We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in UDS, the staff were friendly and they respond well in person. I stayed in room 517. The food was great especially the dinner buffet. Room service and house keeping need to work on speed other wise it is one of the best hotel in Kovalam. Will definitely return to UDS if time permits. I recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aju Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Naveen Mohan, Resort Manager at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your most recent stay with us in UDS. We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you, and thank you again for being our guest.

Best Regards

Naveen Mohan
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    581
    253
    110
    104
See reviews for
540
598
41
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Leaking taps, sticky floor, stinking wash room, greedy and irresponsible staff, out dated and non functional electronic items is all about this hotel.when we entered the room we were shocked to see the quality of room, dirty floor, AC was out of order, refrigerator was just like one in a government hospital, wash room was stinking, shower and tap starts at the same time, no buckets or tumbler. No sufficient toiletries in wash room. No facilities to seat on the beach. Swimming pool closes at 6, and when you ask for towel the attendant would say no towels available and when you quarrel with him you get one . Employees are always waiting for tip.worst experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank vivekjpatel2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Naveen Mohan , Resort Manager at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I realize these issues has been an inconvenience and annoyance, and for this we truly apologize to you personally. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you as our guest, as we genuinely appreciate and value your business.

Best Regards,

Naveen Mohan
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Despite being on a business trip, took time out to try the facilities. A Fantastic Property, wonderful maintainance, good food, excellent massage centre, health club, fitness centre, pools. All in all, Great Ambience. Real Value for Money. Only deterent was internet connectivity, although have a free Wi-Fi facility, it was available only near the front desk.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms near Spa & Pool are really good, any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeev0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I realize these issues has been an inconvenience and annoyance, and for this we truly apologize to you personally. I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you as our guest, as we genuinely appreciate and value your business.

Best Regards,

Naveen Mohan
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at uday samudra 31st march to 2nd april . Our experience was just an average hotel.We faced a lot inconvenience during the stay which was mainly because of un-cooperative staff including maintenance and reception staff.
The beach and pools were the only things maintained nicely.

Room Tip: do not choose delux exotica
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashok1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Naveen Mohan , Resort manager at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to post the experiences of your recent stay in UDS Kovalam. It is indeed disheartening to know that we were not able to match your expectations. we regret for the inconvinience caused and appologize for the unfortunate issues during your stay.

However we thank you again for choosing UDS as your place of stay and hope to see you on your next trip to Kovalam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solan, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed in Room 509 on 24th April with my wife & son.. we had a nice view of the ocean. We were met by this charming front manager as soon as we entered the hotel, and escorted to the room, which was a little small, considering the tariff. The bathroom too was tiny, by comparison. However, the property is spacious and beautifully landscaped, with a few pools at different locations. The dinner buffet was especially enjoyable, due to the live singer who entertained us with old English songs. Breakfast buffet was satisfactory.. a good mix of Continental & South Indian.. but the venue, the restaurant Grasshopper, was boiling. We ate good food with sweat pouring out of our skins.. the fans just couldn't cope. The management must provide AC's in there to make it more comfortable. All in all, a satisfying experience!

Room Tip: Ocean-facing rooms will give you the best scenery, especially if you are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docboysolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Naveen Mohan, Resort manager at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to post the experiences of your recent stay in UDS Kovalam. It is indeed pleasure to know that we met your expectations. We thank you again for choosing UDS as your place of stay and hope to see you on your next trip to Kovalam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arrived at 4am and it was the rep that showed us to our room. There was no extra bed for our 11 year old son. Our luggage was brought to us after 10 minutes or so and when I asked for the bed the member of staff said he would need to check our ticket? I assured him I had booked for three people and he said he would arrange a bed but as it was now 4:30am we just wanted to get to sleep so I said we could wait until the morning. The bed did not arrive until the evening of the next day after calling many times for it. Neither had our room been cleaned .
I think we must have been in one of the refurbished rooms because it was fine. After the first day our room was made up with clean towels and sheets daily along with some towel art.
Room had tea, coffee and bottled water. Wifi also good reception in room. We also had a power cut in room due to the kettle blowing a fuse but after many calls no-one came so we found the fuse box ourselves on the landing and sorted it.

The hotel grounds are pretty and well kept. There are three pools and one with pool bar. Service is good and the food in the restaurants is also very good with the exception of pool bar, chicken and beef burgers - very strange! The breakfast buffet has plenty to choose from and some delicious Indian vegetarian dishes along with the usual continental breakfast.

Nothing much here for children to do and in fact there were no other children so our son spent much of his time in the room watching tele.

We tried a variety of restaurants outside the hotel. The one immediately outside opposite, Il marinaio was superb. Basic to look at but fabulous food and very reasonable in price. Bait next door was good but nothing exceptional for the price but good ambience. Sangivini, outside turn right and on to next beach up some rocks, also very good. Tried a few on lighthouse beach, also good but we had to wait an hour in the beatles restaurant and we were only one of two lots of guests at the time. The pepperoni pizza turned out to be extra hot chillis pizza with no pepperoni but my husband informs me that the biryani was superb.

Had an overnight houseboat trip and this was an amazing experience, thoroughly enjoyed by all of us. Would definitely recommend this.

Better rate for money exchange outside, on trying to settle the bill at the front desk the rate suddenly went up after the member of staff made a phone call so hubby popped across the road.

Watching the fishermen early in the morning pull in their catch is well worth it.

We had great holiday in all and would recommend this hotel if you're looking for somewhere peaceful and value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meatfleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Naveen Mohan, Resort manager at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to post the experiences of your recent stay in UDS Kovalam. It is indeed pleasure to know that we met your expectations otherthan few areas. Regarding the extra bed issue, I have spoken to the Executuve Housekeeper and taken corrective actions. We thank you again for choosing UDS as your place of stay and hope to see you on your next trip to Kovalam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great service from all the staff - from the pool man, the gym guy, reception...Fantastic outdoor pools where you can really swim not just splash around. Wonderful array of food at breakfast (get fresh fruit salad prepared just for you) Quiet at night which suited us. Adjacent to beach - watch the fishermen haul in the daily catch then stroll along to watch the women making rope in the village nearby, before picking up your handmade garments from the tailor next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.8 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.3 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#13 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Samudra Beach G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing