We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Cool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2007

This was our first stay at The Leela Kovalam and had great expectations of the place and I must say we were not disappointed with it. The very first impression of the resort took our breath away and we were indeed relieved that we were at the right place. It is a breathtaking resort and if you are looking for a resort to just chill, then this is the place to be. Definitely one of the best holidays we have ever gone on so far. Being there with my other half was an exhilarating experience. The whole stay was an enjoyable experience for us. It is a great place to unwind with an excellent beach and comfort.
The resort is a haven of green, superbly landscaped surroundings with rooms and suites dotted around the property and all facing the beach. The interiors are easily one of the strongest points in favour of the resort. The beautifully designed spacious lobby, well spaced benches on the poolside and the clusters of rooms with beautiful waterfalls on all floors, all make for a very soothing and beautiful experience.
The hotel has numerous 'buggies' that ferry guests around the resort. Leela is best to see once the sun has set as an array of lights crop up everywhere giving the place a very heavenly feel. The leela simply looks great in the nights! But I must say I would definitely recommend the place to others and also visit again, maybe.

Rooms: The rooms are tastefully decorated & are very soothing to the mind. It was big enough for us with good closet space and cozy beds. A great bathroom to add to it made it a perfect place to stay.

Service: Well-trained, warm and friendly staff all over the resort added to the delight of our stay here.

Food: The buffet spreads were vast and mouth-watering to say the least. Just that we could not eat everything we wanted, was the loss.

Activity: Not much activity in the resort except for the tennis and badminton courts and the gym.

Just the thought that it will be a long time before we come back here again is very saddening :-(

To Remember: The sounds outside your room are very natural, from the coconut trees dancing in the winds, the sparrows chirping around and finally the waves crashing onto the rocks and the beach below. The service at the seaside was out of the world. I had requested for a private candle light dinner with my love and a special cake to add to it. The settign was perfect in every way and it was a dream come true.

To Forget: Even after calling almost for a week before our arrival, I could not get anyone at Leela to allow me to surprise my better half on arrival with an extra personal touch added to our bedroom (even when I was ready to ay extra).

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Abhitags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,731 - 2,737 of 2,962 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2007

The staff and setting are both fantastic, the rooms are lovely, the towels and bedding are changed everyday, you get a bath robe, slippers, toiletries and the ladies, a dressing gown, we had fresh fruit each afternoon plus at least 3 bottles of water, and a newspaper was hanging on the door each morning, all these little touches made it wonderful. The only thing i would moan about is there's no air con in the reception area (including the loo's) and as the temperature was 36 degrees while we were there it was rather uncomfortable to spend any time in there which is a shame as it has a sunken cushioned seating area where at night they have bowls of Rose petals and floating candles. Look out for the Eagles soaring while you eat breakfast on the terrace, a truly amazing sight. Be prepared for a shock on route from the airport as it's not the cleanest place on earth!! I would definitely go back as your really made to feel like royalty.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Rosie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We went to Leela Kempinksi, Kovalam a week back for our honeymoon and had a fabulous time. Fortunately, the weather was wonderful with 28 degrees everyday. No rains. The hotel property is huge with 64 acres covered. There are various scenic vantage points around the property. The infinity pool is good, deck near the pool overlooking the ocean was good. Nice buffet breakfasts, lunches and dinners were served with almost anything that you could think of available. We didn't have any service problems from the management except for asking them repeatedly for mosquito repellents. The staff was courteous, extremely friendly. We also went to see "The Club" which is hotel inside a hotel concept from Leela. The place was awesome. You get your privacy, tranquilty and some brilliant views to the ocean as if you were travelling on a cruise. The tourists we encountered were majorly Non-Resident Indians, British families and some American couples. We stayed for about 7 nights which got a bit boring towards the end. I would stay for about 4 nights and 5 days here next time. The only downside here would be that there are not water sports but i guess people come here to just relax and do nothing.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Freak4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

I've called Leela Kempinski reservations desk three times now to reserve the Luxury@Kerala package. The third time the manager (a lady), mentioned she lost my dates/contact information and wanted to repeat all over again. If this is the kind of experience one has to go through to reserve at a 5* enterprise, then I'm concerned of what more is in store when we stay there.

I've since then called the Kumarakom Lake resort to make the reservations and will update my review once I hear back from them. The follow-up and service-level at 5* enterprises in India has a long way to go, before reaching even 3* or 4* joints in rest of the world.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank Vasisthayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Went to the Leela Beach after a week in Oman which was hot, dry luxurious, we arrived at the end of monsoon so everything had a slightly damp feel about it but we loved the place immediately. The hotel was beautiful and perched on the top of a cliff with rooms dotted down the cliff and in the gardens near the beach. We asked to be moved within an hour of arriving at our deluxe room with "open bathroom" - romantic maybe but as soon as you opened the door to shower, bath, wash or go to the toilet mosquitos happily join you. We were offered a room in the gardens which was lovely although - like many hotels in India - closer inspection meant seeing that cleaning could be better, light sockets were falling off the wall etc - but hey! that's the charm of the place. The bathroom, towels and sheets etc were all fine however. And if you want true luxury, the Club wing (like a boutique hotel of its own) is now open and fabulous, if a little clinical. The beach is pretty scrubby and there's a mosque (which tends to get air-brushed from brochures, call to prayer 5 times a day) at the other end of the bay but the people watching is fascinating and the sunsets historic. if you don't have the stomach for the beach, the hotel's beautiful infinity pool at the top of the cliff will make up for everything. The food at the hotel is just sensational- I put on so much weight and no Dheli Belly!.... Walk to Lighthouse Beach for great shopping and go on a sightseeing tour of Trivandrum. Kovalam is a funny old place and not everyone's cup of tea - not like Goa at all - but it's got character, the people are lovely, and we loved the hotel and even the beach. CAn't wait to go back...

Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Brenda111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2007

Staff were very friendly and ever willing to help. Transport to hotel didn't arrive but It was our fault as I didn't email them of my arrival details. But we took a cab and the fare was paid by them. They were so apologetic although the fault was mine. The room was great and the view priceless. My package included wine cake and complimentary dinner on one of the days of our stay. Breakfast was sent up to our room daily. Transport a little expensive if arranged by hotel, I suggest auto rickshaw(about Rps300) for about 3 hrs waiting time or Govt approved A/C cars for longer rides(about Rps2000) for day trips. Hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one. Views from anywhere in the hotel just great. Grand lobby and great infinity pool. Club rooms face the ocean directly but superior rooms have both the ocean and beach views which we found more exciting. Day trips to regional attractions include Kanyakumari about 3.5 hrs one way, Ponmudi Hill station about 3hrs mountain roads, Kollam about 2.5hrs. All about RPS2000 by car.
Trips to Trivandrum city better by autorickshaw. Nerve racking ride. Traffic a mess at certain times. Unless well versed with Indian driving self drive not recommended. Adjacent Lighthouse beach has a hippie-like lifestyle and wonderful seafood restaurants.Not too costly either. A meal about Rps1000 for 2 with drinks. Hotel has a great sophisticated Ayurvedic spa . You may also like to try the ones on lighthouse beach some Govt approved others not. About Rps600-1000 for 1 hr standard massage. Specialised treatments go for more. Overall the expereince at the Leela was a positive one and primarily due to the staff and the excellent views and ammenities. A bit inefficient times but ever willing to please gives the staff a tremendous advantage despite the pricey room rate.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 777Jockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed here in February as part of the so-called"Luxury @ Kerala" package, booked on-line through the web-site of Kumarakom Lake Resort. The hotel is a huge, impersonal group facility with, admittedly, a beautiful vantagepoint overlooking the sea.
From what I could tell, most of the visitors are part of British tour groups,. This is the only hotel i have EVER stayed at where an assistant manager actually raised his voice in argument with me (about what, exactly, our 'package' consisted of). As I pointed out to him when he called back to acknowledge that in fact I was correct and we WERE entitled to 2 half-hour massages, rather than 1, for the price of a half-hour massage, perhaps $30.00,he antagonized a guest, who will never stay at another Leela property, and who is deeply disappointed in Kempinski for putting their name on this far-from-luxurious 'luxury' property.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bigtimegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 52 in Kovalam
238 reviews
1.6 mi away
Amrutham
Amrutham
#14 of 52 in Kovalam
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range: $200 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing