We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Nearby Hotels
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Harmonia(Kovalam)
$45
$41
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$45
$35
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$39
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,289)
Filter reviews
3,289 results
Traveler rating
1,903
832
311
129
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,903
832
311
129
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomsky barinfinity pooltides restaurantterrace restaurantprivate beachclub restaurantbeach view roomarabian seathe main hotelthe cliffgolf cartamazing propertycoconut waterkovalam beachayurvedic spagod's own country
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,039 - 2,044 of 3,289 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and 3 days for an official meet with sometime to unwind. Property location is really outstanding and rooms facing the sea have a stunning view. However rooms seems to be old and needs refurbishing barring the TVs. As for me, I was allotted a cottage outside the main property which was pretty ordinary and should be avoided. In fact a friend of mine cut his hand when he visited my room by a rusty nail jutting out of an easy chair. The housekeeping and the hotel staff did remove the offending nail from the chair immediately and also took my friend to the hospital. However, this was really unexpected in a 5 star rated property. The staff was very responsive though and also left me a note next day. The bed was comfortable with nice array of pillows. As for the food, breakfast was excellent though the lunch and dinner buffet menus were ordinary; in fact some of the dishes were either extra spicy or bland. Apples in the fruit basket were old and in need of replacement. Overall, the property has it all to make it an outstanding memorable stay for the guests; however some substantial work still remains to be done by the hotel for that too happen.

Room Tip: Ensure you are in the main property and have a complete sea facing room. Check your room, if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinaki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us.
Whilst we are happy to know that you had some wonderful moment, we deeply regret the lost opportunity.
We hope your friend has recovered.
Taking your feedback as constructive criticism from a well-wisher, we would endeavor to correct and improve them.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again and regain your confidence in us.

Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights in a superior beach view room and, as previous reviews have suggested, the location is idyllic with amazing views of the sea and beach in either direction. The grounds are also stunning and well maintained. We thought the food was of a very high standard both at breakfast and at dinner. Not cheap though but this is Leela so you expect that.
Service is sharp and high standard as you would expect- sometimes a bit too much. Some staff should also listen a bit closer to what is being asked as they don't always answer the question.
The room was nice and comfortable and of a decent size. We just felt with a bit of TLC it could be really special and feel superior as it felt more standard.
But all in all this is an excellent place to relax and unwind and I would certainly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to know that you had a memorable stay.
We have taking your feedback as constructive criticism from a well wisher, request you to treat this as an aberration and far from our usual high standards of service.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed in Jan 2011 for 2 nights. When we arrived at the hotel after 4 hours drive, our room was not ready even after informing the hotel in advance about our arrival time. However, the hotel staff did its best to make us comfortable and also offered us complementary lunch at their restaurant.

We saw two rooms and picked one of them for our stay. The breakfast spread is generous and has ample variety to suit any taste. The view from restaurant is also breathtaking.

The hotel has golf cart to travel within the resort. The entrance of the hotel is far away from the hotel reception and therefore battery powered cart is a necessity. The hotel staff were courteous and the service was good.

On the last day, we were offered free couple massage at their spa. Overall, the hotel made our experience memorable. Would love to stay here again!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are good...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anupam_Rungta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words.
As an organization the Leela Palaces, Hotels & Resorts aims to delight and dazzle our guests and send them back with wonderful memories and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The best resort we ever stayed. We stayed in Leela Kovalam during February 2012 as a couple for two nights. The best things were:
1. The room was spacious.
2. Had an excellent view of the beach.
3. Food was great.
4. Service was perfect.
5. Very clean and well maintained resort.
6. Has its private beach.
We spent both evenings at their Sky Bar. The view and ambiance of that place was amazing and so relaxing. We never wanted to leave the resort. We will definitely come back here for some longer duration.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Navjot_Singh_Khurana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC_Somaiah, General Manager at The Leela Kovalam Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Kovalam,
Thank you for your kind words.
As an organization the Leela Palaces, Hotels & Resorts aims to delight and dazzle our guests and send them back with wonderful memories and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay.
We look forward to the pleasure of hosting you again.
Warm Regards
N.C. Somaiah
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Leela @ kovalam is probably the best place if you really want to see and feel the sea. club rooms wing is virtually on the sea. you dont need to go out anywhere, just relax in your room or sit down on the cafe located in club wing. its amazingly beautiful. the staff are very courteous and helpful. food is also very good and have a wide range of menu

Room Tip: club wing on ground level good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arunsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews