We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethsaida Hermitage
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Reviewed January 11, 2014

An amazing resort which we stumbled across 2 years ago due to friends staying next door which we have now visited 3 times. Amazing grounds, 2 beautiful swimming pools, an excellent restaurant, fab treatments, comfortable rooms (non a/c not so good in Dec/jan), beautiful beaches and very professional staff. We had our 2 children with us and the staff welcomed them, however, most of the guests didn't seem too bothered apart from 1 very grumpy man who didn't like them waking him in the afternoon! Fab yoga classes from Joseph who did an advanced session at 8.15 every morning. A real gem, can't believe it wasn't full as far superior to the hotel next door which charges double the price. Heavenly, we will return!

Room Tip: Go for AC if you want a decent nights sleep!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Bethsaida Hermitage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 408 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My name is Nukusheva Aigul, from Kazakhstan.
This summer I spent fantastic pleasant time at Bethsaida Hermitage. Well - established system of customer service creates really comfort conditions for relax and effective treatment.
During stay at Bethsaida Hermitage me and my mother took an excellent treatment, good rest, gained strength, and received a great charge of vivacity for the rest of the year.
The main thing I loved there is their hospitality and my special thanks to:
Lalu - for advertence and great patience during our negotiation at the beginning :)
Sudarshan - for great treatment and caring attitude during our stay
Andrew and Freddy - for great service and tenderness for our caprices
Ajala, Shiba, Sunila, Giriju - after their procedures I was like born again :)
And if some day I go to Kerala - it will be only Bethsaida!
Best regards,
Aigul Nukusheva

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 1703akuka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I came to this hotel for the second time. Very attentive doctor. Excellent massage therapists. Great staff. Very tasty and varied diet. Yoga classes. Library. Large and very beautiful area. Variety of rooms for every choice and different prices. Two waterpools. Sand Beach. Drugstore. Shop. Gym. Beauty salon.
This is a wonderful hotel! We feel here at home. I hope we will come here again.
I recommend!
p.s. This hotel is not for children! This is a treatment and rest adults!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liudmila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel was an excellent choice for us, after having been rushing around in mumbai. Very relaxing, amazing service (perhaps a touch ott with constant enquiries as to whether you wanted more food at the buffet! but better to have that than anything less), the grounds are just beautiful and the rooms were perfect with some nice homely touches. It is about 10km away from Kovalam, but the hotel arranges a taxi to get there at your convenience. However, you do pretty much have everything you could need here - restaurant, shops, cafe, spa etc. I did worry that being a resort it would just feel like anywhere in the world, however the fact that you can get tasty indian cuisine, and go walking in the grounds makes it a distinctively indian experience. There are local fishermen who you can see working in the mornings which is quite fascinating.

Lonely Planet certainly doesn't do this place justice, but perhaps it's just a bit out of date. My only criticism would be that the reception staff aren't entirely helpful - whilst there's always someone there, they don't necessarily have the authority to do much, meaning we had to keep coming back when someone more senior was available. oh, and they did try to overcharge us on some of our services, but we managed to resolve this easily. Anyway, these are tiny things, which didn't really impact on how awesome our stay was.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Bethsaida was beautiful! The grounds and rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable. The beach front and pool allowed for great relaxation and views. Swaying palm trees, flowers everywhere, lush landscape and delicious Keralan food made for a spectacular stay. Vincent, our waiter, made us feel extra special with his kindness and personal touch. I will definitely return and highly recommend this beautiful gem to friends! Thank you!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank saidemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I came here 7 years ago, and it's really not changed much. It's a bit bigger, and now has *two* very lovely pools (which it didn't have).

Rooms are kept spotless, but are simple: wooden 4-poster beds with mosquito nets, no aircon (a big bonus in my view), heavy wooden chairs, no fridge. Views are beautiful over the palms to the sea.

On the downside (upside?), they no longer sell any alcohol, and food is decidedly ayurvedic - i.e. the big buffet at lunch and dinner is made of the most delicious vegetarian ingredients and has spectacular flavours, but doesn't have any fish or meat. But you can get those a la carte.

I selfishly hoped this place would stay a hidden gem like it was 7 years ago, when we were pretty well the only visitors, and could dine like kings on lobsters that the fishermen brought up from the beach for just a few pounds and washed down with iced Kingfisher ... but of course it's really well-run so naturally lots of people have found it, and the majority seem to come for treatments. The lack of beer and the focus on spa/ pampering makes the whole ambiance very chilled and relaxed. There's few kids here that I saw but it is (and was) perfectly suitable, though the waves on the beach tend to be massive, and kids would need to be carefully watched.

Staff are particularly helpful and kind, without there being too much bowing and scraping. It's really a great place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MugsVern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Bethsaida Hermitage. The staff were very attentive and our well appointed room overlooked the small beach which was a hive of local fishing activity. It was fascinating to watch the local fishermen pulling in their nets in the same way that their ancestors must have done centuries ago. The grounds of Bethsaida are beautifully kept with two lovely swimming pools. You get used to people wandering around having "treatments". Even the non Ayurveda guests can enjoy a foot spa and pedicure or massage. Only small gripe was the food. There was a wide choice of some strange looking mainly vegetarian dishes and drinks. Breakfast was fine with an egg chef but we struggled with lunches and evening meals. However much can be forgiven when eating sitting outside looking at some fantastic
views of the breakers on the clean white sand with minarets of Kovalam in the distance

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Adrian and Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
3.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
3.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
3.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#22 of 52 in Kovalam
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 52 in Kovalam
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethsaida Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethsaida Hermitage

Address: | Pulinkudi, Mulloor. P.O, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $83 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethsaida Hermitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayurveda Resort. 5 Residential Doctors 24 x 7, 25 Treatment rooms, 105 guest rooms, Private beach, 2 ocean view restaurants, 2 swimming pools, shop, theater, spa, gym, etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bethsaida Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethsaida Hermitage Hotel Kovalam
Bethsaida Hermitage Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing