We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but found it impersonal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
london
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but found it impersonal”
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed at the UDS for two weeks in March 09, we had rooms 832/831 in the new block very large beds which was a major bonus!! but our room was very damp, and hotel could not move us, we had balconys that faced onto the back of hotel so view not very interesting, breakfasts, plenty of choice, toast,eggs,omlettes, buffet selections ie. pancakes, etc etc. Pools were lovely, plenty of beds,hotel grounds very well kept, and public areas very comfortable, room cleaning very good, but just found it very impersonal, and the staff although very polite, appeared dis-interested and Reka ghe hostess, i'm afraid got on my nerves!!, but really cant complain on the quality of hotel.
We visited quite a few restaurants, locally walk through the grounds to 'beach area' and the one we most enjoyed was 3rd Rock, food was always excellent, and JJ very helpful, the waters edge was ok too, but found that more expensive, also went to the Lobster pot, again good food, but more of a trek, walk psst the previously named eateries, over the steps, you come to the little bay, and continue walking upwards (take a torch), we also went to Molly's and although had mixed reviews on the forum, we had some really good meals, service was good, and food excellent, we also went down to Lighthouse beach, our favourite's there were Rock cafe, Fusion, German Bakery,
Down on the beach we found most comfortable sunbeds were with Sunny, opposite Rock cafe, just as you turn into Lighthouse beach(250RP), also the little bay by UDS hotel, which was much quiter, so hope this info helps.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBlondie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    613
    269
    113
    111
See reviews for
610
631
45
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchseter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Lovely hotel and fantastic value for money:

Roms - The rooms were lovely and modern, there is no hairdryer in the rooms for the ladies though so dont forget to take your own. We stayed in the new building and did not have one complaint with our room. It was cleaned very well, had some good english talking channels on the tv and the airconditioning was lovely we stayed in room 821. Our friends got a room across from us and was happy with the room but did not have a good view from balcony so if this important to you ask for a pool view or beach view, our friends did and they got moved quickly. you also get things made from the towels for u and fresh flowers left on your bed which is lovely.

Pools - You are given beach towels so do not need to take these. There are 3 lovely pools the pool attendants will save you chairs if you ask around the beach front pool as this is the busiest as you get a lovely breeze there when it is so hot through the day.

Food - Breakfast is not very good at all but you can get toast, omlettes and cereal which is ok. We only had luch there once as we went down to lighthouse beach at night as there were so many restaurants here to try. We had snacks from the pool bar at dinner and these were very nice and resonably priced. The best places t each in our opinion are spice garden, coconut grove andn lonely planet all at lighthouse beach, you must try these as the food and service are outstanding and the price is so low.

Transport - Always haggle when using a tuk tuk or taxi as they will start high so you need to knock them down and agree on a price before you go anywere. We went in tuk tuks to most places as these are the best way to get about but can be scary sometimes. The tuk tuk drivers will take you places and wait for you to bring you back for a very cheap price.

People - The people are so lovely and most of them are so genuine and very helpfull, i met some of the nicest people i have ever met in and arount the UDS. Go and see chef at the ocean blue at the end of the beach utside UDS he will helpyou with anything and does not want anything of you except your ftiendship akthough we did give him things for his children we believe he still would of been just as lovely and helpfull if we had not. We took pads, pens, toffies, toys, clothes and musical instruments for the children in the local villages and they appreciated these so much and so did their parents and you get some lovely pics with the children and their families, so this is a idea for you.

Trips - We went to stay on the rice boat/ house boat for a night and i would deinatly reccomend this trip but please follow my advice so you can fully enjoy your trip i thought one night was definatly long enough, take lots and lots of insect spary for your body and to spray your rooms with as soon as you get on the boat and keep your bedroom door closed at all times. Pay more to upgrade because we soon realised you do get what you pay for on this trip. Take very little clothes to wear as it gets so so hot and humid at night and also ask for a air conditioned boat. Also take your own alcohol if you want to have a drink as this is not provided only water, tea and coffe. Ask for nice airconditioned transport to take you to the rice boats as it is a long journey it is not 2 hours as most say from the UDS it is about 3.5 hours. Also we took lollypops and sweets to throw for the children who live on the bankings who you go past they really love this. This was a great trip and i will do it again but these tips will make it a better trip.

This hotel was the best by far in this area, we walked to the leela and the taj hotel which were very posh and beatifull but were very regimental and strict e.g. you had to get changed to have a drink at the pool bar instead of just walkking over in your shorts or bikini. You wont regret staying at the UDS.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hiltonevansyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

My two sisters & I have traveled through India many times. Although the staff is friendly, the service was poor & confused.

Ex. Upon arrival - we found our room floors to be visibly dirty - we explained the situation to the front desk who explained that - this was 'a pattern in the floor tiling' - Not kidding.

Ex. There were rat droppings on the counters of the internet computer booths next to the front desk.

Ex. We had arranged an airport pick up/drop off service through our travel agent & were picked up by a car labeled ' UDAY Samudra Hotel' The night prior to departure, we confirmed our pick up for the following day. The next day there was a confused front desk person explaining that there was not a vehicle available to us & this was the best part, the hotel hostess - Rekha - said to us ' This is not our problem.' Luckily, another hotel attendant was on hand with a electronic print out of who the hotel was slotted to pick up for an airport run, confirmed our numbers and started loading our bags.

Ex. We arranged a tour to begin at 9:30 am, confirmed & found out the next day that 1 of the 5 planned sites would not open until later in the day. The staff person did not understand through repeated explanations that we wanted to a) change the order of the site visits - everything was within 5 km of each other & b) avoid the heat of the day since we had a 3 and 5 year old traveling with us. We had to move our organized trip to the next day.

The bottom line - The beaches are beautiful & the food is wonderful in Kerala.
Stay anywhere but here!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frequent_traveler083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K & Hyderabad,India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

C.Sim U.K & Secunderabad in India.
Now having read other folks reviews,we realise how fortunate we were to get a good excellent, clean & large rooms in UDS ;not facing both the pools but inbetween.
We had booked for a SEA VIEW rooms but were told if we stood at one end of our balcony and leaned out, we can spot the sea-some view!!
Other than that the room service was excellent, food and air con was fine, so was the bathroom and cleanliness.
The housekeeping were very obliging at anytime we asked for items.
Only problem was we were not being served at the LOUNGE BAR restaurant near the small pool;even though there were hardly any customers.The 3 staff were busy chatting to each other.
We asked for a packed breakfast since we left at 3am to Kanyakumari the tip of Southern India to view the sunrise.
They gave us slices of bread wrapped in bake-o-foil,6 small jam packs & 2 packs of pineapple as breakfast-no napkins,no disposable forks to eat the pineapple chunks or knife to spread the jam-alas no butter was packed with it or even a drink of water. Dreadful indifferent service and we told them so.
Breakfast in the hotel was a wonderful affair with cakes, croissants,various types of bread,omelettes and much much more.
Staff were always attentive and concerned about any problems.
Evening entertainment was good most days.
Pool was good and not too boisterous with too many Brits & their screaming children who take over the pool as if it is for their benefit only. Luckily they have 3 pools and most of the holiday makers were couples.
Very nice and large reception area,lovely ambience, great hotel shop with exclusive items-pricey but unusual too.
On the whole a great hotel for the price charged.

  • Liked — The room size,cleanliness and bathroom
  • Disliked — Service at the small pool Lounge Bar & packed breakfas was lousy !
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank csimhadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I stayed at the Uday for 5 days during Christmas, after living in Bangalore for 6 months I am used to extremely good customer service and hotel standards. This hotel was unfortunately recommended to us by a travel agent my company use and is alledgedly rated as 4Star I booked a Deluxe Suite which was a not even close to being 4 Star, the only comfort was the bed, although like the room smelled of damp, it was also not clean by any standards and the bathroom was old and in desperate need of modernisation, the fridge was not stocked either. I requested they move us the first day and reception advised they had no availability as they were fully booked however would see after Christmas Day, however never bothered to follow up my request. Our room was not cleaned one day either. Breakfast was 7.30-9.30 and even if you got there at 8.30 there was hardly anything left, food in the other restuarants was certainly not 4* standard. They also tried to charge me for several items on my bill I had never ordered and after waiting 35mins for them to investigate I never even got an apology. Their customer service is extremely poor, even when I complained they could not have cared less. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is they have 3 good sized pools and location is excellent, right between the Leela and Taj hotels where we enjoyed excellent food and service and if we ever go to Kovalam again will definately be staying there instead of this disappointment.

  • Liked — Comfortable Bed
  • Disliked — Customer service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank AnandaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

I stayed with my family in the first week of Oct. and I would say this was oneof the better properties on Kovalam, although I didnt get reservations in The Leela.

The hotel has 3 pools and enough activities to keep you busy...

The kids loved the pool and the beach ws clean and quiet. very different from the main Kovalam beach, which is a big putoff.

The beach is the place where you can pick up fresh fish as all the fishing nets end up there. Great treat to watch them.

The service in the hotel is great except for the time to serve. They seemed to be renovating their kitchen and thus was the dealy, as they explained.

The Front Office staff is simply fantastic and very very helpful. The Ayurveda Centre was good but the services are good, not great.

Definitely worthy of visit every next trip I make to Kovalam.

  • Liked — The layout and the beach
  • Disliked — The restaurant services
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

the hotel was definately a welcome haven. The staff were completely attentive, friendy and proffesional..the cleanliness was exceptional and the room had freshly starched sheets and lovely fluffy towels daily..great breakfast choice and freshest food on the the hotel strip..
Very very good value for money..you would not be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Liked — friendly staff with professionalism excellent cleanliness and pools
  • Disliked — liked all of it
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank carlywarly100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing