We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Highly disappointed”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had booked the Presidential Suite, the best room at the hotel after reading nice reviews of the hotel on TripAdvisor. The room was big with an adjoining balcony and a beautiful view of the Indian Ocean. However, the room also had hundreds of red ants crawling on the walls, the bed and the furniture. Tiny but fast-paced red ants are common in south India, but I expected a hotel like UDS to have taken care of that. We had to call the front desk and get the pest guy to clean our room while we stayed out on the beach for an hour. We got rid of most of the ants but not all. We had to check for ants every time we slept on the bed, or while using the towels or our clothes. The beautiful beach and the three swimming pools did take our mind off the ants, but not for long. The buffet dinner we had that night at one of their restaurants was horrible in taste and quality, and very expensive. The next day one of my friends had diarrhea and it is common practice for any hotel to keep such medicines handy. The front desk however told me they had no medication and that it was "against their rules" to keep any oral medication. There were no chemist shops nearby, and the staff made us wait for over an hour and a half to get the medicine from a chemist just a km away from the hotel. What is more they charged us for the same. It is not about money, but a hotel as reputed as UDS would be expected to provide this complimentary service to their guests. The house-keeping staff was another pain. In spite of keeping the DND sign hanging outside our door, we would invariably have the staff ringing the bell continuously in the morning. They would not even wait for a minute in spite of us asking them to wait while we got up, instead they would start opening the door with their key. It was shocking to see such behavior.
The hotel has a huge and beautiful property and I was really looking forward to having a good vacation at Kovalam. However, I am very disappointed with UDS, and would not recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NishaBothra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time out to share your experiences through TripAdvisor.

It seems that there has been a misunderstanding in your room category selection. Our Presidential suites have been under renovation for the past few months.

However, we sincerely apologize for all the inconvenience caused during your stay at UDS.
Your comments regarding our Food & Beverage (Food quality,buffet spread) and House keeping has been taken in all its seriousness and has been rectified.

As far as providing medication to our guests, We cannot risk providing medication to our guests without proper prescription as it is against our hotel policy

Your comments on our property and our pools is highly appreciated and We truly appreciate you pointing out our flaws as it really gives us an opportunity to better ourselves in providing the best of services to each of our guests.

We do look forward to hosting you in the near future.
Thank you

Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    612
    269
    113
    110
See reviews for
610
629
45
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

it was a Two night stay at this place, Property was very nice, Free Wi-Fi across the resort was good, Food was a bit costly as per the quality, there was a fishy smell where i stayed....which was annoying,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experiences in TripAdvisor. It was indeed a pleasure to have had you as our guest.

Your comments on our food and beverages is highly appreciated,and we believe in providing value for money services to all our distinguished guests.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to UDS in the near future.

Thank You,


Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Our stay was for two nights, and an awesome experience it was too.
You arrive at a magnificent reception made of teak, on checking in a glass of mango juice and a red rosé for the ladies, what a lovely touch.
The whole time we felt relaxed.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earth334455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

We can't thank you enough for taking the time out to share your experiences in TripAdvisor.We are happy that we could make your short stay a memorable one.

We do give priority to tradition,culture and values and we welcome all our guest in the traditional way.

We appreciate your patronage and thank you for recommending us .

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Gods Own Country..... and UDS.

Thank You

Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

UDS Uday Samudra hotel was a perfect place for our family, with two active boys aged 9 and 11. The place was clean and the staff gave very friendly and excellent service. The three swimming pools where suited for both kids and adults, and we had three wonderful dinners at the Grill Restaurant. The beaches right outside the hotel are too dangerous for swimming, but a 10 minutes walk took us to the wonderful Lighthouse Beach, with swimming guards and lots of nice and cheap restaurants. We will definately recommend this hotel to Norwegian friends who will visit Kerala and the Trivandrum area, and hope to return back some day.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henning B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experiences in TripAdvisor.It was a pleasure to have had you as our guest.
Your comments indicate that we have met your expectations in terms of product,services and staff and also for recommending us .
We appreciate your patronage and do hope to be able to welcome you back to Gods Own Country for yet another experience at UDS.

Thank You,

Warm Regards

Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have gor the travel package from Kanyakumari who have arranged our stay at Hotel Uday Samudra and we enjoyed this resort very much. There are three swimming pools and three restaurants. The ambience of the resort is very good and we would have stayed there for more if our trip would not have paucity of time.

Room Tip: If u really want to enjoy the rooms please gor for sea facing rooms available with resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tushar-SuperDooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to share your experiences in TripAdvisor. We are glad to have been able to provide you with an ideal vacation in Gods Own Country.

We provide value for money services to all our guests which in turn brings them back to UDS for another memorable holiday experience. We do hope to be your host on your next tip to thiruvananthapuram.

Thank you

Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at this property last month, in fact a week back, and I was extremely satisfied with their services. Though I had a little problem with their seating arrangements by the pool ( they provide plastic chairs and not recliners) , most of the other things were fine. Their poolside cafe serves delicious salads and their buffet breakfast has a wide range of delicacies. One advise I would like to give to the management, the front desk staff should be more active and not so lazy, as it took more than 45 mins for them to get my room key at the time of check in. Rest everything was in order, only if they could take a little more care of the beach, for example place a few umbrellas and beach beds. Overall a great experience and I would love to come back for the 31st.
Thanks a lot uds for making my stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doveofcalcutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review Uday Samudra leisure Beach Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to have matched your expectations in terms of value for money.

Your comments on our poolside lounge, breakfast buffet is highly appreciated .

Please accept our apologies for the delay that occurred during check in. Your comments help us to clear our faults and helps us in providing the best of services in Gods Own Country.We definitely look forward to hosting you soon.

Thank You
Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

It’s a big resort with an impressive lobby, spa and 3 swimming pools.....probably the only positives about this hotel.

Location - it is situated in the midst of nowhere on Samudra Beach which is a secluded and rocky stretch inhabited by local fishermen. There is nothing to do in and around Samudra Beach area. Swimming is not possible in this stretch. Lighthouse Beach which is the center of activity is 15 minutes auto ride from the hotel - auto charges Rs 100/- each way (though they will easily agree for Rs 80/-)

Rooms - are spacious with attached balconies. Non sea facing rooms have a cramped view from the balconies. The rooms (infact the entire hotel) have a characterstic damp smell. Interiors are minimally done up. There were stains in the bedcover. Minimart was empty. No bathtub in the bathrooms.

Service - leaves lot to be desired. Service for them probably means offering a welcome drink in the reception area and forgetting the guests for the rest of the stay. Hotel staff does not seem to have customer service on their agenda. Had to call 3 times to get room freshener sprayed in the room. Inspite of calling up housekeeping service desk, no one bothered to turn up to clean the room in the morning. Checkout time is 11am and they won't allow late check out under any circumstance - I had requested for a 3 pm checkout and the response I got was '’you can check out and hang around in the lobby'”......this is the first time I got such a response from a hotel with as many stars.

Food - the restaurants look good on photo but in reality are dark and somewhat dingy. Though prices are reasonable, quality of food is very average…. maybe even a notch below average.

Spa - there is a saloon, an ayurvedic treatment centre and a spa in the resort. Oceanic spa is recommended.

Cleanliness - overall cleanliness is not upto the mark. Bed sheets had stains and towels were old and worn out. Public toilets are probably cleaner than the washrooms in the lobby area.

The hotel seems play host to quite a few sales conferences and the rooms are mostly occupied by the participants…..they can get really noisy and boisterous at times.

Overall it gives the feel of a poorly maintained government run resort. Lacks character. Not recommended except for the spa.

Useful tip - if you still decide to stay in the hotel- don't approach the front desk for booking cabs/ taxis - there's a taxi stand just across the main gate and the rates are almost half of what is quoted by the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rupak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPUDS, Group Vice President at Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out to post your valuable comments in TripAdvisor.Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations in terms of our product, food and services.

A sincere note has been made on your comments and will be cleared at the earliest. We do hope to be of your service on your next trip to trivandrum.

Thank you

Warm Regards,
Prasad Manjali
Group Vice President
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Kovalam,Kerala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing