We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We travelled to Kerala for our anniversary and Kovalam was our first stop.Niraamaya Retreats is absolutely gorgeous! We appreciate their hospitality.They help cater to the taste and specification of every individual at their restaurant.View from the restaurant is of the stunning beach.The best thing I liked is that they maintain their property so well by cleaning it on regular basis.The rooms are clean and spacious as well.We stayed at the Rock Garden.While checking out we were hoping to come back there soon!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desai83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We are delighted to receive the positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We thank you for all your appreciation and promise to live up to your expectation of an immaculate retreat.

We appreciate your specific feedback on upkeep of property and services at restaurant.

Your feedback is really a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2014

After a stressful and difficult year I arrived at the Surya Sumadra feeling fairly exhausted. This beautiful hotel set in immaculately kept grounds, the charming antique cottages within sight and sound of the surf crashing along the deserted beach and most of all the unfailingly charming, polite and kind staff certainly lifted my spirits and restored some of my lost energy. The restaurants were very good and the fish restaurant with excellent cuisine is not to be missed, I cant imagine anywhere better to relax and unwind. In addition there is a lovely spa with professional therapists who give excellent ayurvedic massages and therapies. As everywhere in Surya Sumadra one is always greeted with dazzling smiles. This is a special place.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra to stay in a heritage seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thankfully accept the gracious feedback of yours on your recent stay with us. We are overwhelmed by the praises you have showered on our property and services.

We appreciate your feed back of our employees, which will really enhance their motivation to provide exemplary services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Had the best 2-day break ever with my girlfriends and kids. Everything was perfect from when we reached there to when we left. The staff received us very graciously; they were kind, knowledgeable and always attentive. The views of the ocean were spectacular. We stayed in the Octagon, which was bright, airy, and spacious and had a great view of the ocean. My compliments to Chef Prakash for dishing out the yummiest mussels and calamari dishes. Every course of our meal was beautifully presented and very flavorful. The kids absolutely enjoyed each and every meal they had there. The spa is very upscale with a wide variety of treatments. And the doctor and the therapists are very knowledgeable. A perfect place for a quick getaway with your friends and perfect for a family vacation too. Definitely one of the best beach resorts. Looking forward to going there again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UR0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We are overwhelmed by your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are highly delighted to know that you, your friends and kids have really enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your specific feedback on Octagon suite, our cuisine and Spa treatments.

Your feedback is really an inspiration for us to excel more in our standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Only stayed here for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Had a sea view villa -which was fantastic - four poster bed with mosquito net although we did not see or feel and mosquitoes at all - really comfy - and a choice of indoor or outdoor shower - my husband got quite a taste for the outdoor shower. Lovely place to sit on the veranda with a great view of the sea. Infinity pool was great - and the sun loungers were all on different levels so it never felt crowded. Great bar overlooking the sea with a brilliant view of the sunsets, Choice of two amazing beaches on both sides of the hotel - although quite a long set of steps down to them.
Great restaurant - really good food and also entertainment over dinner. Service was great and everything was done to help. Went into Kovalam but it felt a bit seedy and preferred the shops at Somatheeram which is really nearby - also a good spice shop at the end of the road. Would love to go back and stay longer.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnandlaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We thank you for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that we could provide you exemplary services and make your stay a memorable one.

We appreciate your specific feed back on our facilities.

We are glad to inform you that we will have a large boutique shop in operation by March, 14.

Your feedback is really a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at Niraamaya Retreats - Surya Samudra at the end of November 2013 after traveling 30 days from North India to South India. This place is a little piece of heaven and the staff is just wonderful and accomodating. Niraamaya Retreats - Surya Samudra had the best WiFi service provided -- the best in all my travels through India. The Spa was excellent. I had 3 treatments done as well as my Horiscope -- it was a great expereince. Niraamaya Retreats - Surya Samudra is a 200 Rupee drive from the lighthouse (which is what people refer to as the center of town). I did not have an issue of the location since I enjoyed driving back and forth from Niraamaya Retreats - Surya Samudra to the lighthouse area where my friends were staying. I hired a Tuk, Tuk driver Shan (ph: 9947464575) to take me wherever I needed. I would hightly recommend calling Shan as his Tuk, Tuk as he is very nice, very responsive and provides a fare fare. He would pick me up outside of the gates of Niraamaya Retreats - Surya Samudra. Niraamaya Retreats - Surya Samudra does have a private car and driver service but the cost was in no comparission to a Tuk, Tuk and again I loved the drive and seeing "indian life" as I was being transported.

I saw no negatives to Niraamaya Retreats - Surya Samudra. I was looking for a beautiful place to relax after an adventurous 30 day travel . . . Niraamaya Retreats - Surya Samudra fit the bill.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We are overwhelmed by your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to know that all of our services have left a favourable impression with you and you loved your stay with us.

We appreciate your specific feedback on WiFi, Spa treatments and our cuisine.

Your feedback is really a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

beautiful location about 7-10kms south of kovalam. quiet and green with two semi-private beaches. the staff is very hospitable. seems pricey for india, but the service we received exceeded that of other 'excellent' category hotels we have stayed in. the food at the restaurant is delicious, and prakash the chef will make sure any dietary preferences are catered to. every day they organise a cultural programme to accompany dinner - music, dance, so you get some experience of the local culture. pool is excellent. we stayed in standard room, near entrance to the retreat. very comfortable modern room, that was well kept. all in all excellent. exceeded our expectations. food was wonderful, room was comfy and location idyllic

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domsworld28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We are overwhelmed by your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to know that we could create such a memorable experience to you, which made you showering praises for all our services.

Your feedback is really a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

My review is late, we visited in Dec 2012, but not forgotten. This resort is amazing. The grounds are beautiful. The staff is exceptionally nice & accommodating.

Pros: beautiful grounds (including hammocks placed throughout), extremely nice staff, very nice spa (but this isn't an "american style" spa - the service I had included a hard, wooden slab rather than cushion top like I'm used to. But I still enjoyed the service), excellent food

Cons: There was almost no entertainment. One night there was a traditional dance program in the restaurant but otherwise there was nothing. If you're looking to just relax and chill out with a book or to sleep, this is the place. Also I had read previous reviews to book the Octagon room as it had the best view. And it did! But it lacked privacy. Staff would randomly be outside the window and watering plants or walking by. They didn't appear to be nosy however the windows were right in front of the bedroom. For the amount of money I paid for the room, I would have expected more privacy. It also lacked excursions. There were a few options to choose from but I would recommend walking just outside the hotel grounds up the dirt road and you'll find some guys standing there offering trips at a cheaper price and more variety.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a view and will give up some privacy, go for Octagon. All rooms have acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rejeeshkumar, General Manager at Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra, Kovalam!!!

We are delighted to have your feedback on your stay with us in Dec, 2012. You must have noticed from the reviews later on that we have considerably excelled in our services since 2012. We will continue to improve and strive to provide experiential and memorable holiday to our guests.

We really appreciate your feedback. We have provided cloth blinds which are in sync with the character of Octagon suite to enable the guests to have more privacy, if they wish so. However Octagon suite is chosen by most of our guests considering its closeness and view of the ocean from the room.

We have taken all steps to ensure that none of our staff intrude into the privacy of our guests.

We have recently floated a bliss package which would address your concern on options for excursions.

The excursion and taxi service organised by the retreat will be slightly expensive that what is available on road side as our retreat has the responsibility to pay tax on such service. However we take responsibility to ensure the safety and comfort of our guests, which may be lacking when organised directly with drivers outside.

Your feedback is really a great source of motivation for us as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Niraamaya for another memorable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
3.3 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
3.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
2.9 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#23 of 52 in Kovalam
241 reviews
2.9 mi away
Amrutham
Amrutham
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra

Address: Pulinkudi | Mullur, South of Kovalam, Kovalam 695521, India (Formerly Surya Samudra Private Retreats)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#1 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Business Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $282 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now re-opened under a new management as Surya Samudra Private Retreats. Relais & Chateaux Luxury heritage beach resort. Adjoining two pristine, unspoilt beaches and completely secluded from the busy tourist areas of Kovalam. Enjoy complete privacy and serenity. Stay in a carefully restored traditional Kerala tharavadu dwelling. At our Spa Niraamaya, highly trained therapists pamper you with herbs, oils, and concoctions that relax your body, revitalise your mind, and renew your spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surya Samudra Private Retreats Hotel Kovalam
Surya Samudra Beach Garden Hotel
Surya Samudra Beach Garden Spa
Niraamaya Retreats Surya Samudra Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing