We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to end your Kerala trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to end your Kerala trip”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were two couples and decided to treat ourselves to two nights in the Presidential Suite (at a last minute discounted rate) to round off an amazing 3 weeks in India. Despite discount it was an expensive treat but well worth it, Absolutely stunning location with a large private pool, two massive bedrooms (one up one down) and two large lounges. Basically we could not fault the accommodation.

The management have made the most of their location and all the accommodation units are well screened by palms and bamboo.

We ate both nights in the sea food restaurant on the beach and had superb meals, The crab feast was amazing as was the sea bass. The sunsets on this beach were memorable. As a safety conscious westerner I was concerned at the absence of life guard and found the waves quite challenging, certainly not suited to young children.

The food at breakfast was superb - masala dhosas which I am still dreaming about, Lunch was also excellent with the yellow chick pea dhal the best we had in India.

The Spa is superb (according to my wife) and the gym excellent.

All in all a great place to chill and reflect on your Indian experiences.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the Presidential Suite, You will certainly feel like Royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    407
    78
    30
    30
See reviews for
632
689
63
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldermaston, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Vivanta by Taj at Kovalam was the last stop on our tour of Kerala, where we wanted to chill out and relax for a few days before heading back to Mumbai and then home.

Our room was comfortable with a sea view (of sorts - a bit of a squint through trees did the job), and good-sized bathroom with separate shower. We had an issue with a non-functioning in-room fridge when we started our stay but this was resolved eventually, although it did take a few calls to achieve. As well as a TV, our room had an unplugged home theatre, but we never managed to get this to work.

The hotel overall was nice, with a very good swimming pool area, with plenty of sunbeds and attentive service for drinks/snacks. On the whole, staff were very pleasant and helpful, although making ourselves understood was a struggle at times with some members of staff.

The beach closest to the hotel is not much to write home about, but is accessible by a shortish walk or via the golf buggy transport offered by the hotel. This can be used to get to Bait, the hotel's beachside restaurant.

'Er indoors availed herself of the hotel's spa, and reports that she had a very nice time, and would recommend it. I gave the gym a whirl while she was being pampered and, while small, it had enough equipment to at least try to knock off some of the calories that would be put back on again at dinner in the evening.

Food at breakfast in Jasmine Bay was very good, with plenty of choices, including dosas, although the speed of service at this time (and at other times in the day) was variable. The hotel's other two main 'named' restaurants (Bait, Curries) were very good.

Check in and check out were fine - nice coconuts to drink and a tour of the hotel on check in; some discrepancies on our bill sorted with efficiency on check out. We also received some small gifts - on check in we were adorned with necklaces made from shells, and on check out, 'er indoors was presented with a wooden spoon filled with Keralan spices - very nice touches.

Overall, we managed to achieve our few days of relaxation in what was a very pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardP46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is excellent. Rooms are absolutely great. The location is very good. Food was absolutely heavenly. The swimming pool is lovely and this place is a fantastic choice in Kovalam.

Service is a bit slow: if you request for something out of the ordinary and a bit special, it will take forever. If you have food outside the rush hour, be prepared for cold food and slow service!

The Chef was very accommodating: he prepared some special typical Kerala dishes for us like Puttu Kadalai, Idi Appam, etc.

Overall, a nice place to be in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venkym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Brilliant property, Amazing staff, Superb view, Great food, Relaxing Stay... what else one wants!!

We have visited Taj during Nov 2013 for a stop over a weeken! We had the reservation and recieved a confirmation call a day in adavance to check on pickup from airport facility.. As we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by the staff.. They took us thru the property making us familiar with what all they have to offer and they had it all - Spa, Gym, Shop, Amazing restraunts, Beach.. Interestingly they have daily an dedicated activity lined up, like Wed (Lady night), Thursday (cooking classes) Friday (DJ night) etc.. That was quite attractive, however due to short stay we couldnt try that out...

We were taken in a buggy to our room which was kind of our prvt cottage.. As we entered the room, it was nicely decorated and greeted warmly... They serve evening tea @ Bait (there beach facing restraunt) .. Wow! Enjoying evening tea in front of beach, with amazing munches and sun set view.. Brilliant, its a short cut to heaven..

The food is at a milder side as compared to routine Indian food, since most of the visitors are foreigners.. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the lavish buffet at the breakfast and dinner at Bait.. Its delicious and served with lots of love..

The pool is cool, with amazing view of the beach far, which gives an optical illusion of infinity pool..

"Sp. Word for the Staff" The staff is just amazingly warm, courteous, helpful!! On our second day, almost the entire staff knew our second name and also the hotel manager and their top chef sp came to our table to make us feel special... Truely they make you feel king and queen.. And I like what they said "Ask us for anything you want, there is nothing impossible for us"

The weather was just perfect as a Cherry on the Cake...

As we left we were gifted a small token of Kerela spices, Ohh i totally treasure it... Amazing stay completely...

Room Tip: Take beach facing room Get reservation in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VKB188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights in December 2013.
When I planned this trip I wished to stay in Leela. But they had every rooms already booked. So I chose Vivanta by Taj and now, after my vacation is over, I think Vivanta is the best choice.
Actually it located not in the Kovalam exactly but in Samudra beach. It takes 8-10 minutes to get to Kovalam beach by tuk-tuk. But Samudra beach is much better - long, quiet, not so many people. The hotel has large territory including way to the beach and seaside restaurant. It was great to sit there in the evening observing sunset.
Room was very comfortable and well-equiped. Housekeeping - regular.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikhail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Excellent staff: genuine, happy staff who serve with a smile. Special thanx to chef W Das who dished out special dishes for our 1 year old son everyday!
Big thanx to Aneesh who took the trouble to travel all the way to Trivandrum after our checkout to give back my son's favourite toy.
Neat & clean beach. Excellent all the way!

Room Tip: If you want a view of the sea from your room, request them for rooms numbered 300+
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav_Ananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
210 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Taj Kovalam is a very good property and we stayed in the month of Nov 2013. The experience was very good. right from check in to check out and also during the stay , there was a distinct mark of TAJ service.
Be it eating dinner at the Beach front restaurant or buffet breakfast the whole experience was superb

We were in the Presidential Suite and the rooms and the pool were well kept.

Room Tip: over all it is a good property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajaybgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Warm Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
0.7 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
550 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#4 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
898 reviews
1.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Address: G V Raja Vattappara Road | Trivandrum, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, Kovalam, is delightful in many ways. While to some it is one of the finest beach resorts in Kerala, to others it is an amazing backwater retreat. And there are those that love it for its hill resort layout. Now it's all that and more. There's a nice new buzz all over. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kovalam Hotel Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Hotel
Taj Green Cove Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Green Cove Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing