We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best holiday to date......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Kovalam
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best holiday to date......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

Just returned back yesterday from this resort which was fantastic! You can google it on line and visit their website which is true and accurate.
Had an amazing 2 weeks of peace, relaxation, comfort, good food, good weather and great people.
I booked this through Kerala Holidays www.keralaholidays.co.uk and the owner Roy who lives in Kerala arranged the perfect holiday at a great price. I will be back next year and would reccomend doig the same. Both he and his family were amazing.
From ariving at Triv airport with the waiting taxi to coming home the holiday was planned and executed brilliantly!

The hote itself is fab - doesnt feel too big - has three great pools - fab service - no idea why people put on here they got poor service???? If you say hello and smile and the staff they say hello and look after you.
The pool man was amazing! Very kind and accomodating.

Hotel facilities were great - very secure with guards at front - back and on the top floor of the landings making sure you were safe at all times.

Cleanliness was spot on - no idea again on cleaning comments on here as they were cleaning everything all the time making the place beautiful 24/7
Good food - no upsets at all.

Love it and will be back next year!

I travelled alone however there were couples, families, something for everyone!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    590
    255
    111
    106
See reviews for
551
605
42
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2009

Looking at previous review, people seem to either love or hate this place. I stayed there recently with friends, and we all had fantasic accommodation (block 8), and the facilities were very good. Food in the restaurants was fine (they even gave us a load of vouchers on arrival for evening meals even though we were B&B only).
Pools are lovely and never too busy, and it's just a short hop down to Kovalam beach. There are also some very decent restaurants and a couple of bars just outside the hotel.
All staff are very helpful, especially the guy whose sole job seems to be to look after the pool table!
This was our 4th trip to India - I love to go to new and exotic places, but every 4 or 5 years I feel the draw and have to go back to India - I'd stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tri2hard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

Just returned from Uday Samudra hotel and what a lovely hotel it is .Staff couldn't do enough for you .Sometimes slow but you are in India .Lovely big room ,Clean towels and bed linen every day .Kettles in room .Tea and coffee replenished every day .No hair dryer. 3 pools plenty of sun beds with towels for everybody no need to take own beach towels.Food in hotel very good .Breakfast ,Indian buffet ,plus eggs however u want them.toast jam etc.Dinner at night was indian buffet food was very good but not much if you didn't like spicy plenty of places to eat with excelant food .5 mins in a TukTuk to lighthouse beach where there was many more eating places .Kingfisher Restaurant was excellant best Prawns we have ever had
Arrange trips with Girish from Golden India Travel agent around the corner from Ocean Blue Restaurant and bar best of all the quotes we got for Houseboat Trip make sure boat and taxi to Alleppey is A/C ESSENTIAL. We had 2nights on boat as when you have just 1 you board at 12 noon and leave at 9am next morning .Not long enough we thought . The OCEAN BLUE RESTAURANT has a live band on a Wednesday and welcome volunteer artists .There was a young Russian boy on when we were there and he was absolutely fantastic. He brought the house down. Something nice to say about them for a change.
Hope you all enjoy it as we did

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillygilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

My wife an I have been visiting Kovalam for 9 years, each January staying every time at the Uday Samudra. In Dec 08 we went for a week on a cheap late deal with Thomas Cook again staying at the UDS. We arrived at the hotel and were taken to our room and immediately we could smell the foistiness in the room. With the balcony door open and some fresh air it got better.
The dining room wasn`t busy with holiday makers, in fact it was very quiet at that time but the service was not very good, in years past we have been used to having tea and coffee served but not this visit. Big deal you might think having to get your own, to us this was a general indication that as the hotel has got much much bigger the service has not kept up.
We still like its location right by the sea but for us we decided it was time to move on and we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed at the UDS for two weeks in March 09, we had rooms 832/831 in the new block very large beds which was a major bonus!! but our room was very damp, and hotel could not move us, we had balconys that faced onto the back of hotel so view not very interesting, breakfasts, plenty of choice, toast,eggs,omlettes, buffet selections ie. pancakes, etc etc. Pools were lovely, plenty of beds,hotel grounds very well kept, and public areas very comfortable, room cleaning very good, but just found it very impersonal, and the staff although very polite, appeared dis-interested and Reka ghe hostess, i'm afraid got on my nerves!!, but really cant complain on the quality of hotel.
We visited quite a few restaurants, locally walk through the grounds to 'beach area' and the one we most enjoyed was 3rd Rock, food was always excellent, and JJ very helpful, the waters edge was ok too, but found that more expensive, also went to the Lobster pot, again good food, but more of a trek, walk psst the previously named eateries, over the steps, you come to the little bay, and continue walking upwards (take a torch), we also went to Molly's and although had mixed reviews on the forum, we had some really good meals, service was good, and food excellent, we also went down to Lighthouse beach, our favourite's there were Rock cafe, Fusion, German Bakery,
Down on the beach we found most comfortable sunbeds were with Sunny, opposite Rock cafe, just as you turn into Lighthouse beach(250RP), also the little bay by UDS hotel, which was much quiter, so hope this info helps.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBlondie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchseter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

Lovely hotel and fantastic value for money:

Roms - The rooms were lovely and modern, there is no hairdryer in the rooms for the ladies though so dont forget to take your own. We stayed in the new building and did not have one complaint with our room. It was cleaned very well, had some good english talking channels on the tv and the airconditioning was lovely we stayed in room 821. Our friends got a room across from us and was happy with the room but did not have a good view from balcony so if this important to you ask for a pool view or beach view, our friends did and they got moved quickly. you also get things made from the towels for u and fresh flowers left on your bed which is lovely.

Pools - You are given beach towels so do not need to take these. There are 3 lovely pools the pool attendants will save you chairs if you ask around the beach front pool as this is the busiest as you get a lovely breeze there when it is so hot through the day.

Food - Breakfast is not very good at all but you can get toast, omlettes and cereal which is ok. We only had luch there once as we went down to lighthouse beach at night as there were so many restaurants here to try. We had snacks from the pool bar at dinner and these were very nice and resonably priced. The best places t each in our opinion are spice garden, coconut grove andn lonely planet all at lighthouse beach, you must try these as the food and service are outstanding and the price is so low.

Transport - Always haggle when using a tuk tuk or taxi as they will start high so you need to knock them down and agree on a price before you go anywere. We went in tuk tuks to most places as these are the best way to get about but can be scary sometimes. The tuk tuk drivers will take you places and wait for you to bring you back for a very cheap price.

People - The people are so lovely and most of them are so genuine and very helpfull, i met some of the nicest people i have ever met in and arount the UDS. Go and see chef at the ocean blue at the end of the beach utside UDS he will helpyou with anything and does not want anything of you except your ftiendship akthough we did give him things for his children we believe he still would of been just as lovely and helpfull if we had not. We took pads, pens, toffies, toys, clothes and musical instruments for the children in the local villages and they appreciated these so much and so did their parents and you get some lovely pics with the children and their families, so this is a idea for you.

Trips - We went to stay on the rice boat/ house boat for a night and i would deinatly reccomend this trip but please follow my advice so you can fully enjoy your trip i thought one night was definatly long enough, take lots and lots of insect spary for your body and to spray your rooms with as soon as you get on the boat and keep your bedroom door closed at all times. Pay more to upgrade because we soon realised you do get what you pay for on this trip. Take very little clothes to wear as it gets so so hot and humid at night and also ask for a air conditioned boat. Also take your own alcohol if you want to have a drink as this is not provided only water, tea and coffe. Ask for nice airconditioned transport to take you to the rice boats as it is a long journey it is not 2 hours as most say from the UDS it is about 3.5 hours. Also we took lollypops and sweets to throw for the children who live on the bankings who you go past they really love this. This was a great trip and i will do it again but these tips will make it a better trip.

This hotel was the best by far in this area, we walked to the leela and the taj hotel which were very posh and beatifull but were very regimental and strict e.g. you had to get changed to have a drink at the pool bar instead of just walkking over in your shorts or bikini. You wont regret staying at the UDS.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hiltonevansyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2009

My two sisters & I have traveled through India many times. Although the staff is friendly, the service was poor & confused.

Ex. Upon arrival - we found our room floors to be visibly dirty - we explained the situation to the front desk who explained that - this was 'a pattern in the floor tiling' - Not kidding.

Ex. There were rat droppings on the counters of the internet computer booths next to the front desk.

Ex. We had arranged an airport pick up/drop off service through our travel agent & were picked up by a car labeled ' UDAY Samudra Hotel' The night prior to departure, we confirmed our pick up for the following day. The next day there was a confused front desk person explaining that there was not a vehicle available to us & this was the best part, the hotel hostess - Rekha - said to us ' This is not our problem.' Luckily, another hotel attendant was on hand with a electronic print out of who the hotel was slotted to pick up for an airport run, confirmed our numbers and started loading our bags.

Ex. We arranged a tour to begin at 9:30 am, confirmed & found out the next day that 1 of the 5 planned sites would not open until later in the day. The staff person did not understand through repeated explanations that we wanted to a) change the order of the site visits - everything was within 5 km of each other & b) avoid the heat of the day since we had a 3 and 5 year old traveling with us. We had to move our organized trip to the next day.

The bottom line - The beaches are beautiful & the food is wonderful in Kerala.
Stay anywhere but here!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequent_traveler083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 50 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 50 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.5 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing