We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed January 25, 2011

The hotel is in a very good location. It is on the beach and there are pleasant restaurants and shops just outside of the hotel if you want to explore the area. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is well-maintained and all the facilities were in good working order. The only dificulties we had were that the hotel forgot to collect us from the airport but there are plenty of taxis available as well as a pre-paid taxi office if you do not wish to negotiate over the price. Also, the shower head kept falling off in our bathroombut this just gave the hotel extra cleaning to do rather than cause us any dificulty.

We would recommend the hotel and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryMinuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,722)
There are newer reviews for Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,436 - 1,442 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

We only had a brief stay at this hotel as we were in Transit, so this is really just some brief comments based on initial impressions.

The location is indeed superb and the complex has its own gated access to the beach. For those of you arriving for the first time you’ll see a security guard at the gate and a small crowd of hawkers ready to try and sell you something. Don’t be put off though as the beach is excellent. The spacious grounds and sparking pools offers a nice alternative to the public beach if it gets too crowded.

We took an ocean-view room which was spacious and comfortable although the plug socket for the kettle was broken and the A/C motor bearings were on their way out. The bath tiles were grubby and grout mouldy in places – perhaps a constant battle in the tropics but we have seen cleaner examples elsewhere. The food in the restaurant we tried was very poor and overpriced in comparison with what we had enjoyed outside. The hotel shop concession charged about three times a much for the same item we purchased in a store outside so do try to go shopping elsewhere if you can.

The health spa was exemplary and our relaxation massages were probably the best we have had anywhere. Likewise the hotel laundry service was quick and effective. Rooms were noisy, but we found this is typical in India and wonder if it is the construction methods employed there. Beds and pillows were excellent.

So, well worth considering for use before or after your flights from TRV. If you stayed there for your whole time in Kerala we think you’d miss out on the rich adventure that travelling in India still is. Staff were very helpful but for us the food was particularly disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank always-the-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

From the moment we arrived on the 27th December until our departure on 8th January 2011 we had an absolutely fantastic holiday. The Staff are charming, friendly and incredibly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel extremely welcome by all. We had an Exotica Atrium room which was superb. A spacious room (away from the pool ) overlooking the garden. Ideal for us in middle age who have 'been there and done it' with our own children and now look for a little tranquility! Throughout , the hotel was clean and comfortable. The location is great. Many restaurants on the beach, try Ocean Breeze, if it's not on the menu, ask and Ajesh the owner will oblige!
We look forward to returning to the Uday Samudra in the future. Super hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lin34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The hotel itself was ok, some of the staff were very friendly but most of the staff in the restaurants were rude. On the last day I got food poisoning from one of the hotel restaurants so while checking out I complained to Mr [-] (Assistant Front Office Manager) who told me " this is your health problem, not the food”.

UNTIL THEY SORT OUT THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND FOOD STANDARDS, STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED !!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank KamranA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmuds, General Manager at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2011

Respected Sir,

You wrote us a E-mail regarding this matter and i replied back to you.
When you were staying here there were 450 guests staying with us.
We checked on all our guests and we got no other complaints.
We informed you about that but you were not satisfied and you wanted 50% discount on your whole stay including the room.
When we refused you threatened us that if we don't give you that you will write in Tripadvisor!
Now you have done that mentioning our Asst. Front office manager who has been with us for last 3 years!
What our manager told you was that since you were on bed & breakfast, there is a possibility that it could have happened when you ate outside the hotel and also that some people has problems digesting spicy food.

On an average we have 300 guests per day and we are one of the best hotels in Kovalam.
We rarely have any complaints about bad food and on this particular day there was no other complaints.

Hope we have answered to your satisfaction.

Thank You

Best Regards

Antony Johnson Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel has an exceptional location 10 mtrs from beach. It has three very welll manitained pools. It was gym, spa, sauna bath also. The rooms and very good. We stayed in Presidential Suite which was spacious and Plush. Three resturant are good specially the sea food resturent Grill. Complementry Gym, Suana bath and WiFi is available. Dont forget to negotiate a good deal specially in off seasons. If you are a family of 4 then I recommend you stay in Presidential Suite.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manishjnewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We were spendimg an extended weekend at the Samudra before I had to start off for official meetings in Trivandrum. Unfortunately, the stay was far away from what we expected, above all for the price we had to pay.
The clearest example is the service. The toilet in our room did not work properly. Even though we had told the front desk about this problem, it has not been solved over the 3 days - the toilet could not be repaired, and we also did not get another room.
The food in the restaurant does not match the standard of hotels of the same category in India. The variety is not too big and did not offer a great choice of local food.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Travelcouple84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We travelled around Kerela for three weeks at christmas staying at three hotels. The other two were 5 star rating, but i found this 4 star rated hotel the best for location, amenities and service. We had the suite facing opposite the beach which was no more than 15 metres to the sand, the beach itself was also secluded compared to other beaches we visited in Kovalam. Excellent service from staff especially one member called Naveen who would sort out any queries without delay.
Kids enjoyed the swimming pool which had a bar next to it so they could order drinks without getting dry!. My wife enjoyed the beauty parlour.
Also as a final note, this is certainly the place we will return to in future visits to Kerela.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
968 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
563 reviews
1.5 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $61 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing