We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninterrupted sea views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Uninterrupted sea views”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I made a quick (1day) business trip to India and was fortunate enough to stay at the Leela. Although not as grand as the Leela Palace in Bangalore, as a resort hotel this is a great place to stay. My club room had views over the ocean. Comfortable but basic rather than luxury - but no complaints

Breakfast was fine. Stayed away from my normal omelette and has Dosa which was great.

Dinner was at Bait only 5 minutes away and is well worth a visit.

Will return and hopefully have a bit more time to explore and enjoy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgmartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,587
    769
    286
    116
    96
See reviews for
887
1,092
86
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

If you stay at a Leela you expect plush. And excellent service. None of these are in the Kovalam resort.
The service was alright. Rooms were ran down. Hotel layout is very strange.
But the place is very nice, food in the restaurants is good. I just expected much more from a Leela.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_London_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

From location perspective this is the finest property in Trivandrum. Located right at the edge of cliff surrounded by sea on two sides. Inside the compound you will witness couple of handicraft shop, a taxi stand, government guest house and a fort (these are non Leela properties).

This property has three wings:

Garden view : Facing lush green garden, it has separate swimming pool and separate breakfast hall. Guest residing in this area do not have access to infinity pool.

The Club: Newly built area. Room and balcony size are smaller compared to beach view rooms. One get a feeling of being on a luxury boat cruise as rooms are located on rock cliff. There is an exclusive pool for the guest.

Beach view: We stayed here. Room has a large balcony and all rooms are beach facing (called Hawa beach, not the main Kovalam Beach). Guest on this wing have access to infinity pool and breakfast is served at ‘THE TERRACE’ restaurants.

One can take golf cart (buggi) to explore the surroundings, just inform nearest security and within 2 min a buggi will be at your service.

Hawa beach: Buggi will drop you to an exclusive beach area which has beach chairs and a bar. From there if you wish take a walk to hawa beach. It has a mosque and plenty of fishermen boats.

Kovalam beach: We took buggi to the main exit. Here you have bus stand and small market with few eateries (including few north Indian one). There is a steep downward 200 m slope which will take you to the beach. On this walkway you will witness few souvenir shops. There is a lovely light house and we noticed lot of jelly fish in the beach.

Infinity pool and THE TERRACE: Suppose to be most silent feature of this property. Pool has a small kids pool too.‘THE TERRACE’ restaurants is located right across. Breakfast is served here. It has two areas ac and non ac. In Ac area you can get fruits, cheese , beverages, cut meat, fried potato and bakery items. In non ac area you can get Indian dishes (paratha, vada,sambhar,poori, bhhaji) and open kitchen where you can order varieties of dosa and eggs. My son loved special small cone shaped dosa made for him. Coriander and Tomato chutney served with dosa were best.

Sky bar: One gets the view of sunset and best place to have your drink. From this place you don’t see the shore so with direct access to open sea gives a feeling of a bar in a cruise ship.

During this stay for one day we went to Trivandrum zoo and on another day to Poovar lake for sunset cruise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PallaviMyPackageTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Kovalam after a bit of a whirlwind tour of the south seeing relatives and were looking forward to a bit of down time. Having stayed in the excellent Leela in Chennai, we were very much looking forward to our stay in Kovalam. Our experience could not have been more different....

The check in process was laborious to say the least, the staff seemed to have their minds on other things. Half an hour after arriving, we were shown to our room - a superior sea view room. The room was generally tired and there were several areas of damp. The bathroom was small and the shower rubbish. General standards of cleanliness and maintenance are sadly NOT 5 star. With some exceptions (the guy at the pool and the guys in the Bar), service was absolutely not 5 star.

Wifi was expensive, slow and unreliable and was limited to 2 devices. When we had an issue with not being able to log in on our chosen devices, staff were unhelpful and did not deal with the issues in a timely fashion.

Information from the travel desk was inconsistent particularly with regards local travel costs. We didn't book any day trips so can't comment on that.

The spa was lovely and the yoga teacher was excellent.

The pool was clean and very pleasant. The beach was dirty, but not the hotel's fault.

The breakfasts were fantastic - the masala dosa was a big hit. We ate in The Tides one night which was good. The other nights we went down to Lighthouse beach and ate in the restaurants there (well worth doing).

One of the earlier reviewers suggested that the bad reviews of this place came only from Indians, however we saw a number of guests complaining at reception (of all nationalities) during our stay....

In summary 5 star prices, but the building and service (with some exceptions) fall way too short.

Next time we're staying at the Taj.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rdr30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were here for a wedding for 3 nights and overall liked the place but expected a lot more considering it was a Leela resort.
We stayed in the regular garden/beach view rooms and though the view was nice, the room itself was average. It seems the property is old and not in the best of condition. It feels like any other beach resort and does not have anything special. The walls had bubbles due tot he moisture and were cracked at the electric joints. The cooling was fine and the shower too. Large TV in the room was a saviour. The furniture in the room seemed old. From what i’ve heard the the new Club rooms are great and that was the area to stay, however we didn’t get a chance so cannot comment on it much.
The staff is however very professional. From the restaurants to the check in desk, they are prompt, efficient and going out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
The food at the restaurants and breakfast was good, no complaints. The pool area is also nice, and the views of the ocean and the beach are relaxing.
If you want to get to the beach or the party hall you have to walk down a small road.
Overall the stay was good but I think i had higher expectations for a property bearing the Leela name and hence was not too impressed with the quality of the rooms and the spread of the resort. Also I felt Kovalam was like any other beach resort, and didn’t give me any special feeling of being in Kerala. Maybe next time it will be old faithful Goa.

Room Tip: Club Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vkarnavat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I was on my holidays . . . . . . . week end Holidays to this property . . . . . .

I can say simply great experience . . . nice beach . . . individual villa . . in typical Kerala style . . . .

you just step out in from your villa and in front you have clean sea shore . . . . .what you need more than this?

Room Tip: sea shore facing villas are the best . . . . . though you spend more on it is worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saso1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here November 17-20, 2013.
Excellent hotel situated right on the Arabian Sea. Have a private beach next to the public beach. Their beach has a restaurant and a change hut with showers, toilet etc which is very clean. It is a steep walk to get to the beach but rides on golf carts are readily available and if the golf cart is not quick, they take you in hotel cars. Very very service oriented.
Our room overlooked the Sea and had a balcony with 2 chairs and a table. You could observe the fishermen in the mornings.
Food was excellent and abundant. Lots of choice. Indian and N. American.
Two pools as well which were beautiful and warm and open long hours.
Entertainment provided some nights near the main dining area.
1 hour of free computer time provided in the business centre.
Cookies and chocolate in the room. Fresh towels provided often....not just once a day.
Shops within walking distance....lots of them. Local fisherman pulling in nets and launching their boats provide lots of entertainment and pictures.
Pillows too soft for my liking but phoned and had two harder ones at my door within 5 minutes.
Lots of staff who were friendly and who bent over backwards to please.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank whtschnauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#4 of 52 in Kovalam
552 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
Beach Hotel Neelakanta
#21 of 52 in Kovalam
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Property: The Leela Kovalam Beach
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing