We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful property but could have been so much better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel in itself is beautiful and spacious.The staff friendly ,rooms fairly neat. We had a good stay. But the whole experience would have been so much better if the management had taken some finer points into account.
Firstly on arrival we were given some watered down mango drink out of glasses that looked as if they were dipped in water just before they served us.At the grill the poor waiter was so ill informed about the menu ,that each question we put forth,he had to run to someone else to find out what to say. The towels in the rooms and at the pool need to be changed desperately.
But overall, the staff try their best to make all the guest feel comfortable.The beach is clean and fun too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angellahMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share the experiences of your recent stay at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa. We apologize for not being able to level up with your expectations and also for the inconvenience caused during your dinner.

All the flaws pointed out by you is being rectified at present and we are pleased that you found our property, staff , and rooms were as per your expectation.

We do look forward to welcome you back to UDS soon.

Thank you

Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,722)
There are newer reviews for Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,110 - 1,116 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very close to the Kovalam beach, and on the Samudra beach, the Udaya Samudra resort is a great place to stay for vacationing families with children.

On entering the resort which is a few metres down a small road that winds off the highway, one enters a fabulously large reception that boasts huge vaulting wooden pillars holding up a massive wooden roof that easily spans 30 feet at its widest point, a large fish tank, fish pond and great seating. Just behind the reception area is the large restaurant (one of three) that usually serves buffet meals, followed by several wings that hold the rooms. Between the wings are the 3 swimming pools of the resort, and just beyond is the Samudra beach, clean and well maintained and easily accessible for the hotel guests.

We were welcomed in the traditional Indian way with a tikka / tilak and a rose (the kids loved this!), followed by an efficient check-in process after which we were led directly to our rooms by a smiling hostess. The bell-hops took efficient care of our luggage, and it quickly found its way to our room just as we ourselves entered.

The room itself was quite spacious, on the first floor with a view to one of the pools, and a large french door leading off to a fairly spacious balcony with deck chairs and a coffee table.

The room was well maintained, the bathroom clean and functional with all the usual knick-knacks you would expect from a 4-star property, and the AC worked well.

The staff was quite helpful, and the food was tasty. Breakfast had the usual south-Indian menu and was filling and tasty. We loved the coffee.

We stayed here a couple of days before going onto the Taj Vivanta at Trivandrum. The check-out process was a breeze as well, except one thing: we had to wait for nearly 30 minutes for a bell-hop to come to the room to cart the luggage back to the lobby of the hotel. This proved to be, unfortunately, an unpleasant experience - I had to finally go down to the lobby and actually ask a front-office executive to send a bell hop with me. Instructions were improperly passed between the two, and the bell hop landed up without a trolley - and I had to get someone else to come with a trolley, but not before the first bell hop actually scolded me for not telling him clearly that I was checking out. Thankfully the manager quickly apologised when I spoke with him about this, and promised to look into the incident and appropriately instruct the errant bell hop and the front office.

Overall, the last-mile-saga notwithstanding, the experience with the hotel was excellent, and I would certainly recommend the place to someone else and even go there myself again if the opportunity arises.

A note for travellers during the Christmas/New-year season: The hotel imposes a mandatory charge of Rs. 5,000/- per guest if you stay over on the evening of Dec 24th. This is for the 'Christmas eve Dinner' and will be charged even if you do not plan to eat at the hotel that day. We found this practice a little odd (some hotels in Kerala apparently do this, but most don't) and booked into the Vivanta at Trivandrum which had no such 'mandatory' charge. So you would be well advised to check with the hotel at the time of making the booking, if there are any additional 'mandatory' charges that you may need to bear depending on the days of your stay, and book accordingly.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach-facing room. We booked for the end of December, more than a month in advance, and th...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaustav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing the experiences of your recent stay at Uday samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to have met your expectation of an ideal family vacation.

Team UDS welcomes each guest in a traditional method , which shows respect and also our traditional culture and values.
Your valuable comments on our Rooms, service quality , staff, is high;ly appreciated, However we apologize for the delay that occurred during the check out process.

We thank you again for recommending us and definitely look forward to welcome you back to UDS .

Thank you

Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel was really ok even for western standard. Very nice staff and the food at The Grill was really good. We used the beach mostly, which was lovely with very nice people renting the sunchairs. The small restaurants on the beach had great food. The local fishermen did use the beach for taking up their catch which made it a bit harder to use sunchairs during that hours. But it was really fascinating to look at them and hear them singing during the whole time. And they also used it as their toilet. But this is India,it is almost not clean anywhere and the fishermen use the beach as the propably always has done. Not a big deal. The locals who rented the sunchairs did clean after the fishermen. Our kids had very fun diving in the waves of the Indian Sea.
The hotel had some difficulties with towels during our stay, so some days it was almost impossible to get beachtowels or clean towels to your room. The breakfast was a bit crazy, but it has nothing to do with the hotel. Indian people has a special way of not be able to line up, so be prepared to sharpen your elbows and fight for your place in the queue.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experiences through TripAdvisor.We are pleased to have met your expectations in terms of product quality, food and beverages.

However, we apologize for the inconvenience caused due to lack of towels. The issue is rectified and we appreciate your feedback
We thank you for choosing Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa for your vacation and do look forward to hosting you again.

Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Kovalam,Kerala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spend 10 days at this resort together with my family and friends, and we had a very positive experience. Strengths:
+ Clean, well-managed resort with nice and clean rooms and restaurants. Well organized breakfast. Also a few small, but good, restaurants outside the resort.
+ Friendly staff. Especially the hostess that met us upon arrival and the restaurant manager in the Grill Restaurant really provided friendly service.
+ Perfectly located close to a nice beach. The resort has three clean pools, but we like the beach even more. We did walk around to the other beaches nearby (incl. the "Light House Beach") but no one was as nice as the one outside the Uday resort. It did not bother us that local fishermen do bring up their catch a few times a week on the beach, but this might bother some more picky tourists.... One small warning however; the waves at the beach are rather high. This means a lot of fun for adults and larger kids, but small kids cannot stay in the water alone. Some parts of the year the waves apparently also get rather wild so the beach cannot be used at all.
+ Good, well equipped gym.
Weakness:
- Hard to find any negatives. The only thing I can come up with is that some days the resort lacked pool towels. Also, some days we had too few towels in the room and delivering new ones did take really long time. But this will be easy to fix by the hotel management.
All in all this is a resort I really can recommend to anyone who wants to go for a nice vacation at the beach in Kerala.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandbypag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to have met your expectations of an ideal holiday . Team UDS takes pride in providing best guest experience right from check in through to check out.

Your comments on out Hotel's location, food and beverages, pools, beach is highly appreciated.Your comments on lack of pool towels is rectified.

We thank you again for recommending us and definitely look forward to welcome you back to UDS Kovalam.

Thank You

Warm Regards,

Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

3 swimming pools, kerela massage , spa , saloon , all overshadowed by lack of maintenance of rooms. stinking washrooms , faulty plumbing , jammed lifts and really slow service.
my opinion changed from excellent to average , from the point my wife and i entered and were completely taken by the aesthetics and modern vernacular architecture to the time we checked out 3 nights later.
the consolation was the food .. the beach dinner we had on the night of our first anniversary was great. the staff is friendly and helpful . but the rooms need serious maintenance . none of the appliances work.
the beach is exquisite, but the vendors really harass you
i believe there should be more activities to do post 6 pm when the pool and the snooker and table tennis room shut ..
its a great property but needs to be looked after. ....

Room Tip: look for the beach facing rooms .. most of the rooms are pool facing .. i wouldn't recommend roo...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vineet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your valuable comments on TripAdvisor. We apologize for not matching up to your expectations.

Your comments on our Rooms, Wash rooms , in room amenities etc is taken in all its seriousness and has been transferred to the respective departments. We thank you for pointing our flaws and will be rectified at the earliest.

Your comments on our Food & Beverages is highly appreciated . As far as the activities are concerned we introduced various activities and cultural programs for all our in house guests during the evening session.

Thank you for choosing UDS as your place of stay and we do look forward to hosting you soon.

Thank You

Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is exotic, staff are helpful, polite and energetic. They do have a couple of very good restaurant and food are delicious, particularly the continental one. With my two year old daughter, I particularly enjoyed the swimming pool. Sea beach is also very adjacent to the resort, so we had good time at the beach. I will definitely visit again.
One problem was that they did not appear very accommodating in complying with special personalized requests, such as milk at odd hours for the baby etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sobasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences of your recent stay at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to have met your expectations and to have provided you with a memorable holiday experience.

Your comments on our food & Beverages is highly appreciated. We thank you again for choosing UDS for your next visit to Kovalam and definitely look forward to see you soon.

Thank You

Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Kovalam, Kerala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and it was fine overall. There were quite a lot of Indian families (from the north) on holiday which made it a bit noisy at the poolside occasionally but there are three pools to choose from so not really a problem. However, the pool water was a bit murky.
Room was fine with good aircon and comfortable bed. Breakfast was buffet style with loads of choice and generally delicious. We ate a couple of times during the day at the snack bar by the beachside pool and the food was not that good - you're better off going out of the resort by the beach exit and there are a few reasonable places to eat left and right.

Actually, if you head right for a few hundred yards you can enter the grounds of the Taj hotel and walk to their beach restaurant (Bait - see Trip Advisor reviews). We had a drink there one day and really liked the setting so decided to eat there in the evening. We had a fabulous meal by the crashing waves - and it was not too expensive. It was nice to enjoy a bit of the Taj luxury without the expense of staying there. (But bring a torch for the evening walk!)

On the general area, we thought Kovalam somewhat overrated. The local beaches are not that good, even lighthouse beach. We went down south to Chowara beach which was much better but still not brilliant. Don't come here for the beaches. (We much preferred the beaches around Verkala - and the best beaches are in northern Kerala).
However, one recommendation is to see the free Kathakali performances at the Margi
(Kathakali) school in Trivandrum. Also, it's cheaper to go just outside the hotel and arrange your own transport with the locals (taxi or rickshaw) than to get the hotel to call you a cab.

As a budget hotel to explore the area this place is OK.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SummerLightening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experiences through TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that we have met your expectations in terms of Room quality and our breakfast buffet.

Your comments on our pool water is taken in all its seriousness and will be rectified at the earliest. We thank you again for knowing our value for money policy. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Kovalam.

Thank You


Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Kovalam, Kerala

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
968 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
563 reviews
1.5 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $59 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing