We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oasis of peace.”
other travelers have booked this property
Detached Cottage ,garden view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Detached Cottage ,garden view
'Alarek Cottage' dethatched-,a beautiful place to spend your holiday, quiet & private. Out side your cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Detached Cottage ,garden view
'Alarek Cottage' dethatched-,a beautiful place to spend your holiday, quiet & private.
Out side your cottage.
Side of cottage ,swing chair,front door
Bright comfortable lounge ,with all amenities
Lounge, with all amenities for your comfort..
Glass light  features in kitchen & dinning area;
Dinning area, beautiful views
Twin bedded room, wardrobe, chest of draws, side tables, reading light, safe,ceiling Fan
Double bedroom, wardrobe, draws, , side table, reading light ,mozzie nets, ceiling fan,2 window
Newly tiled shower room ,plus hot water .
Roof terrace ,to relax ,have a drink,read a book, ceiling fans ,beautiful views.
Relax on the roof in a swing chair ,up amount the tropical trees.
Relax with the birds & tropical flora.
Yoga on our roof, for the young, not so young, beginners & the more experienced
Kingfisher with his supper, over 400 species of birds
Catch of the day ! lighthouse beach, help the fishermen pull in their nets
A visitor on Light house beach, looking for lunch
Sun set on the beach,watch from one of the many restaurants
Beautiful sandy lighthouse beach, get a sunbed,umberella,and chillout
Poova Island,take a boat trip for 1or 2 hours , then have lunch on a floating restaurant
One of the floating restaurants at Poova
Sandy Beach ,at the end of our road
Vizinham fishing village,worth a visit,10 minutes away
wash ,feed & ride the elephants at the Government Sanctuary
Lands end,a nice day out ,also visit a Temple & a museum
Vailani Lake ,full of lotus flowes,10 mins ride away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Expeditio...
1 review
“Oasis of peace.”
Reviewed March 17, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Very clean and comfortable cottage with everything you could need.
Short walk to beach.
Very helpful team,we had no problems at all,
Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daydream1...
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed January 20, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

This cottage is great! Cool, clean, comfortable, and it’s got everything you need - including wifi, which worked better than ours at home in the UK! Angie and Den (the owners) and Kuinny (the manager) are fab: they’re all lovely and literally can’t do enough to help you and look after you during your stay. We definitely recommend hiring Kuinny to drive you around to see some of Kerala in his air-conditioned car! On that subject, as someone else has commented, the cottage doesn’t have air conditioning, but that’s a good thing – the ceiling fans in each room are very effective and help to keep you feeling cool (much nicer than air con). There are also mosquito screens on all the windows which is great. The cottage is located slightly off the main road so it’s quiet (apart from the incredible dawn chorus!), and the roof terrace is lovely and a great place to sit and read. The two main beaches are an easy walk down the main road but we preferred wandering down the path through the coconut groves (still only 10-15 minutes), to the smaller and quieter third beach which is really pretty and where there are three great little restaurants to choose from. All in all we had a fantastically relaxing holiday here and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2018
What a nice feedback,so pleased you enjoyed your holiday,& everything was satisfactory,you also were nice guests,& would be welcomed back any time.
Kind wishes Angie,Den Kuinny & staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfoot95...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location with warm friendly feel”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We were here for 12 days at the end of a 17 day trip to Kerela in March. The cottage is in a great location, within walking distance of more than 1 beach and multiple restaurants for some really great food. If you don't fancy the walk then a couple of minutes in a tuk tuk is all it takes. The hosts Angie and Den are happy to help with everything from arranging days out to offering advice on the best place to buy something from. The cottage is cleaned regularly and offers the benefit of a driver to call on when you want to travel further and a laundry service should you need it. The only thing I feel the property would benefit from is air conditioning, so if this is the only negative please do not let it put you off a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamin...
Kovalam, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Alarek Cottage, off Beach Road, Kovalam”
Reviewed December 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Been coming now for 7 years as a solo traveller. I love this cottage and the location is perfect. Within 10 minutes walk you have a choice of 3 beaches, through coconut groves or down a lovely main road to Lighthouse Beach.
Angie and Den are the perfect hosts-shopping, eating, massage, trips etc. Whatever you need they can tell you how to do it, when to do it and how much it should cost which if you're on a budget is essential for travellers like me.
Qinni as the manager is a brilliant driver and source of information and I would highly recommend him-he has the "knowledge", local foodie too! How can you eat for under a £1??
Angie and Den employ so many local people. Can I mention Wassenda who keeps the cottage and villa spotless and Shagondola who will do your washing and ironing-never seen my whites so white-ever.
They also support so many local charities and they are the reason I am coming back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thank you Wils,such a brilliant review ,you have said it all in a nut shell,
we look forward to seeing you each year also.thank you so much for patronizing us ,we do appreciate it, & what an asset you are to the animals,they all love you.
Keep up the good work
Best wishes Angie ,Den & Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolkni...
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“always a joy to be back”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Visited for 3 weeks in January till early February. The cottage is always cool, clean and comfortable. Angie and Den are great hosts as always. The garden plants are lovely and the secluded area of the cottage is good but walkable distance to most places. We spent more time going to Sumudra beach this time. Good restaurants within walking distance down the back track(take a torch for return)
This time we particularly liked :The Lobster Pot: down the back track, sand floors but good food. We also like :The Seagull: on the front on Sumudra Beach. I love the biryani there and am dreaming of it already for next year. We took a prolonged trip mainly by train this year to Ooty, to do the mountain railway, riceboat, fantastic as always and to Cochin which is getting a bit trendy. Looking forward to next year already!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Always nice to see people return,& a fabulous review --thank you,
look forward to your next visit
Best wishes Angie ,Den & Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolkni...
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“lovely cottage in Kovalam”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

I have stayed at Alarek cottage several times now, this time with a friend rather than family. The cottage is in a good location but far enough off the front to be peaceful. However it is a short walk to the beach in either direction. It is in a local area not just touristy. You will hear the temple music early in the morning and at other times, quite charming but it can wake you!. The cottage is kept very clean by Vasenda and has all you need. Angie and Den are great hosts and are very knowledgable about the area. Nothing is too much trouble to ensure a good stay. It is always great to have Kwinny waiting for you a the airport. He is an excellent driver and will also take you on any trips you wish. Shegondala visits and takes laundry if required, she will also cook at the cottage if you wish. We did not do that this time but have in the past. Locally the little shops on the road have all you need without having to go too far away. The use of the roof terrace is good, we enjoyed both massage and yoga there. Many restaurants in both directions, within walking distance. Torches well provided for the inevitable Indian power cuts. I will be returning again and am reluctant to do a review as the cottage is becoming so popular!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Always a pleasure to see you back again, long may it continue ! .
Kind Wishes
Angie & Den & Staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamin...
Kovalam, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My beautiful cottage hideaway in Kovolam. It didn't stay secret for long!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Oops. Wrote my review on the villa instead of the cottage so here goes again. Still have jetlag and now back at work but my heart is still in beautiful Kerala. I always go before the season starts and find it so peaceful and relaxing. The cottage is beautiful and Angie and Den have made some fab renovations. Wonderfully clean and with amazing staff- Kunni, Vassenda, Shegondola and Mohan (sorry about my spelling of your names). They make you feel so welcome and they are like my second family now. This was my fourth year and I can honestly say it gets better each time. As a solo traveller I feel very safe and Kunni will always check at least once a day that I am ok. Have met some lovely people over the years and I don't think I will ever go anywhere else! Counting down to next year already.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
We are your second family, so nice of you to say that,we all appreciate you as well.
Kindest of wishes Angie Den & all the staff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing