We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Property, But Not that Big”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have never been much satisfied by the Vivanta range of Taj Hotels. Taj Kovalam couldn't change my opinion too. The hotel is good, relaxing with good food, view and location and comfort, but its not upto the mark when it comes to size of the property, especially if you consider Taj. One is provided with recreational facilities like golf and archery apart from the regulars but they don't seem to excite one because of the space constraint. The rooms are not that spacious and the hotel building is also built over a small platform not offering a very relaxed feeling.

Room Tip: Take the sea view rooms ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arijit750260416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,387 - 1,393 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

After much dilemma between Taj and Leela, We finally picked Taj for its hospitality! And we were absolutely right. We stayed in mid august for 5 days. Apart from a few glitches it was a perfect trip. Firstly, it was impossible to get through the reservation desk (Mr. Geo). I waited quite long to receive the confirmation on my booking, the confirmation of advance payment made. But once we reached there, it was truly a beautiful experience.

Location: The resort is well located and they have two properties. One is across the road. We found it two days later. It will be best if you ask the staff to give you a guided tour of the property. The front desk staff Veronica and the boys are extremely sweet and helpful.

Food: We largely ate in the hotel. Jasmine Bay has nice buffet and very good mix of Indian, South Indian and continental. I would suggest go for local food, as they make that the best. There's also a sea food specialty restaurant near the beach called Bait. We had pizza there and it was one of the best pizzas ever(thank you Deepak)! The entire staffs in both restaurants are really warm. They will put in every bit of effort to make your trip comfortable. They keep surprising you with complimentary stuff, specially the things that you have not eaten before or tried. The only problem was the mosquitoes in the evening, which often get stuck to salad or breads which are on display. They should do something about it.
A very special mention to Akhila, Ali, Mrinmoy, Jeffin (I have forgotten a few names)

Rooms: We stayed in Garden View Superior room. Rooms aren’t that big but they are beautiful. They missed on bathroom slip-ons. I only wish they change the wash-basin in 108. It looked sort of old. House-keeping is quite efficient.

Activities: They have special activities each day, so you will definitely not get bored. Yoga in the morning. Cookery/mocktail classes etc. They serve complimentary tea/coffee in the evening with a snack. Don't miss the boat trip between 4-6pm. We took archery Lessons with the activity manager, who's quite warm, Sanal. There are other activities like Golf, tennis etc.

Around: Kovalam beach is about 15-20 Min drive or rickshaw ride. (Approx Rs100 by ricks & 400 by taxi) Best to get rickshaws or taxi's which are outside the hotel as hotel cars are exorbitantly priced. Mr. Mohan at travel desk is extremely helpful. You can do a Trivandram day trip with shopping and sight-seeing for 1000-1200 in taxi or Kanyakumari (app 1500). What I would definitely suggest is Poovar. It’s a boat ride for 2 hours, they take you through back-waters, mangroves, floating restaurants, while watching birds and you finally see the beautiful intersection between ocean and river. Try going to kingfisher boating as they have nice boats. All taxi's have tie-ups.

There’s one thing with Taj particularly… they all are just trying their best together to make it a beautiful experience for you. Thank you, Taj Kovalam for an extremely warm and memorable experience!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank poojam0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence. Thank you for complimenting the staff and we have shared the same with all our staff members.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I cannot rate this place highly enough. The staff were ALL amazing. The food was delicious. The spa was perfect. The rooms were just beautiful and the grounds were exceptional. I don't think I could fault this place AT ALL. The views were stunning and there was a list of complimentary things to do during the day which was wonderful. Rickshaw from here to Kovalam beach should cost about 100 Rupees. Free yoga with Preeti in the mornings and free cooking classes in the evenings on some days. I felt like a total celebrity staying here. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who GENUINELY wanted to help you out and make your stay as wonderful as possible. I would wholeheartedly recommend you finish your trip off with this lavish luxury!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tellitlikeitis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My friend and me been their for last night DJ, all went well apart from the incident, which ruined all. Straight after DJ, we been out to have our last cigarette, upon smoking Asst FnB Manager (Biju) came and shouted that this is not the place to smoke (but he is not realizing that one of his host only provide the lighter and he confirmed that we can smoke their), all we response to him that "why dont u to be say on a polite way" for this Biju and his colleagues(FnB only) push away us along through the straircase.
I went to reception and ask about Duty Manager to raise a complaint, where Biju jump into the reception and say that he is the Manager on Duty and we have to leave the premises immediatly(still the FnB staffs are surround us and shouting)
Next, Security Manager Mr Vinod came and introduce himself as he is the Manager on Duty, we had discussion abt the incident, he responeded on a proper manner but he failed to make a written complaint from us, eventhough we requested several times.

Lost for me (1) Spolied my Armani T-Shirt (USD 110) (2) Bruises on my left arm
Dont underestimate that we are drunk after Party, because we both are working for 6 Star luxuary hospitality, where we do know how to behave on a public environment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Vipin421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

We have noted your ccomments mentioned in the feedback. We have taken up the issues seriously with concerned managers who will take necessary steps to enhance the quality of service.

We value your comments and it’s only through such constructive feed back that we will be able to rectify the problems and ensure they do not recur.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Hotel is very good and the rooms are well planned and cozy. We were 3 of us and we found one room comfortable enough for us. The staff are also very friendly. However, the communication among the staff leaves a lot to be desired. We book to go to Kanyakumari early in the morning at 3:30 AM and had requested for some packed breakfast. The breakfast was not ready on time and no one knew about it when we asked for it. However, they made some quick arrangement and provided some things to us. Similarly, when we asked for our rooms to be made, there was a communication gap and the same had to be re-requested. However, the Sea-Side restaurant - Bait - is just great with very friendly staff and very good food. The breakfast is also good. For transportation around Kovalam and Trivandrum, it is better to go for the taxis waiting outside the Taj gate, rather than avail the same from Taj as it is 2 times costlier. There is no adjoining beach to this hotel and so if you are looking for private beach, there is none here. However, there is a boating service between 4-6 PM. There is ample space for games

Room Tip: Each room has a balcony. So, though the rooms are non-smoking, one can smoke in the balcony. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Partha_Majumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We have noted your comments. The issue has been taken up with the concerned team. Will ensure to increase the quality of service in the area.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A beautiful resort located at samudra beach, little before kovalam beach. wonderfull food nad good location. Has a excellent reastaurant beside the private beach. Go for rooms starting with 2 and above.. However, house keeping service is not so good and prompt. I could not get green tea sachet in the room even after asking for repeatedly....otherwise a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose room nos. starting with 2 and above and go for even nos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shubhadeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hi! I had a recent experience at Vivanta by Taj, Kovalam and I can assure everyone that THIS IS THE BEST PLACE TO BE in Kovalam. We live in Trivandrum, Kerala so we did not stay there but we (with two small boys) spent the day there and those few hours itself we were impressed. I could not find a single flaw anywhere. Beautifully and tastefully designed, this is even better than Leela, Kovalam and Turtle on the Beach. The staff was cordial and a Guy called Sudeep went out of his way to assist us and show us around the property. The food especially the salad and the dessert was delicious. the best place is their sea side restaurant, Bait which has a superb location. All in all a place worth staying if your pocket permits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_india80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew T, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Vivanta by Taj – Kovalam!!

Thank you for your review about Vivanta by Taj- Kovalam.

We are most delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful experience in our Resort and found the staff and services outstanding. Your feedback will most certainly add impetus in our quest towards excellence.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of the very best in services, facilities & hospitality in the true Taj tradition, which the Vivanta by Taj-Kovalam is committed to delivering to all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kovalam
0.7 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
1.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
575 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#5 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
959 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amrutham
Amrutham
#13 of 52 in Kovalam
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove

Address: G V Raja Vattappara Road | Trivandrum, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#2 Family Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $193 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove, Kovalam, is delightful in many ways. While to some it is one of the finest beach resorts in Kerala, to others it is an amazing backwater retreat. And there are those that love it for its hill resort layout. Now it's all that and more. There's a nice new buzz all over. In the renewed cottages and villas, the nouvelle restaurants, the high energy bar, and the spa where you'll go Ah! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kovalam Hotel Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Hotel
Taj Green Cove Kovalam
Taj Green Cove Resort
Vivanta By Taj - Green Cove Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing