We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming staff and comfy beds.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Ash Vale
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff and comfy beds.”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We stayed at the Uday for two nights one at the beginning of a tour of Kerala and one at the end. On both occasions our rooms were spacious and comfortable with enjoyable terraces outside. They were also spotlessly clean. We found the food in both restaurants tasty and interesting. My husband is not overly fond of hot spicy food, and he was able to find dishes to his taste. As for me I was in curry heaven! Because we were actually in transit we didn't really use the hotel facilities to the fullest, but were pleased that there was a bar, as many hotels in Kerala don't have alcohol licences. The grounds were lovely, and we enjoyed watching the fishermen hauling in huge nets in the morning on the beach. We also found the constant background noise of the Indian Ocean very soothing. If in that part of the world again we would definitely stay here from choice.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have good sized terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toucan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    596
    258
    111
    108
See reviews for
561
610
43
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't normally choose to stay in a big hotel like this, but having said that, there wasn't much wrong with it. The location is away from the main Kovalam beaches, which suited us, but the main beaches are just a short tuktuk ride away. The buffet breakfast was a bit of a scrummage and really not up to standard. In the evenings we preferred to eat out at a nearby place on the beach where we could sit and watch the sunset. You can't actually see the sea from anywhere in the hotel grounds. Eating in a-la-carte was an expensive option, and we didn't fancy the evening buffet. I think you can probably do better than stay here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Interior decoration datade and tatty. Poor selection of continental food. Hygiene not comparible to the European standards. It looks like an 80's holiday village. In my opinion, considering the rates, it is possible to find a better solution.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shukumei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a 16 days holiday in Kerala and glad we only stayed here for one night. This is a large holiday right on the beach front but it is always next door to a temple which starts playing their chanting music, calling people to prayer at 6 o'clock in the morning.
Hotel is a bit on the basic size not what you might expected from a so called 4 star rating. The main large pool at the front of the hotel is nice but there are not many sunbeds and by the afternoon half the pool is in shade. The other 2 pools are much smaller but don't get the sun till late afternoon.
Food at breakfast is self service with plenty of choice. It is also buffet in the restaurant for the evening meal, but I can't fault the choice or quality and the staff are most helpful.
The beach at the back of the hotel is not really a beach more of a small strip of sand with a few tatting looking beds. Not that easy to get to as you have go up and over the sea wall to get to them.
Just stay for a few days there are better hotels and better beaches not far from here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johngfry55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights and found it most relaxing! The hotel has well-kept grounds and a large reception area. The staff were very polite and eager to please, nothing was too much trouble. There are 3 beautifully kept pools and always sunbeds available, just ask the pool guy and he will put a cushion and a towel on a sunbed. The rooms were satisfactory, with tea and coffee making facilities and a safe for no extra charge.
Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and someone on hand always to cook eggs however you would like them. There is always someone preparing fresh fruit while you wait too! As the hotel was very busy, they often ran out of things....yogurt, jam, milk, coffee etc. but you only have to ask and it will be brought to your table, the staff are very keen to please.
The beach is lovely but quite steeply shelving, not very safe for children or anyone who is not very confident. It is a working beach with fishermen pulling in their nets as a daily feature. Wifi is available at no cost but you have to go to the reception area for this. There are several restaurants on the beach, our favourite was "Waters Edge" and “Seagull” and the Kingfisher was always kept cool wrapped in newspaper, gin and tonics were also welcome. The costs were extremely reasonable and the fish was absolutely wonderful.
There are walks in each direction along the beach and around the village. If you need glasses the local optician will save you a fortune compared to UK prices. There is also a dental surgery on site if you need some tooth work. The hotel has a barbeque area on the beach, again the food is good but a little more expensive but nothing like the cost in UK. All in all, we had a wonderful holiday here and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.....when we return to Kerala we would definitely book the Uday Samudra.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed with my wife and kids in Uday Samudra in Jan'14. Absolute delight as soon as you enter the hotel and are welcomed by a huge lobby and Indian style welcome (roses and drink). Furthermore, I was delighted as the hotel had upgraded us to the next level of room (with sea-facing balcony). The hotel is worth spending all your time here. With the expansive swimming pool options, morning and evening activities on the beach and good eating options (buffets and ala-carte) we had a great time in Uday Samudra. Definitely worth a revisit.

We also used the spa/massage facilities and they were good, although not as great as a few other kerala massages I have experienced elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded if you can. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishalg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our tour of Kerala before returning home and were not disappointed. Although it was the largest hotel we had stayed in on our trip it is run very very well. Reception staff very helpful especially Sony who had booked us in and always made a point of speaking to us when she was out and about around the hotel. The snack bar was our favourite haunt and the service was very good. The only moan I would have is about one of the pool attendants who didn't really want to help with beds etc. if he hadn't been tipped previously.I think this is unfortunate and a bit uncomfortable. Apart from that I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.5 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing