a free tut-tut to ferry us across the path towards the restaurant at night which was poorly lit. This arrived on time outside our hotel, The Leela. The traditional meal was served on plantain leaves. The meal consisted of lentils, fish, a meat dish, a veg dish, chapatis and a rice dessert. The meal was delicious. Following that visit we ate lunch there on several occasions. We ate snacks or fish curries, and tasty breads, all freshly and beautifully prepared. Excellent and welcoming service. The access was up a cliff path which could be a problem for people with limited mobility. Otherwise a lovely location. All round a great find. Dinner cost about £10 a head including a drink. Lunch cost £5 including a drink.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma K, Owner at Curry leaf, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear customer

Thanks for your great review about the Curry leaf . we're open very newly last year 2013 Jan. our aim to deliver fresh dishes every days and we're so glad to hear that you had enjoyed your whole meals those days you were at curry leaf, Many thanks form Curry leaf for your support and visit hope to see you again;
many thanks
Joy+ Emma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    88
    20
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford Essex
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best view in Kovalam”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This restaurant has only been open 6 months but is one of the best in town. We had our best meals here on our visit to Kovalam March 2014. The vegetarian dishes are superb and the portion sizes are huge. The view from the top level is simply the best view in Kovalam. Sadly this restaurant is not suitable for people who have mobility problems as you have to climb quite steep 'steps' up the hillside of Samudra Beach. The huge plate of Paneer Butter Masala was delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank curlylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Curry Leaf”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a new clean building, which has fantastic views over the beach near the small Mosque. The approach is either via a longer climb via the car park, or you can follow the gravelled path around and there is a rock staired climb which is more direct.
The Staff are pleasant greeting you and indeed helping you up the pathway should you stray a little.
As I mentioned earlier, this is a clean modern place set on two levels, with ceiling fans on both. the upper level has a metal vaulted ceiling.
The food was consistently good. If you have not brought a torch(essential in India)the staff will guide you after dark by torch light and a mains powered electric standing light which is illuminated on the gravel pathway in the evenings

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony_cass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice food”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

At Samudra beach, ate there a couple of times, the food was good and it had a great view from upstairs, they even offer a FREE a pick up and drop off from your hotel.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Needs to up its game.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This restaurant is new and maybe the lack of experience lets it down in an area where there are some very good restaurants.
The location is nice and the service excellent. The food was good but compared to other meals we had on this trip it lacked depth of flavour.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank telali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry leaf also viewed

Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Curry leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing