We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel-One of the best i've stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel-One of the best i've stayed in”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Overall this is a superb hotel, having stayed in a number of 4/5 star hotels all over the world I can say this is one of the very best I have stayed in.

One of the other luxury hotel options is to book the Leela (another excellent hotel in Kovalam and currently ranked number one on TripAdvisor). A friend got married in the Leela whilst we were over and no doubt that it is an excellent hotel, but at twice the room rate I would still go back to the Taj given the option.

The rooms are spotless and serviced frequently, the setting and grounds are beautiful and well looked after, the infinity pool is a real highlight and everything I ate was excellent (I ate mainly Indian food, my wife had a couple of western dishes which were not so good- but it is a long way to go to eat Pasta).

The service overall was polite and attentive (especially the swimming pool attendants) and the Spa facilities were top class (UK prices).

Few minor niggles for me:
1) Imported drinks (particularly wine and spirits) are excessively priced (even accounting for the 100% tax on foreign drinks)- Johnny Walker worked out at nearly £8 a measure.
2) Fitness suite is relatively well equipped but very small considering this is a Spa hotel
3) A few children around which may or may not be an issue for you, but as a couple in a Spa hotel looking for peace and quiet....
4) Breakfast buffet is poor value for money at nearly a 1000 rupees pp (approx £13-£15), My tip would be to order breakfast from the menu- you can order individual breaksfasts for half the amount of the buffet (you can have it ordered to your room for no extra cost)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mundal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,237
    411
    79
    30
    30
See reviews for
653
708
67
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

What a wonderful hotel. We were on our honeymoon and we were really looked after with flowers and cake! The hotel itself is very clean with a wonderful 'fall away' pool that you can look out to the ocean. The beach is also very nice with a little private area reserved by their Bait restaurant. We had a wonderful meal at Bait but the meal we had in Curries Restaurant was one of the best curries I have ever tasted!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you want to have a relaxing time. The gardens are beautiful and you can catch a buggy ride to the private beach and lagoon. Room was spotless and had all the facilities for a comfortable stay. The staff were very polite and the pool staff and reception were most helpful. The only problem is you cannot walk to anywhere interesting, but this is fine if you only want to relax and the pool area is a great place for this with its infinity pool, jacuzzi and fantastic sea view.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The location of the hotel was just very eye catching. We stayed in a cottage. The surroundings were simply beautiful, we never had the feel of staying in a hotel but somewhere in our own house. The service was excellent. The room had all the necessaries. The food was also excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rev_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I have been twice at the Taj (Kovalam, kerala) and both times we had very good experience.
The second time my daughter got married there. She got married on the beach surrounded by river, sea, palm trees etc
The staff went out of their way to make the expereince very pleasant for us. Some of guests stayed there for 2 weeks.
I would definitely go again to stay at the Taj

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpatel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The food was one of the finest i have i ever had.
The staff was courteous.
They left nothing when it came to hospitality.

The rooms were very luxurious

The ambiance of the water-body in the hotel is very very nice.
One of the finest hotels.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PareshMarwaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

beautiful hotel in gorgeous situation - either a lovely walk to the beach or a ride in one of the hotel's golf buggies . Good safe food with pleasant waiters. Nice spa but pricy with the extra 22.5% tax they don't tell you about.
good rooms with a sea view if you pay extra(worth it). Beautiful gardens and pool and beach.

Front desk a bit chaotic - one would expect at a Taj hotel for Engllsh to be spoken well but its not .We thought they would not handle a problem well and when we had one they didn't. Management inclined to be absent and different parts of the hotel didn't know what the other parts were up to.
The travel desk did not speak good English and had little idea of the local sites and where to go and what to do - the taxi driver and autorickshaw driver outside were much cheaper than the hotel cars - good tailor just outside the gate as well.
A great holiday but expect to fend for yourself outside the hotel or if things go wrong.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spencer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
0.7 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
558 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#4 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
932 reviews
4.6 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Address: G V Raja Vattappara Road | Trivandrum, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, Kovalam, is delightful in many ways. While to some it is one of the finest beach resorts in Kerala, to others it is an amazing backwater retreat. And there are those that love it for its hill resort layout. Now it's all that and more. There's a nice new buzz all over. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kovalam Hotel Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Hotel
Taj Green Cove Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Green Cove Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing