We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Beautiful location, superb service, friendly n caring staff, great poolside, rejuvenating spa, luxurious n comfortable rooms, warm indoors, green outdoors, private beach, safe environment, variety entertainment, good food, special treats, pleasant surprizes. All of this n more characterized this charming hotel.
It was a wonderful experience staying here, truly made the vacation special that one craves to go back for more.
Overall amazing hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    410
    79
    30
    30
See reviews for
651
704
67
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pune
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

we stayed 3 nights in Taj Vivanta Kovalam from 07-sep 2013 to 09 sep 2013 on our honeymoon trip. This is our first experience with Taj and we are fully satisfied with it. Staff was very courteous in all the services, like, welcome and check in procedure, hotel tour, food orders, room service etc etc etc...this beautiful resort is just 3-4 Kms away from main kovalam beach although resort itself has a beautiful beach.Ours room is Sea view room with strong wave sounds coming in night. Room was excellent in every aspect, Bed, Cleanliness,Lighting, furniture, bathroom... they marked it as green resort .. all the products in bathroom were organic and were very good...
this resort is divided into two areas sepearated by public road. its a 10 min walk to other side OR you can take BUGGY !!
We tried all 3 restaurants present at resort, Jasmine is one which serves Ala carte and Buffet both and is located by the side of main pool, it is beautifully located with seaview... Curries is indoor restaurant just besides Jasmine... Food at both of them is excellent in taste.. we ordered mostly indian.. but we tried Buffet and it was good too... in some dishes you can customize the cooking by yourself.. like Dal tadka WOW !!
3rd restaurant which is present on the other side of resort "The Bait", is on the seaside with lovely view especially in the evenings.... does not have much Veg options.. but they made sure that we did not feel so !!!

Pros :- Beautifully Located Resort, excellent service, wonderful Ambience

Cons :- Charges for Travel (Travel desk of hotel) to roam around in city OR kanyakumari are very high in comparison of Locals
view of Sea in Sea view rooms present till 2nd floor is bit blocked by trees, can be designed better

Room Tip: if going for Sea view room, Go for a room which is above 2nd floor....they will have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gagangoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed with family on monsoon package of 3 nights (VFM), garden view room, from 17th - 20th Sep 2013.
Taj is the benchmark in service, they have maintained it here as well. What impresses me the most, is their welcoming attitude. Many faces come to my mind, like the lady, who kept my son entertained. Be it the staff at the reception, restaurant or the house keeping, I'm happy. The house keeping staff takes a second round in the evening, just to make sure, amazing. They do organise some activities, like the morning yoga and chocolate making session. The chef of pastries, was interesting.

The property is in two plots separated by a public road. It's a 5 minutes stroll (or take the buggy), from the hotel to the seafront. Crossing the road and then through a mini golf course and archery area, a lagoon and to the seafront. The walk through the seafront towards the seafood restaurant 'Bait' is beautiful and well maintained with a beautiful lawn. You can sit on these lawns for hours watching the waves. The bait was closed during day, supposedly for renovation and open daily only after 7pm.

If you want to wet your feet on the beach or take a swim???
No, the seafront is not a beach.
It is a breakwater shored with boulders. You have to walk to a small beach (Hawa) in front of the KTDC Samudra. Private beach is a MYTH, there are no private beaches here, be it at the Leela or Taj or KTDC Samudra. All beaches are accessible and are for everyone, i.e. of the Government. This beach is a bit hidden among the hotels and small, so not many locals frequent.

The walk through the property in the hotel part of it, is like in a rainforest with lush green trees and plants with barely some sun, seeping through. The main building is on a hill top, where you get the view of the sea that is at least a kilometre away. The sea view rooms, are also at a similar distance from the water. The infinity pool is next to the jasmine restaurant, where the buffet meals are arranged. It has a beautiful view.

To conclude I would say, all the Taj loyalists, you will not be disappointed, neither were we. But if you have no particular reason for sticking to Taj, then definitely choose 'The Leela kovalam', just for it's majestic location, on a high cliff, like the Taj at the fort Aguada in Goa.. Although my Leela experience is of a couple of years back, the property is huge, well maintained, beautiful and their service is also at par.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are a bit far from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjutres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed five nights in the Taj in Kovalam when friends were getting married. The wedding reception was held in the hotel and a lot of guests stayed there. From the moment we arrived and were ushered to a comfortable couch and our check-in details brought to us, I knew that we were in for a treat.
The rooms were spacious and wonderfully kept by the staff. Small touches such as lighting an oil burner, folding some clothes, an elephant out of towels(!) were so appreciated. The staff at the Taj went out of their way at all times for us. One evening I had left my phone in the bar. When I returned later, security recognised me straight away and then took me by buggy to my room to retrieve my passport before giving it back to me. It was the smoothness and efficiency of this that impressed me though.
We enjoyed food at all three restaurants. The day after arriving, we mixed up the times for breakfast and arrived as the buffet was closed, however, they still arranged for some food to be cooked for us.
The only negative that I can think of is that the wi-fi is an extra to be paid for - I would have expected it to be included with the room.
All in all, we had the most relaxing time, chilling out by the pool, drinks by our side, enjoying delicious food and generally being so well looked after. Would recommend to anyone who wants a little luxury when they are in Kovalam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This trip was totally amazing...and Taj Vivanta made it all happen. I was confused whether to book Taj or Turtle on the beach. Looked up Taj Vivanta website and got to know of the monsoon offer which was perfect for my budget. The moment we stepped out off the car till the time we left for our airport there isn't a single moment thats not memorable for us. The property is so big and good that you can easily think of relaxing over there for a day or two. The staff took care of us from the very begin. We were showered with so many surprises that we couldnt get the smile off our faces. Neera bar, Spa, Bait, pool side restaurant, swimming pool, private beach everything was just wonderful. There were always some sort of surprises for us everywhere we went. The staff were just awesome and the food was amazing. Reasonably priced bar. Dont wanna mention all the small surprises as it would spoil all the fun of getting a surprise. We had booked for a sea facing room, but that was a slight disappointment as I guess the trees were blocking the view of the sea. But the rooms were too good and well maintained.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floor should always be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheriqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had the best stay at taj kovalam. There service provided was very good....plenty of staff all over the place prepared to bend over backwards to make your stay the best and they are flexible to honour any requests. The food was fantastic and we pampered ourselves with two spa treatments which was totally relaxing. The barman was so friendly and he taught us to play the modified version of snooker in the barand it was a lot of fun. Although it was raining most of our trip....it really didn't matter as we didn't feel the need to leave the hotel.....we felt totally relaxed and happy just staying in. We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so memorable and we are looking forward to our visit to one of the taj chennai hotels next year:)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Namitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed the trip a lot. Listing a few pros and cons:
Pros:
Bait , seaside restaurant not to be missed.
House keeping
Safety of the property
Cons:
Intrusive staff at the buffet restaurant
Bad food at Jasmine restaurant

Overall enjoyable and memorable. The good way better than the bad. Must visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troubador26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Regards

Mathew Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
0.7 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
557 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#4 of 95 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
927 reviews
1.6 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Address: G V Raja Vattappara Road | Trivandrum, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, Kovalam, is delightful in many ways. While to some it is one of the finest beach resorts in Kerala, to others it is an amazing backwater retreat. And there are those that love it for its hill resort layout. Now it's all that and more. There's a nice new buzz all over. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kovalam Hotel Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Hotel
Taj Green Cove Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Green Cove Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing