We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bethsaida Hermitage
Nearby Hotels
$149
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$44
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$46
$39
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$63
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$49
$43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$103
$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Harmonia(Kovalam)
$42
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
308
69
25
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
69
25
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslike coming homeayurvedic treatmentshealing centerprivate beachdaily yogawonderful retreatspent a weeklocal fishermencomfortable roomsclean beachsea breezearabian seakovalam beachorphanageparadisemassagedosha
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 416 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I can usually criticise some places in the world but I can say that I have never stayed anywhere which is so absolutely perfect! - Location, accommodation, staff, packages, food - this is a 5 star resort. I took a 12 day Ayurvedic treatment package which was wonderful. The Ayurvedic doctors and therapists were professional and knowledgeable about there work and I left feeling refreshed, relax and very healthy. The food was freshly cooked and varied and I never once craved western food. You do not have to worry about any health problems here with upset tummies etc. All the staff from Reception, restaurant, house keeping or gardeners were all polite, courteous and helpful. Whether you want to relax in the resort with 2 swimming pools and a private beach or explore the surrounding areas safely, there is never a dull moment here. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and there are plenty of different aspects to choose from - near the pool and beach, higher up the hill if you want more sea breeze.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

If you wish for tranquillity, excellent service, quality therapeutic treatment and wonderful cuisine, then this is the place to visit. A beautiful setting of immaculate gardens gently falling down in terraces to the Arabian sea with clean, spacious and attractive accommodation. A place of peace and spirituality. Not a place for those who wish for night life or who have young families...but then we came under neither of those categories. For us, as older travellers, looking for comfort and peace after a busy touring holiday, it was just paradisical. The staff are so very helpful and pleasant and the body & face massages amazingly restorative! The food was the best we have had in India (and we have travelled a bit!).

Room Tip: We had a "sea breeze" room overlooking the sea. Worth the extra (small) amount. In March (end of season) it was quiet and relaxing - but a room further up the hill might be quieter in full season
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We spent our last three nights of a six week trip here. The hotel and grounds are immaculate. We found the reception staff a little aloof but all others were very helpful. Our room was large and clean - we weren't allowed the ac remote though.
Most guests appeared to be on a package deal which included ayrrvedic and it was a bit odd to see them dressed in grey robes and headscarfs.
It is more of a health spa - no liquor license and nothing nearby. We spent most of our days at Lighthouse beach as we found the resort a bit on the quiet side (and we're in our mid 40s ).
If it's serious peace and quiet you're after this would be the place.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Spent four days at Bethsaida with girlfriends and decided that the Ayurveda massage was superfluous. Lovely staff, gorgeous grounds and a tidy beach, where we swam, watched fishermen pull in their daily catch and negotiated with ever-present, but cheerful vendors.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAStraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A friend and I have just spent a week at Bethsaida Hermitage resort and we thought we had landed in heaven. The location is sensational with wonderful views of and breezes from the ocean. The daily treatments are fantastic, the food superb and the yoga brilliant. The staff are very friendly and professional. It follows Ayurvedic practice fairly closely in that there is no alcohol and the diet is totally vegetarian.

If you want a place to regain or find inner peace and a healthy body and mind without being over the top you can't beat this place. Prices are very good including the cosmetics, beauty treatments, and garments and all proceeds go the owner's philanthropic operations including orphanages, schools and an elderly people's home.

Thank you Bethsaida Hermitage for a wonderful life-changing experience.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the sea view air conditioned rooms. There is no spa but didn't know how to undo the rating!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbie1Brsbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews