We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical place loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bethsaida Hermitage
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Kovalam
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical place loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

The accommodation is spacious with ceiling fans if not air conditioned. Large bathroom and personal terrace with lawn and fantastic sea views across the gardens. The gardens are lush and colourful with lawns and tropical flowers. The staff are all friendly and obliging; the food delicious with a wide range of veggie curries, spicy but not all hot, and chicken and fish too. The pools are perfect with views across the sea to temples as you swim. Tuk tuks and taxis are readily available from the gate and take you to nearby town or to visit sights including the famous temple with the hoard of gold in vaults beneath. I heard the treatments were great from other visitors but didn't sample them myself. We stayed two weeks and the sheet changing was erratic but the household staff were very amenable. Great showers and I was very taken with the bot cleaning hose arrangement why don't we have them in the UK? The yoga was quite hardcore for an oldie despite regular sessions at home but the yoga room was a marvel with a wall of windows open to the sea. I was glad I took ear plugs to dull the pounding of the sea on the private beach but I sleep lightly. I can't recommend it too highly and will be back; it;s good to holiday and think the profits from the organisation are going to the orphanage and training workshops. You should go!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cgrey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    65
    24
    6
    7
See reviews for
73
121
104
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las palmas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

We stayed there only 7days and wish we could stayed there longer. Beautifull big room with excellent sea and beach view, very clean and confortable with a nice balcony and a very big bathroom. The staff are very good and very friendly at the office , restaurant and at the Ayurbeth healing centre they always want the best for us. they made us feel at home. The buffet at breakfast, lunch and night in the restaurant facing the sea view and the stage was very good . The grounds of the hotel are beautifull and very well maintained. It was like a beautifull time to relax for us we did not want to leave such a beautifull place.
we will sure go next year.

Room Tip: sea view, along with the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nandwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

It has been a wonderful holiday experience with exceptional service, friendly staff and eco friendly environment. The resort stands in a wonderful position when compared to the hotels around . We hope to come back and would recommend couples who would like to spend weeks holidays in this paradise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prima100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

You look for a quiet place with reasonable price with beautiful beaches and pool areas? Then you should book this hotel. Lot of people perform ayuveda treatment there - i can' t comment on this as I just relaxed there.
Food is 95 percent vegetarian. Service is friendly but also limited. No bar service is available.
If you want some activity in the evening you have to go with the taxi to Kovalam village or other places.
Finally I want to say, I consider to come back to this place even so service could be improved.
Joachim Pfeil Wiesbaden Germany

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfeiljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

What an absolutely wonderful place. The staff, service, rooms were wonderful. The food was great. The rooms large and comfortable. The pool and beach were clean, and very well-kept. The pics on the website do not do the place justice. Yoga with Mr. Joseph was perfect. Great for family, parents, children. The staff were more than accommodating. Do not miss this place. All proceeds benefit an orphanage adjacent to the property. The massage rooms could use a little upgrade to the level of the hotel rooms. Bathrooms in hotel room were of European design (wet rooms). If you do not mind this, then you will be fine.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 35805Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

It is a shame that a hotel at such a nice location has such a bad management. They seam not to understand that the guests should come first in a hotel but guests are not valued at all. The first thing from another guest we heard was that we should bribe the staff to get what we want which we did not do and maybe therefore we had to fight to get another room because ours had cockroaches. Also towels were not always available and this is indeed the first hotel I visited which did not offer a room service. Waiters also rather liked to stand around in groups and chat instead of taking care of their guests and obviously it was not possible to offer sun beds for all guests so people reserved the few with towels in the early morning.
In my Ayurvedic treatment room the wood massage bench was full of mould so I refused to lay down on it. The well skilled therapists were also frustrated about the mould but the management obviously wanted to save the money at the cost of the guests.

Rooms were clean (besides the cockroaches) and the interior was simple but ok. The garden was beautiful and the kitchen was the best but because of the poor service and no one wants to have arguments about towels etc. in the holydays I would not recommend this place until these problems are solved

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

This hotel is an oasis of calm, in a stunning setting, and for a couple of days it's nice to get out of the manic nature of some of India, however this is not a hotel as such, it is more of a spa/retreat/health farm. It's not the people walking around in robes that is off putting, it's the fact that most of them are so bored, it looks like they have all had lobotomies.

The food (and yes even the a la carte), is v. bland and not Keralan, when they added a spicy corner to the buffet, I spoke to the food and beverage manager, and said that it's good that they have added a spicy corner, but that it is still not like Keralan food, his response was, "no of course not, our customers do not like spicy food" now this was talking about the spicy corner, I'll leave it to your imagination what the un spicy part was like, but after eating there three times plus breakfasts (not great either, and the only bread was highly processed white milk bread with more e number than I cared to count, I asked why there wasn't a brown bread option and the F&B manager said the he would like to add that but that he didn't have a bakery:-) only a 100 or so bakeries in the surrounding areas ), we did not go back to the restaurant in the hotel. Add to this that they had no beer and only one bottle of wine in the restaurant on the night of our arrival and when we ordered another they said they had run out, they asked however how many bottles would we want for the week and they will see if they could get some for the next evening. we went back to the restaurant for the next evening, they said that they could get any wine, but they did have a bottle of beer :-) half way through our meal they seem to have found a bottle and asked us if we wanted it, when we said yes, they brought us a warm bottle of white wine( we asked for an ice bucket and they took the bottle away, 15 minutes later they bottle an ice bucket hadn't appeared, any way, not wishing to bore you, I think you get the picture: lots of willing staff, very little knowledge on how to do anything, unfortunately this statement runs through the whole resort, everyone is very nice, however they have very little idea of how to run a hotel.

I asked the reception several questions including, where is a nice place to eat outside the hotel, where I can rent a motorcycle, what would be nice to visit, do they have a map of the area, however the answer to all of these questions were either they didn't know or did have it. There is a phone in the room, however when I needed to make a phone call, I phoned reception and asked how I could make a call, they said you need to come to the reception. Again they were very nice, but didn't know what they were doing. it is 15 minutes taxi ride from any life at all.

The beaches are very nice and very empty, which is beautiful, but there is nothing to do at the hotel, there is no bar, there are no activities other than ayuveda treatments and laying by the pool/ on the beach, and as I've said, the hotel were no help to find something to do. when sitting around the pool/beach, there is no drinks/food service, which seeing as there seem to be 100's of staff milling around, is a little surprising.

The room we had was sea view and was large and clean, and very nice with a beautiful view, I would avoid the non sea view rooms though, as they seem to be under the sea view rooms with windows looking out on to a wall, hot water was short lived (even with the correct switch on ), but in that climate this didn't really matter.

one of the nicest things to see was a wild dog (there are lots of them in India) that had five puppies, who were playing on the lower lawn, everyone enjoyed this it seemed, well except the hotel management, who instructed security to throw big stones at them to get rid of them, the noise of the dog ( I know this is the male but trip advisor do not allow the correct name for a female dog) and the puppies howling in pain, was very distressing, and one of the puppies disappeared after one episode of this. NOT NICE AT ALL!

I would recommend the owners outsource the management of the hotel to a luxury group that know how to run a hotel properly, if they want to market this as a holiday destination.
I have put a no to recommending to a friend, as although the location is fantastic, and the rooms nice, it is so boring that it drains your energy, the only person I would recommend this hotel to is someone passing through or someone so burned out that they need total peace.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GrahamKingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
3.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
3.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
3.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 50 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 50 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abad Harmonia
Abad Harmonia
#8 of 50 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bethsaida Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bethsaida Hermitage

Property: Bethsaida Hermitage
Address: | Pulinkudi, Mulloor. P.O, Kovalam 695521, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bethsaida Hermitage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayurveda Resort. 5 Residential Doctors 24 x 7, 25 Treatment rooms, 105 guest rooms, Private beach, 2 ocean view restaurants, 2 swimming pools, shop, theater, spa, gym, etc ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bethsaida Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bethsaida Hermitage Hotel Kovalam
Bethsaida Hermitage Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing