We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury leisure with wonderfull location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Indore, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“luxury leisure with wonderfull location”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Date: 17 feb 2011
We booked this hotel for our vication stay in kovalam mainly based on its #1 rating on TripAdvisor. And it is a unique little gem, really.

We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs. and the exp with leela was the same.

It is the location and the view that makes it worthwhile staying in this hotel In the afternoon, the staff would bring out snacks and coffee for guests who had opted to spend the day in the shade of the palm trees in the little garden. At no charge.


This said, there is nothing wrong with the facilities. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good and the distance to the beach is limited. The garden may be small, but it’s a relaxing and quiet place – one where you really don’t mind spending an afternoon or two with a good book.

And as many people have written before. leela is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!



enjoy the view great property and do watch out dinner bufet too good

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaibhav2790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedbacks.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
The Leela Kovalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,599
    772
    286
    116
    96
See reviews for
894
1,097
86
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (937)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Leela Kovalam is simply awesome. The sea facing rooms were nice and quiet. The infinity pool was brilliant. The food was great and offered good variety. The beach is ok. The property is simply beautiful and an ideal place for a short holiday with the family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritumittal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedbacks.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
The Leela Kovalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Just to give a brief intro about myself, my work makes me travel extensively around the world and so i do have to put up in Hotels, Motels and Service apartments all the time. But this time around i was taking a trip to Leela Kovalam in Trivandrum as i had heard a lot about it. Unfortunately, we dint get the cheapest of deals since we went in a peak time( DEC). But all that was made up as soon as we entered the hotel. The beautiful swimming pool overlooking the sea, was a unforgettable sight. After getting done through formalities at the Reception, we were served welcome drinks and were taken to our rooms on the other side of the resort in GOLF cart. It reminded me of my stay in one of the hotels in Florida. While i was being escorted to my room, i was in a state of disbelief seeing the virgin beach and serene sight INDIA has to offer. Kerala indeed is Gods own country. The staff was courteous throughout our stay and the SPA was top notch. A little expensive but theres a physiotherapist who specialises in joint and back related problems who almost cured my lower back problem with a kerala ayurvedic hot oil therapy. Not to mention that the food was exquisite. I am a vegetarian, but my freinds who binge on Non vegetarian went gaga over dinner. Whereas i mostly enjoyed morning breakfast by the poolside. All in all, i had a great time doing water sports, just lunging around the resort and going to the SPA. i couldn't believe that our 3 nights 4 days were over within no time and it was actually time to go back to mumbai.
A special mention to the courteous staff. Inspite of a busy tourist period they werent sucking up to White's and were equally attentive to our needs.
I absolutely recommend Leela Kovalam..
Its a resort/hotel where you can have a good time with your freinds, family, spouse, gf/bf or actually take time off and be by urself..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devam_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedbacks.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
The Leela Kovalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2011

The hotel is at an elevation and the view from there is very good.
The infinity pool was very nice.
the food was very good in taste and the staff was very courteous .
The rooms were very well located and provided a really unique view which made the stay even better and the property even more wounder full.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PareshMarwaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedbacks.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
The Leela Kovalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Was there during last Onam. Offseason so had a good discounted 3 night 4 days monsoon package. Booked via the resort website itself. There was a bus for complimentary airport pickup but a resort cab was given during departure. We had booked its bay view room with open air shower ones. Good concept. Could not enjoy the beach as the water was very cold at that time. The Hotel Pizza is something every one should try along with the fish Biryani.
On Onam day it started raining and the view from our room overlooking the beach was simply awsome. Had a good time. Negatives were that there were a lot of mosquitoes at night specially. Off season and there were a lot of guests and a bit understaffed so this was overlooked. Reported it though while departing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Souvik_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor .
This is apparently not for The Leela Kempinski Gurgaon.

Best Wishes and Regards
Roger Wright
General Manager
The Leela Kempinski Gurgaon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We arrived at the Leela in Kovalam thinking it would be very similar to the Leela in Goa but were very disappointed that it wasn't. The room, a beach superior was dark and certainly not enough hanging space for two people, and the bed was so hard we had to have a duvet put on top of it. We asked to see another room but were told although we could, they were all the same. We had a look at the club rooms which were better but did not feel like paying out even more money when we had spent enough already. I must say though that the staff were extremely helpful and polite and the food was good although expensive compared to the local eateries on Lighthouse beach. Drinks were also very expensive so consequently we did go out quite a lot. They seem to have a lot of conferences at the hotel and the beach and Tides restaurant were out of bounds for the guests for a day and night and also there were 2 "dry" days at the hotel whilst we were there. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGmilliongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedbacks.

We are sorry to hear that your experience was not to your expectations and will look into the points you have mentioned.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
The Leela Kovalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed at The Leela after having been recomended it by our daughter. We found it to very good. The staff were very friendly and couldn"t do enough to make sure you were happy. The rooms and linen were kept clean. We went an a half board basis so eat at the hotel> The food was very good and the buffet meals were a good way to sample the `keralan food, however we did think the drinks were rather epensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leolion59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback.
We are delighted to know you had a memorable experience. We have noted your observations on the beverage prices.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
The Leela Kovalam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
946 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
217 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Property: The Leela Kovalam Beach
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing