We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, poor maintenance and horrendous service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Kovalam Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, poor maintenance and horrendous service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Best avoided. Seems like no longer managed by the leela group or ther are not keen about this property since thy have sold out. Checkin process take a long 1 hour. And once u check in expect at these 5 calls in the next 4-5 hours asking when u would check out. Some of the room Equipments seem dated and requiring significant maintenance. Overall service left a lot to be desired. Try the taj vivanta in stead. Or oberois we need you in kovalam.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SWARAJTHAMPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    734
    271
    112
    91
See reviews for
833
1,048
80
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

It is a lovely property on the slope of a hill. We were in the other block with the patio overlooking the sea. It was very secluded and private. Loved the happy hour at the bar and the food at The Tides. The main restaurant the terrace had excellent view and food generally good though would have preferred more keralan cuisine. Staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous. Amenities a bit far from our room but they do provide a buggy. We walked on our way back and the views were spectacular. Only problem they tried to charge us for items from the minibar which we did not have but that was soon rectified.d

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kami4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We arrived back home (Finland) after a very pleasant 10 days vacation at the Leela Kovalam. We still can`t believe the kind service we got at the Café restaurant as well as the Leela hotel Kovalam!
The whole staff was great and deserves full recognition of their very good work. For our last dinner at the Café they prepared us a three course candle light dinner with the loveliest rose decorations. The food was awesome, the spicy Indian food that we like, but still fine dining! Thank You Gaurav, all the Chefs and the whole team and all the others at the Leela, who made our stay memorable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Leela Kovalam one of beautifull property in kovalam. The reception is wonderful with garland and tender coconut water. The Restaurant which is facing the infinity pool is awesome. staffs are very kind and will treat you like Maharaja. The small walk around the property will mesmerize you with it secnic view to the sea. worth visiting this property. The food is very good and there something for all...

Room Tip: opt for rooms facing the sea... and landscape garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yuva1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Kovalam is truly the only blue water beach in India and Leela at Kovalam only makes this blue sea look fabulous. From any corner of the propery ..all you can see is the blue green sea in front of your eyes. The property is huge and has various sections. We stayed in the sea facing rooms which are Kerala style. The property is not so spick and span like the leela standards. The food spread is superb and they ensure a complete Kerala spread in addition to the normal buffet during every meal. The pool is the best part here.. My son also enjoyed the beach play at their own sort of private beach. The hotel provides sand play kit so you dont need to carry your own.

Room Tip: Take the bay views rooms in the Club wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our stay in the Leela Kovalam Beach in the summer of 2013 was one of our most memorable experiences at a beach resort! The breathtaking view, the strategically located rooms, all overlooking the mesmerizing sea, the infinity swimming pool, the food, the activities, all add up to one great place to be! We didn’t want to even step out of the resort at all!

Right from the grand reception with its exquisitely done interiors to the infinity pool that seems to stretch right into the sea, every part is awesome. The room was not only luxurious; it had a splendid view of the sea and the beautifully landscaped lawns sloping down to the sea. It also had an ancient feel to it, due to the old style doors and heavy wooden designs in the room and bath areas. A wonderful relaxing feeling throughout! The sound of the water flowing constantly in the lobby added to the experience.

The sumptuous spread of food at all mealtimes, a feature at all the Leela properties, gave us a taste of the local fare and global cuisine too, under the watchful eyes of the ever smiling chefs, ever eager to please our taste buds. We had a long talk with the chef de cuisine who explained everything we needed to know about the local cuisine and even gave me tips to design to kitchen well! The staff were also very helpful and ever ready to help.

The golfcarts that take us around the property took us to the archery grounds and to the spas. We tried our hand at archery, a new experience for us, and were assisted beautifully by the staff. The spa was also a very beautifully managed place and a satisfying one!

I will definitely recommend this place to anyone who wishes to go to Kovalam, as we just did not want to step out of the resort during the entire duration of 6 days that we spent here. It was a time very well spent and it makes us say, “If it is Kovalam, the Leela Kovalam it has to be!”

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a splendid view, but in my opinion, the higher the room, better the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RajalakshmiJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interlaken, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed for two days in Leela and felt fabulous. It was my best stay in Kerela. I was pleasured with the services offered by the hotel management. I enjoyed my stay and also they made it memorable with candle light dinner, and cakes in my room. I will surely make my plan again for Kerela and that too just Kovalam .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaurabhBaradia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words.
As an organization the Leela Palaces, Hotels & Resorts aims to delight and dazzle our guests and send them back with wonderful memories and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
0.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.4 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Property: The Leela Kovalam Beach
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing