We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely big resort almost touching sea with great amenities- family loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely big resort almost touching sea with great amenities- family loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

It was a big resort & nice place to chill out. The backside of hotel almost touches the sea. Nice staff & service was good. The rooms were simple & decent. It has three swimming pools, health club & dental clinic.
What we liked the best
1. Swimming pool with bar & food
2. Sea almost touching the resort
3. Sunset watching in the evening with sun getting engulfed in sea
4. Restaurant/Food.
5. Hospitality of staff especially the restaurant staff
What we liked the least
1. Rooms were simple & average(where I stayed)

Room Tip: Rooms facing swimming pool/sea are the best but they bring noise too. Rooms on first floor will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhushan-Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    581
    252
    109
    103
See reviews for
537
597
41
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

I went to Kerala with family in March 2011 and stayed at this hotel for a night. We checked in around 5 PM after a long road journey from Thekkady. As per our request we were give two sea facing rooms which were quite neat and tidy. The hotel is right on the beach and therefore we could enjoy the sea in the evening & night also. We ordered our food in the rooms and enjoyed the same. The service was good through out our stay. Next day we enjoyed the beach in the morning and later I took my son to the swimming pools - interestingly the hotel has 3 pools and my son made sure we took few laps in all the three pools. Wished we had more time to explore the place more. All in all a good hotel and I will recommend this hotel for the family.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Located on the samudra beach (approx 2 KM from kovallam beach), it is a great resort with 5* amenities. The food quality is excellent and most important that it is available round the clock. The beach is not crowded and also provides privacy to certain extent.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJ17N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 3 days during August 2011. It is a good hotel with very good views. Hotel has 3 pools and one of them is under renovation. Service is very good and staff is courteous. Only issue I found was the food which is average in quality and quantity. I had breakfast and dinner in my package.
Rooms are decent, not comparable to 5 stars but my room has excellent ocean view. Since the hotel charges are half of what nearby Leela or Taj has, I found it good value for money. If you are looking for true luxury then this is not the hotel for you.
I used the spa and found it decent.
This is a budget hotel with good pool, good private beach and good service.
If you have any question then email me about the same.

Room Tip: Ask for Top floor rooms with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waytoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUJARAT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

hotel is located at sea shore but after sunami, they have made protection wall hence the beauty of beach is killed and its very dangerous to reach the beach area particularly for kids. while any group is check in , the staff is not taking care for individuals which is first impression of hotel as negative.the food is good but again for room service , take care to get the same in time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHAHGujarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we felt a warm, friendly and professional welcome. This was in the middle of the night (infact around 4.30 am. Sarath was at reception and was welcoming and helpful. He proved to be absolutely excellent during the whole time of our stay. All the staff at the hotel were charming and helpful. Shijina was extremely attentive to our needs and checked regularly whether we needed anything.
Being the low season we had the pleasure of a few quiet days in beautiful, relaxing surroundings.
We would strongly recommend Uday Samudra Beach hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

After looking at fabulous reviews for this hotel I decided to book it for my friends birthday. When we entered the hotel it looked fabulous and tats about where it ended. The welcome was good and so was the lobby. The room dissapointing. tea and coffe faclity in room with plastic spoons, not something you expect from a hotel of this grade. No slippers, bathing robes. Safe which wasn't working, somebody came after two reminders and finally got it working. Breakfast was a real dissapointment. All bakery items were cold and kept cold with a fan blowing on them. Not used to cold croissants or muffins in morning. No orange juice with breakfast. After breakfast we went to the pool at about 9.30 and the attendant said there were no towels available. I sat on one of the sun beds and after about 20-25 mins one of the western lady guest arrived and the attendant came running with two towels. When I looked at him he came to me and said ok I'm just getting towels for you. The T.V. wont work whole day as there was some problem with their cable service provider. I still dont get it that hotel like this actually depend on local cable operators like this. Most of the hotels we've stayed in before actually have DTH operators. My phone wotn work and I went to reception twice to ask them to fix it, after about 5 hours and two visits to reception somebody came to the room to fix it. Called housekeeping before leaving for breakfast to clean the room and they arrived about 4 hrs later to do so.
No attendants availlable in the gym or spa. Took them 30 mins to send me the balls and cue stick for the pool table, only to find that they only had one cue available.

Well I am not normally the kind of person who like to complain but I have had enough of this place. I'm actually sitting in the hotel room writing this review. I've only spend just over a day here and I am FED up. I have travelled worldwide and stayed in hotels ranging from 1 * to 5* and they all have their good and bads and I know them. But this one exceeds in bads. So unfortunately I would not recommend this one.
Now also not to forget the location. yes it is on the beach and as it looks in the pictures, BUT you cannot really use that beach atleast we couldn't, the water was very rough and not enough place to sit or swim. We were told that we'd have to walk down about a KM or so to find a suitable beach. Not to mention that beaches were dirty.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank mpritesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.8 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.3 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa

Property: Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Address: Samudra Beach G V Raja Road | Samudra Beach, Kovalam 695527, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#5 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#8 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UDS located at the famed beaches of Kovalam, just 15 meters from the sea, is an exclusive 4 Star leisure beach hotel& Spa - a destination by itself. The setting, facilities, people, spa, cuisine and its whole philosophy is dedicated to your personal wellness in a luxurious environment. Just by being at UDS-one of the finest hotels in kovalam, your stresses start to flutter away; the landscaping has its own serenity, a harmony of a defined architecture, spacious lawns, blue water pools and soaring coconut grooves all set in four tranquil acres by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uday Samudra Beach
Uday Samudra Beach Hotel
Uday Samudra Beach Thiruvananthapuram Trivandrum
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing