We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam
Nearby Hotels
$49
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$103
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Kovalam Beach(Kovalam)
$829
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$44
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$46
$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$63
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Abad Harmonia(Kovalam)
$45
$42
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$24
$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$112
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,919)
Filter reviews
1,919 results
Traveler rating
1,329
436
87
33
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,329
436
87
33
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjasmine baybait restaurantcurriesghan shyamjasmine restaurantbon voyageseaside restaurantprivate beachboat rideinfinity poolgolf buggiesa garden view roompresidential suitepool sidetravel deskexcellent propertyspecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,162 - 1,167 of 1,919 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We visited this hotel in January during a stay in four different places in kerela. This is a perfect stay for anyone who wants luxury with the added extras of beautiful gardens, beach, a lake with free boat ride rivaling mini backwaters. Staff went out of the their way to help in any way possible, & were very approachable and friendly. The pool has gorgeous views over the sea below and staff are very quick to provide towels and any drinks needed. We had booked both curries and bait restaurants prior to arrival with the help of Basil the restaurant manager, whom was very prompt in responding to my emails. When we visited Curries I unfortunately had an upset stomach due to a meal in a beach bar. The meal was gorgeous but i could not finish it due to being unwell the staff were apologetic even though it was not there error they gave discounts on the food. The next day Basil came tonfind us to see if I was ok and gave us free ginger and lime tonic to settle my stomach which is going above and beyond. The rooms are in a true Kerela natural style, luxury toiletries are provided the hot water is very welcome after other stays in india. Bait is well worth a visit gorgeous fish and my boyfriend had steak. The service is impeccable. We spent many an hour enjoying the hotel grounds so many flowers, hidden jacuzzis and insects to be found. Loved it all.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at Taj Kovalam for a week in April 2014 and I must say that its one of the best hotels I've stayed at. The pool area is lovely and rooms very specious and modern. Aircon worked well. Offseason prices seem to be rasonable and our offer was extremely good, much less than the Leela in Kovalam.

We had a meal plan with one meal/day. The only confused service was in the main restaurant. There was an enourmos amount of waiters but still you had to wait for drinks, bill etc. I guess though this is the case in most of the better hotels in India. Also the restaurant failed to inform us about the meal package: what was included at lunch or dinner, if the soft drinks and water where included or not, as sometime they where priced and sometimes not. Sometimes we got a nill of some of the drinks and some of theme were for free. This confused us several times.

In April in Kovalam the temple festival is celebrated and the election campaining going on too, so the was quite a bit of noise from the street near by, so lounging by the pool was not very relaxing or quiet as there might have been 2-3 different loudspeakers blasting from outside. This noise also reached our room, which was strange as I was talking with an other hotel guest whose room was more up the hill, and she ahd not heard any noise from the street below the hotel. The noise did not stop when we whent to bed and continued at maby 5 am. Luckily I sleep witj earplugs, without it would not have been possible.

If you wand a beach where you can swim, this is not the hotel for you. It seems that the Leela in Kovalam in the only hotel with a proper private beach.

But in the end the stay was very anjoyable and I can warmly recommend Taj Kovalam.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KataA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

The beach here is a seasonal one and appears between November and February.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Fantastic welcome - made us very happy and comfortable. The staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble and always on hand to help with anything. Even the buggies were perfect to get up and down to the beach. We had a major birthday while here and they treated us like royalty with ribbons, candles, balloons and champagne and even our bed decorated 'Happy Birthday' with swans and rose petals. The rooms are fantastic, cool, laid out in thatched stone buildings amongst acres of tropical garden. We have to commend the 'house-keeping' boys who really looked after us. Stunning infinity swimming pool, water gardens and 3 superb restaurants. Even the pool guys were great and always on hand to help provide sun or shade.
All 3 restaurants, including Bait, a stunning beach side fish restaurant offer marvellous Kerala. cuisine. Breakfast is a fab experience with local curries to good old bacon and egg. Jasmine Bay which is the pool side restaurant has service beyond compare - we can't recommend this one enough - the team of chefs ever present to make sure you your experience at the Taj is perfect. We are already planning to get back to the Taj Vivanta for spring next year -happy holiday

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was my 2nd visit to the hotel, the first being back in 2009. It was truly a divine week after a fortnight of non stop travelling! The rooms are practical, comfortable & of good design! The bed was better than mine at home!! I just adored my room & the TV with plenty of great channels! I was only disappointed the remote had no timer on it so I couldn't fall asleep to a movie!! oh well....
The 24 hour fitness centre was extremely useful, although not alot of equipment, at least it had air con & a few of the basic necessities! It would be nice with a better size ball for stretching & perhaps a spinning bike? I hope the steam room in the changing room will be in working order on my next visit! The hotel staff are all delightful. The restaurant/breakfast staff were all very friendly & aware of my particular favourite foods & remembered daily what I would order!! The breakfast was just sensational!! The atmosphere at the hotel is quietly luxurious & they have another restaurant specialising in seafood closer to the sea along with a pitch & putt golf course! The pool is next to the restaurant. I have already booked my next visit!
Thank you lovely people at Taj !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was our first stay at this vivanta by taj resort. The views and landscaping are fantastic. The staff although not always efficient were overall very friendly. We travelled with our baby daughter and were surprised that the hotel on our arrival only had one very old high-chair which was not always available and that the mattress of the baby cot was too small for the cot. Not ideal.
The hotel is located next to a temple and due to a holiday the temple blared loud music and chants about 12 hours a day starting at 5 am. The staff did nothing to warn us of this fact or to effectively address our complaint the following day. We stayed four nights and paid for an upgrade to a suite after two nights. The noise continued, we continued to complain and reception continued to ignore us saying the temple was out of their control. We would have expected an apology, to be moved to a more quiet room, or some sort of service recovery. On check-out the GM finally offered us lunch but we felt this was too little too late.

Room Tip: The suite was beautiful.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Taj Green Cove Resort & Spa Kovalam, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

The temple belongs to the local authority and its beyond our control. However we are working with the village authorities to take necessary steps to avoid disturbance for guest.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews