We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I've been to a lot of places and stayed at many hotels, but this was one of the best stays I've ever had! My husband and I went there for our honeymoon and we loved it! It's a beautiful resort with multiple pools (we used 2 of them), tennis/badminton court, games room, oceanview/semi-oceanview rooms, private beach and a great restaurant! Our room was very nice, with a walkout towards the ocean (though it wasn't right on the beach). We enjoyed our stay here, and hope to go back again someday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    754
    279
    115
    94
See reviews for
864
1,077
84
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

i have stayed in many hotels , but has to be one of the finest places, the pool is amazing and the location is superb, highly recommend this hotel , the staff are very friendly and go out of their way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZUNGU13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Leela 13-16 Jan 2014 at the end of a tour of the beautiful Kerala region. The Leela had been highly recommended by a close friend, and within an hour of our arrival we began to sense why. We have travelled extensively throughout the world, and stayed in some of the most exclusive resorts/hotels in the most stunning locations, in which the Leela scores on both points. However what truly makes an establishment special are the people who work there. Well let me just say this the staff at the Leela are simply unbeatable, and I mean all of them !!Even the odd individual who made the rare mistake ( we're all human ) was polite , apologetic and bent over backwards to make good. I hate to single out anyone in particular when standards are so high throughout, however a special mention for 2 individuals is a must.
To be greeted on arrival and looked after by the ever smiling and truly delightful Johnson ( his nickname ) was just great. Management material if ever I saw it !!. Also the stunning, charming and utterly professional asst front office manager Reshma T. She performs and cares as though she owns the place, what an asset to have.
If I ever own my own resort I'll steal them both in a heart beat. I'm confident the owner of the Leela feels incredibly proud of his team.
Thank you to you all for a wonderful 3 days, our only regret was that we had such a short time with you.
PS We're already planning another trip to India with a stop in Chennai. Only one hotel to even consider, you guessed the Leela !. But how do we stay away from Kovalam, now there's a dilemma.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel is billed as a five star property but, lets be honest, it isn't. That said we had a comfortable stay here in the Club section for over two weeks. Here the rooms are clean but are rather spartan (minimalist?). The shower was an annoyance due to the door not fitting properly and leading to a flood of the rest of the bathroom. Room service was very good however with a 'butler' service provided for Club guests. The sea views from the Club rooms of the Indian Ocean are stunning. We took breakfast on The Club terrace which was fine but not up to the mark of The Leela in Goa where we have stayed on two previous vacations. The staff proved to be attentive although the organisation tended to break down at times with the left hand not knowing what the right one was doing. The other two food outlets, Tides and the the Terrace. The former serves a limited Chinese selection whilst the latter does offer a la carte, the main offering here is a buffet. We felt that the buffet could be improved both in content and presentation. It proved to be somewhat boring after a two week stay. There is no real 'signature' restaurant at this hotel. The gardens, although not large, are well presented and maintained. The property as a whole is quite tired and requires a multi million rupee injection of capital to bring it back to the Leela standard. The Club swimming pool requires immediate attention as many of the glass mosaics are coming adrift. In the UK it would be closed under health and safety concerns.Until the hotel is refurbished, I very much doubt we shall return to The Leela Kovalam. On a final note; one big niggle was that a public bathroom/toilets near the two bars and the Terrace restaurant was devoid of towels every evening for the whole time we were there. I did point this out to the staff but I suspect the situation has remained the same.

Room Tip: I would recommend going for a Club room or a Beach View room. The standard rooms are really in an an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

the property has a fantastic location and some of the best views in India.
everyone's written how fab the prperty is, but i also wanted to highlihgt some negative aspetcs.
very long to check in. lady at reception seemed to be overwhelmed with work load
because she was overwhelmed with work load, she didn't really seem to care what happened.
we had to change our room after the first night as there was a lot of noise from the restaurant above. we were then put into a really old room where the tub leaked and the bathroom smelled very musty.
everything looks very aged and in need of immediate replacing.
when asked if a suit could be ironed and returned to us the same evening, we were told that they were overloaded and hence would not be able to help. when asked to speak to a supervisor was put on hold for long and the call disconnected. only after calling a couple of more times did they offer to send an iron and ironing board. not good when you are there on a high profile conference

Room Tip: if you can, upgrade to the club rooms. they are newer and have uninterrupted views of the sea. thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were at The Leela Kovalam for a wedding this weekend. This is a gorgeous property with stunning views of the ocean. I presume all rooms are ocean facing. The infinity pools were my favorite part of the hotel(there are 2 in the hotel, i love the one in the club rooms). These are 24 hour pools so you can swim under the stars. The service is great. Very polite and prompt. This is an amazing property for a relaxing holiday. Also, awesome venue to host a wedding.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richa23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

In fact, there is hardly a beach..it's more like a small strip adjacent to what appeared to be a small fishing village. The room was decent, but my bath had an annoying leak with droplets of wanted dripping on you while you were in the toilet. Food was good. The property itself is aging and has that feel to it.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnilMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#6 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#20 of 52 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Property: The Leela Kovalam Beach
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing